We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tara Angkor is an Oasis!”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #89 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This hotel is extremely clean and well-maintained, not to mention beautifully laid out. We stayed here on our honeymoon, and the hotel staff thoughtfully wrote "happy honeymoon" in rose petals on our bed and gave us a heart-shaped cake! It was very sweet and unexpected. We did wish that our hotel was slightly closer to the "downtown" area of Siem Reap for the purpose of walking to shops and restaurants. But for quiet, restful evenings to recharge before the next day of sightseeing, Tara Angkor is your place. Our only complaint with the hotel was the water temperature in the shower. It would inexplicably turn extremely hot and then very cold, without us touching the knob. So we practiced our best matador-footwork in the shower and tried to avoid the extremes. But I'm sure that will be corrected!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcordova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
The whole team would like to congratulate you again with your honeymoon.
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments and are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay. And especially loved our honeymoon setup. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by unstable water temperature, our engineering team is attending the problem. We thank you for recommending us to your entourage and are looking forward to welcome you here again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,099)
There are newer reviews for Tara Angkor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 3,099 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

I was going to agree with all the great reviews of this hotel until our second (and last) night in the hotel. The short story is that during our stay the entire hotel staff had a loud party at the back of the hotel. We were told that the music - which was so loud that shook the walls of our room at the front of the hotel - would stop at 11pm, which would have been fine. But it did not stop, so I again complained to the manager on duty and I was assured that he would look into this for me. Nothing was done and at 11.30pm I went to see the manager on duty again. I explained that we are paying guests and this is not what I expect from a 4.5 star hotel - not least because most people who stay there, like us, get up early to see the temples and would appreciate a nice relaxing time during the stay. Needless to say everything I said was ignored again and the music finally stopped after midnight. The inconvenience of all this totally ruined our last day in Siem Reap and the whole long-weekend trip. Due to the partying of the staff they looked very tired next day and there were no smiles or kindness from them like the previous day. Upon leaving the hotel, only the sales and marketing manager was available to speak to; I was very disappointed to find that his thoughts on this were not in favor of the paying guests, who of course are the ones ultimately who pay his salary. He said they had to hold the staff party in the hotel so that the staff on duty could attend too, and he saw nothing wrong with inconveniencing the guests in the hotel this way. In short, he said that he is sorry, "but the party for the staff is very important". When I asked about the paying guests, he didn't say anything. I was not a tourist visiting Siem Reap - I live in Cambodia - and I will not recommend this hotel to anyone I know. I am still very disappointed with the whole experience which is a shame because the hotel setting is very nice. I would have thought that the absolute minimum a hotel ought to do is provide a good night's sleep for its guests. It failed to do so, and that ruined it for me.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BPSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay and the unprofessional matter that was related to you. We accept complete responsibility for what happened during your stay and upon your departure. We are happy to learn you have accepted our offer to apologize and are looking forward to grant you the offer. Once again we sincerely apologize and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. The whole team is looking forward to welcome you here with us again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I have stayed at the Tara twice now and each time the rooms have been clean, the staff courteous and you can't beat the price. It is kid friendly and the pool is lovely. Everything is just a short tuk-tuk ride away. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: For a family, the corner 2 bedroom rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jirelandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service again during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for continuously choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments and are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay. We thank you for recommending us to your entourage and are looking forward to welcome you here again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We booked 2 executive suites for 4 nitghs at USD700+ and it is really value for money! We were offered free airport hotel transfer, free foot massages and breakfast is included. Complimentary fruit basket and bottled drinking water were provided in the room.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we just sat comfortably enjoying our welcome drink while the hotel staff checking us in. Overall, the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.

The room is very cozy, furnished with sofa set and dinning table and bedroom is separated. Housekeeping was done twice a day!

The hotel is strategically located, about 7km to Angkor Wat and only USD5 for return tuk tuk service to town (including waiting time and taking you round the town). Tuk tuk service is available at door step and at anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirlynKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments and are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay. And especially loved our pick-up service, massage at the Tara SPA and our in-house services. We thank you for recommending us to your entourage and are looking forward to welcome you here again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three days and i had an excellent time.Everything is within two dollar distance by tuk tuk .The hotel has free wifi and also a business centre with five computers .The swimming pool,spa are really excellent.I enjoyed my stay and would like to come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csrao57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
The whole team was proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco world Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for having chosen for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments. We are more than happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and especially loved the free internet, our poolside and the Tara SPA. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you here once again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Having returned to the mystical land of Cambodia for a second time round, the unique name of Tara Angkor immediately jumps out when I was sourcing online for a lovely and reasonably priced hotel. I was delighted by the view of the hotel facade as my vehicle pulls up close. "What a lovely sight". One is further impressed when I entered into the hotel lobby. The decor was simple, sleek and trendy. Check-in was a breeze as the counter staff were more than ready to greet me. A push through the glass door will lead one out to the elegant arrays of tables that slowly lead to the waterfall and swimming pool. The view is awesome. Although my first room was a tad noisy for the first night, Tim, the Executive Assistant Manager did a good service recovery by transferring me to a quieter room for my subsequent two nights' stay. And most importantly, each hotel staff possesses great service attitude and every interaction is always greeted with warmth and hospitality. Overall, I enjoyed my experience at the Tara Angkor and I would not hesitate to introduce this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Always request for a room that is facing the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mersindor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments and are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay. And especially loved our hotel presentation, facilities and staff's services. We thank you for recommending us to your entourage and are looking forward to welcome you here again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The massage I had at the hotel was outstanding, especially in light of the modest price. My only complaint was that the shower was not as hot as it should be.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfmattia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments and are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay. And especially loved our massages at the Tara SPA. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water temperature, our engineering team is attending the problem. We thank you for recommending us to your entourage and are looking forward to welcome you here again. With kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#56 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#93 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £23 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing