We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #84 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We scheduled a Bhutan trek with REI Adventures, with a Cambodian add-on (four days, three nights around Siem Reap). Tara was the lower cost hotel choice, but what bang it delivered for the buck. The rooms are generous, the air conditioning worked, the lobby was sound, there were tuk-tuks outside for an adventure downtown (not to be missed), the Children's Hospital was across the street and we caught a delightful lecture and performance from its founder, "Beatocello" (look him up on the internet and consider a charitable donation), the breakfast buffet was plentiful, and there are probably enough ruins in the Angkor complex to have kept novice like us occupied for three and a half weeks, not just three and a half days. Plus Tara has a pleasant pool and a great spa. I got hooked on the massages.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikido4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    1,118
    217
    36
    27
See reviews for
453
1,396
223
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently had the good fortune to go to Siem Reap, Cambodia as part of a package tour. We stayed at the Tara Angkor Hotel in a Superior Room with a king-sized bed. The room was a very reasonable size, and nicely decorated. The floors were a lovely dark hardwood, as was the furniture: desk, dresser, luggage stand, table, chairs, and night stands on either side of the bed. Conveniently, there were outlets accessible atop each nightstand. The standard European plug worked. There was a full length mirror (not that you really want to spend time gazing at yourself in stifling Cambodia - did I mention we went in May?), as well as two closets. One closet contained a safe, while the other had robes and slippers for use during your stay. The television was nice and had a good assortment of English-language channels, for those of us who do not speak Khmer.
The bathroom had a single sink, some counter space, commode (of course), and a shower/bath combo. As a side-note, I do not suggest drinking the water in Cambodia. At times, it appeared to have some coloration. To that end, the hotel does provide a couple of bottles of water for your enjoyment, complimentary. There is a minibar with minifridge, which we simply used to chill our water.
Overall, the room was clean, spacious, and a delightfully cool respite from the hot and humid days spent at the Angkor temples. Hint: for those of us perhaps not accostomed to it, the air conditioning does not stay on in the room once you remove your key card from the slot by the door. You do need to press the power button on the thermostat each time you re-enter the room. Don't worry, though: the rooms (at least those on the second floor) do not heat up much during the day.
Most stays include breakfast, which is a fantastic buffet of everything from fruit and pastries, to pancakes and eggs, to fried rice and noodles. It does vary from day to day, but there was never a lack of selection!
The pool is a salt water one, but the most lightly salinated one I have ever been in. The temperature was cool enough to be refreshing, but warm enough to not send me into shock. There is no hot tub, but I doubt many would want one most of the year! The lobby of the hotel is open and welcoming, with many available comfortable seats. There was a hint of lemongrass scent in the air that I enjoyed.
The staff was attentive and friendly, but not at all overbearing. Very respectful and genuinely pleased if tipped. I highly reccomend the Tara Angkor Hotel.

Did you find this review useful? Was there anything more I should have included? Let me know!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or courtyard view. The noise from the road can be distracting if you are on the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, following your recent stay.

I was so pleased to read that your stay with us was so enjoyable, and that you found our central location convenient for accessing all corners of our fabulous city.

I particular, I was delighted to read that our team were able to make you feel so welcome, and indeed at home away from home, and that you had the opportunity to relax whilst our team took care of you.

I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are of the older generation and were recommended to this 4 star hotel by friends; and we could not have been happier with our stay. We were greeted by the manager with welcome scarves and a photo. Our suite was huge and beautifully appointed with all the extras, including an espresso machine and 2 TV's. All the staff were friendly, happy and enthusiastic. The hotel facilities include a wonderful pool, gym and spa and the restaurants cater well for all nationalities - the included buffets breakfast was amazing. We had a tour guide and car with driver but used the $2 tuk tuks for the short trip into Siem Reap for the great nightlife- night markets and restaurants in Pub Street. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will return one day.

Room Tip: The suites are roomy, well appointed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Client,


Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, following your recent stay.

I was so pleased to read that your stay with us was so enjoyable, and that you found our location convenient for accessing all attraction and downtown.
I particular, I was delighted to read that our team were able to make you feel so welcome, and indeed at home away from home, and that you had the opportunity to relax whilst our team took care of you.

I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back .

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a lovely hotel! The staff were so friendly here and couldn't do enough for us! The welcome we received was great and the room was lovely, the staff had written 'happy honeymoon' in rose petals on the bed! The pool was lovely and the buffet breakfast was amazing. I was delighted with the care and attention staff took with the food being that I'm coeliac, they really ensured I ate well for my entire stay and wasn't ill once. The spa was lovely even if the massages were super value. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The location is great and tuk tuks cost only 2dollars to get to town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pflynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Client,


Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay.

Needless to say, I was thrilled to read your glowing review, and learn that your time with us was so enjoyable. We do endeavour to ensure all our guests feel at home away from home, and as you stay this starts with the initial warm welcome at the door. I am delighted that our team were able to create such a memorable experience for you, and it will be my pleasure to share your kind words with them.

I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back

Best Regards
Tara Angkor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

great value for money. 4 star hotel that will not burst your budget. the room service and restaurant prices are very reasonable and so we ended up dining at the hotel for afew of our meals and the massages were good and inexpensive - we ended up doing one very day with the hotel. would definitely come back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank May N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, following your recent stay.

It is always a pleasure for me to read such positive reviews of our hotel, and learn about the memorable experiences our team are creating for our guests. As well as the great service received, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our sumptuous room services meal others meal in our restaurant with reasonable price and final by compliment of our massage services at Tara Spa.

I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and indeed that our location was convenient for you to move easily around our historical city.

I do hope that we will soon be able to welcome you and your family back.

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were welcomed to this hotel by a cold cup of green tea and the fragrance of lemongrass which summed up the thought and attention to detail of this hotel. The food (both within the restaurants and room service) was some of the best we had experienced during our trip around Vietnam and Cambodia. It was a welcome comfort to have access to western meal options after weeks of rice and was very reasonably priced ($6-7 for a burger and fries which helped to settle an upset tummy after too much fish curry and fruit). Don't pay more than $2 for a tuk tuk, we were offered $2 for a 1 hr tour of the town. Siem Reap is not a large town,from this hotel you can reach the temples, town centre or airport within 10-15mins. Make the effort to get to Angkor Wat at sunrise, the crowd of tourists are a spectacle but the lighting hitting the stone work will give you the photo of your trip.
There were a couple of hiccups through no fault of hotel staff, we experienced a number of short power cuts during the afternoons / nighttime after which we had to reset the aircon and room safe. we had to have our room sprayed to exterminate a trail of ants that had made the selves at home which is perhaps to be expected in the Cambodian climate and I cannot fault the staff who responded immediately, spoke excellent English and could not have been more helpful.
An excellent, restful base from which to see the temples. Book with confidence, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenBuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking time to comment us on this website.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and in particular that you found our team to be helpful and efficient as well as our food which you're experience by satisfactory.

Sorry again for any inconvenience refer to electricity was not stable while effect from the city anyhow, our Generator always stand by and it will not be much effected included the site of pest control has been recalled to discuss more of schedule regarding insect and ant spraying to provide extra treatment from ordinary every friday schedule.

They are all here to ensure all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible, and I was pleased to read that they were able to do this for you during your time with us.

Look forward to welcome you back in the next visit.

Kind regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is situated at about 15 minutes from the airport and the Angkor Temples and 10 minutes from the city center of Siem Reap (a tuk tuk costs around 1 or 2 USD). It’s a 4* hotel with all the facilities - swimming pools, spa, gym and it’s one of the best choices for customers who want good price-quality ratio. At lunch you can pay 4 USD for a very tasty tom yam soup. Services are excellent, but that's a normal thing in Siem Reap. A little tip: the rooms have views of the city and pool and we recommend to choose one of those overlooking the pool because the price is the same, but the view is much better. Breakfast can be served on the terrace, for the smokers. There are also smoking rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking time to review us on this website.


I was pleased to read that you found the location of our beautiful hotel to be so convenient during your time with us, and indeed that you were able to make good use of our spacious guest rooms as well as meal or breakfast.

We do hope to have chance to welcoming you back in the next visit.

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#50 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#34 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,711 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#40 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#14 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#63 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing