We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beguiling sappaire.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #82 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A beguiling sappaire.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Tara angkor bewitches you with its beauty in the serinity of the cambodian countryside.
From arrival to departure we were treated with politeness,efficency and a proffionalism wrapped in all its human forms truly a wonder to behold.
The hotel has 5 star accomodation with a 6 star service.The food is sublime and breakfast is not to be missed.
The rooms are great and fully air conditioned and a welcome change from the outdoor heat.
Both the lobby and restaurant are wonderful and rarely crowed.
And the hotel staff have the utmost integrity and honesty returning 170 dollars that i had ldeft in my laundry by mistake 3 and a half times the monthly wage.
Please visit you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: higher rooms give a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    1,103
    214
    36
    27
See reviews for
448
1,372
222
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were a part of a group of 31 Rotarians visiting Angkor for the first time. Tara Angkor proved to be a good choice. Good location - far from the madding crowd and yet a short drive from the Old market. Offers all modern facilities with a traditional touch to make the stay worthwhile.

The buffet breakfast was good - though I would suggest some variety and imagination. One gets sick of exactly the same menu everyday.

The swimming pool is a major attraction - clean and with a serene ambience. On the other hand, the gym is rather basic and the Sauna very cramped.

The front office staff was very courteous and efficient - though they made a big fuss of laundry bags and lost keys while checking out - which should be avoided and left a slightly bad taste.

Room Tip: Pool facing ofcourse !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlwindexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for your time to review us on this website.

I was pleased to read that there were several aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, and in particular that our team were able to contribute to a memorable experience for you all. I was glad that you enjoyed the comfort and luxury of your spacious pool and also our location.

However I was of course disappointed to learn that you found breakfast was not really reached your expectation while I would like to clarify that our breakfast menu is scheduled change by 3 days while mainly ahead by asian dishes alternative but European dishes will be provided by remain the same and Vegetarian dishes also available daily. Especially, Extra indian food dish also provided by exceptional for your exclusive group during stay.

With reference to comment of charge by laundry bag upon checked out while several guest preferred to take it but the tag attachment also mentioned clearly that it is provided for convenience for all client only and it will be cost if prefer to take it as souvenir.

Refer to environment project which concerned with warmth global we have to ask all guest to participate and cooperate as it is included all tool of facilities providing such key card, linen or paper so hoping that you're highly understand.


Please be assured that your feedback has been passed on to our Accommodation Services team, who will ensure this is investigated immediately, and any necessary action taken.


Best Regards

Tara Angkor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We are here as a group of 7 friends holidaying together. The hotel is very clean, has good breakfasts with lots of variety including an egg station and a also a noodle soup station.
Very peaceful with a nice pool area which is lovely when you come back from the temples.
The hotel is only a short tuk tuk ride to the centre of town $3US.
Close to the entrance to Angkor.
Only negative was the hard beds

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent Breakfast included. Very clean. Am amazed that other people find fault! Wide selection of food - western and oriental. Fantastic staff and spacious room overlooking attractive courtyard. What more could you want? Very close to all temples . Stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had come with a group of 30 members of the Rotary Club of Anna Nagar, Madras, India and stayed for three nights at the Angkor Tara hotel in Siem Reap from the 6th to 9th March 2014.

The hotel is only 20 minutes away from the airport and is conveniently located . The staff in this hotel are very friendly and courteous . I would like to specially compliment their Sales Manager Ms Chenda Keo who had arranged a birthday cake for one of our members whose birthday was on 8th march and she also arranged rose buds for all the women in the group on Women's Day which was also on 8th march. This shows the concern and care of the Senior executives in this hotel.

The lobby is very large and impressivve . The rooms are good and spacious . However the sheets on the bed are not long enough .

More importantly another concern was that the mattress was too short and fell very much inside the the cot resulting in the sharp edges of the cot hitting your leg if you are not careful . In the night i cut my leg on the side of the cot because of the sharp edge of the cot . I had brought this up in a feedback mail to the GM and am sure that they will sort out this matter so that guests do not cut their legs accidentally when they stay in the room that I stayed in .Maybe this problem was only specific to the room that we stayed in which was # 241. .

The buffet breakfast in the restaurant is quite lavish and they had even arranged an Indian dish for us on all days except the last day and this must have been an oversight by the Chef .

We did not have any other meals except breakfast and hence cannot comment on the quality of the restaurants but guess that it should be good considering the quality of the breakfast in the restaurant.

I would recommend the Angkor Tara hotel any day for Groups or Individuall Travellers for a very comfortable stay in Siem Reap .

Room Tip: Pls ensure that you take a room where the mattress covers the cot or you could end up injuring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJITGCMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Crookham , England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you want easy access to the main temples, a clean, friendly hotel, great breakfast with a wide choice of foods, then this is the place to stay. It costs only a couple of dollars to get into the bustle of the town by tuk tuk. But is far enough away to be a peaceful place to stay. A great find thanks to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed for three nights and we found it a very pleasing experience. I foolishly left the room safe open one day, this was seen by the maid who reported it to management. photos of contents taken and locked. When we returned the manager opened the safe and we found all in order. So I cannot praise this hotel enough for comfort, friendly and security.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#49 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#46 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#38 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing