We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Downtown Siem Reap Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Angkor Resort(Siem Reap)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
233
92
39
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
92
39
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssocial atmospherebeer pongprivate roomair connice place to chillpub streetclean roomsbeach bargood vibesswimming poolgreat poolcheap beerbed dormsolo travellerchecking outhot showerin south east asia
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

To start with, when my friends and I arrived off our night bus at 11:45pm we were told they'd over booked our room. We paid a £9 deposit 2 weeks ago for 2 double private rooms, both if which we were told were booked up. The receptionist then told us that it was because they were sick so couldn't leave and therefore he couldn't email us to let us know. So were were given a dorm room. It was just us in there so we settled for this. I can't tell you how infested with Mosquitos the room was!!..my friend also found BED BUGS in her bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!..the worst place by a long stretch where we've stayed. The room was dirty, the sink was blocked, or never know so many bugs and Mosquitos to be in on room and then the bed bugs. Only one bed out of the 4 were okay, so the 3 of us all bunked in together. Cut a long story short we were then kicked out of our dorm the next day and forced to move into our private rooms, we were only staying 2 nights but wanted to leave. However we were told we'd have to pay for the room anyway. They do have a pool, however my friend sliced her foot on a broken tile getting out!!!!..loads of missing tiles and the water is dirty. We've all travelled all over Asia and South America and were were seriously unimpressed with this place!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phea09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh1009, Owner at Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for writing your review, although it is the worst I have read since I started this hostel 4 years ago.

I was actually away on holiday when you stayed here, but can say that staff have broken many protocols judging by your review.

Firstly, we honour all bookings, and will book you into an adjoining hotel at no extra cost if we are overbooked, or cannot honour your booking for other reasons.

Secondly, we never force guests to stay with us. If a guest has booked nights with us, and chooses not to stay, we have a policy not to charge.

Thirdly, we'd never move a private room to a dorm unless the guests were in full agreement.

I am sorry that you have not been dealt with in my absence according to our policy.

Finally though, we do not have bed bugs- if we did, I would deal with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stay in this hostel for 4 night.
The best thing is they got a pool there and look beautiful during the sunny day. we rent a room for two so we got our privacy area . You might have to prepare your own towel and toothbrush.(You can borrow from the staff but they don't have it enough for everyone) Hygienic of the hostel is normal at least we didn't see any rubbish on the corridor . But all the ppl have to remove the shose when they get in the hostel . You can have breakfast next to the poolside under the sun (please ask the staff for the menu). They got a little bar next to the pool selling beer and happy brownie at night (please try it !) . We ask the staff about the overnight bus back to the bangkok they will suggest us take the morning one (more safe for girls). hostel location is fine because we still have to walk around 3 mins to the main street. one thing remind is the green area next to the pool have mosquito . if you don't wanna get bite please don't stay too long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

- Dirty bathrooms
- helpless staff, don't speak English.
- 1 plug for a 6 bed dorm !!!
- noisy bunks
- Dodgy air conditioner, either too hot or too cold
- bad managing system "everything on tab"

In the other hand,
- great pool,
- good location
- and party atmosphere
- that's it

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Elmini85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh1009, Owner at Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

You stayed for 1 night, but something must of pissed you off big time that has no relevance to your complaint here.

Firstly, all our 4 bed and 6 bed dorm bathrooms are cleaned a minimum of 4 times during the day, twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon. Sure, if someone trashes the bathroom in the evening or night, then they need to clean it up themselves- no mothers here to do it for you after hours.

Our tab system is a system designed for those who wish to use it- 99.9% do without any complaints. Other guests can just pay for consumption as they go along.

All AC's function without problem- sure you need to have windows and doors closed, otherwise the room cannot be cooled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks while my girlfriend recovered from a stomach bug that we'd caught from being too stingy and staying in terrible places and eating terrible food. The British owner runs the place like a British hotel which is very refreshing after 5 months on SE Asia where the standard of customer service is terrible. The food was all well prepared and very clean as you could see looking into the kitchen and made with fresh ingredients that you could see arriving every day. The rooms are comfortable and it's really close to town. The staff are so friendly and not at all lazy as you experience in many of the family run local places. Great poolside bar, we'll stocked, good music. Awesome pool which is much needed after the heat of siem reap. Best hostel we stayed in on 18 months of travel and that was even with one of us being really sick! Tanks to the owner Mark and all the staff for an excellent stay. Sorry it's took me a year to write this but remember the place from time to time as somewhere I owe a good review and just got round to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alimoncrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at Downtown Siem Reap Manor, down the street from the hostel. This hotel provides an alternative to the hostel environment, while still creating a friendly, social atmosphere. Alex runs the poolside bar and is an incredible host- well informed, friendly, helpful. The owner was incredibly accommodating. The pool was amazing, towels provided and food and drink is one order away. The rooms were clean (a little hot!) and ours had a spacious balcony. To get here at night I was not a huge fan of walking down the dark road, but it was a very short walk and ok with a friend. I felt safe knowing the gate was locked at night but an attendant provided 24 hour access. I would, without a doubt, recommend this place for backpackers or travelers on a budget. It was my favorite part of Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erical2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews