We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn Down for Wat?”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #87 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Turn Down for Wat?”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Tara Angkor Hotel is located close to the National Park and temples of Angkor. The rooms needed updating and smelled musty. The hotel was overstaffed and not well managed-- the staff were tripping over themselves without being very helpful. They did not open doors, or have umbrellas. Breakfast was good, but when we ate dinner at the restaurant it was mediocre. On that note, it is totally worth it to tuk tuk to Pub Street to eat and for night market/ nightlife. In retrospect, we would have enjoyed staying closer to the central city of Siem Reap and traveling in for the temples.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseKnows416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    1,142
    226
    37
    27
See reviews for
462
1,443
223
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Comfortable rooms, good pool and restaurant. 10 min from Angkor Wat and 5 minutes by tuk tuk to markets ($2 and usually $3 to come back). Pleasant staff and good stay. In town massages are cheap in market areas $2-10 as is food on pub street although hotel restaurant prices are reasonable.
Spent part of our honeymoon here and the flowers on the bed and cake were very welcomed. I would quite happily stay here again as it is of good quality without being a massive commercial hotel where you just become a room number!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is excellent in lots of aspects - the location is great being very well situated for the temples and the restaurants and nightlife of Siem Reap; the staff are very friendly, helpful and discrete ; the hotel is absolutely spotlessly clean everywhere and the bedrooms and bathrooms are a very good size and well-equipped. We stayed here 2 nights in Siem Reap and the overall experience was absolutely great.
Transport too/ from the temples and other restaurants etc is very easy to arrange- either through the hotel or by just walking outside and picking up a local tuk tuk. For a whole day using a tuk tuk to take you to the temples ( they wait for you and take you wherever you want to go/ back to the hotel for lunch etc if you want) only costs 15-20 USD depending on the driver and you can arrange with them to be picked up and taken into Siem Reap in the evening ( 2 USD seemed to be the going rate) and pick you up again ( there are lots of tuk tuks in Siem Reap so you can easily pick up a different end back). here is a lively night market in Siem Reap too for bargain hunters and the stall holders are not too pushy.
The breakfast is very good being a buffet style affair with lots of variety but we did not have a particularly good meal at the restaurant one night. One of our meals turned up quite quickly but there was a significant wait for the other - both meals were tasty but not very warm, which was a shame.
There is a has a lovely medium sized pool - again spotlessly clean and well- maintained although it did get very busy so it could be difficult to find a sunbed ...the sun drops behind the building quite early too ( not a lot the hotel can do about that!). Wifi is free and you can even use it out by the pool.

A very enjoyable stay and would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: In the late afternoons there seems to be some boxing nearby which can be quite noisy but the noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beautiful helpful staff. The best hotel during our stay in Cambodia. The rooms were modern, upmarket, clean and comfortable. The selection of food at breakfast was amazing, ranging from asian, contimental to western foofs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, the staff are so friendly, helpful & very professional, nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfasts are amazing, I have never seen such a choice anywhere! They cater for every taste & it's delicious! The rooms were very nice, with an enormous double bed! Siem Reap is an amazing place, if we are ever lucky enough to go back to Cambodia, we will definitely stay in the Tara Angkor!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this last minute (an hour before checking in) after nightmare at The River Garden Hotel. Originally planned to stay for 3 nights - ended up extending to six. Loved the hotel, huge bed, helpful/friendly staff, great buffet breakfast, excellent location. Great value for money- even if I didn't get it for as cheap as previous reviews!
Would highly recommend this hotel.
Thanks for an amazing time in Siem Reap!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Womblegallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was booked for $34 a night. I stayed for three nights in August 2014. Upon arrival I was so impressed with the hotel. It is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is spotless and the staff is gracious. Wifi us great, location is great. It is a quick $2 tuk tuk ride to pub street. You can also arrange an all day tuk tuk to go to the temples for a reasonable price. The concierge helped me to book a trip to Tonle Sap Lake, which was fantastic. They also helped me figure out how to get from siem reap to bangkok. The breakfast is great with lots of variety. I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 353 in Siem Reap
857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#60 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,039 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#19 of 353 in Siem Reap
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Property: Tara Angkor Hotel
Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing