We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great spa!”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #89 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Tara hotel for two nights in January 2011. We really liked it and thought it was excellent value for money. As we were on honeymoon, the staff surprised us with a "happy honeymoon" writing on the bed made out of red rose petals, a bathtub full of rose petals and a heart-shaped cake. The hotel has a very good vibe, really relaxing and peaceful, and the spa is a jewel. The swimming pool is not big but good enough and it was quite popular as even in January, Siem Reap was very hot. Also, what's nice is that the hotel restaurant prices were very decent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
The whole team was proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco world Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for having chosen for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We would like to congratulate you again with your honeymoon. We thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities. And we are happy to hear you loved our SPA and restaurants. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you here once again. Thank you for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,094)
There are newer reviews for Tara Angkor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,946 of 3,094 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Tara Angkor in early January 2011. The hotel is located a few kilometers from the gate to the Angkor complex. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and courteous. You feel welcomed from the moment you step through the glass doors. Arrangements to visit the sites by a/c taxi, guide or tuk tuk can be made via the hotel staff and we found this quite useful. The room we stayed in had great decor and was extremely comfortable. My husband was particulary impressed when we handed in luandry and somebody had even replaced his button that has been missing for years! A stay at the hotel is not complete without going to the pool - perfect for cooling off after walking around the Angkor Complex. The staff at the spa were fantastic. We will definitely stay at Tara Angkor the next time we are in Siem Reap again. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and loved our SPA. All our staffs are happy to hear your kind comments about them. Once again, we thank you for having stayed at Tara Angkor Hotel and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you once again. Thank for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This hotel was one of the best hotels I stayed at during my 25 days in Vietnam/Cambodia. The service was exceptional, the hotel was immaculate, the staff friendly and helpful in arranging side trips and the food was very good. According to my 13 year old son, "they have the best burgers I have ever tasted!".
Definitely worth the price and highly recommended by myself and my son!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tique222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
The whole team was proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco world Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for having chosen for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay and your son loved our burgers. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you here once again. Thank you for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

A fairly new hotel. Well-appointed rooms, a 'king-sized plus' bed, view to the pretty pool from the balcony and several good nights' rest are what I remember of the Tara Hotel. As city-dwellers it was good to wake to the cockerel singing in the gardens next door. Staff were welcoming and helpful, trained to 4-star hotel standards, not true of other hotels we visited in Cambodia. Some reviewers say that the hotel is a bit far from town, but it is well within walking distance, even though my family is not terribly energetic. You can always take one of the many offers of a tuk-tuk ride if you decide it is too far - a dollar if you have already set off from the hotel. Check out the hotel deals. We took the 3-day hot deal at the hotel and factoring in one-way transfer from the airport, a massage and a dinner for two, the price of the room then sounded more reasonable. It IS way above average for Siem Reap but still much cheaper than hotels in a similar category (like Tara, these are often out on the same road near to Angkor Wat by the way), and I think you'd be pushed to find better value even if you paid half again or more, the cost for establishments in the same category. The spa is beautifully-decorated, smells heavenly and has a lovely atmosphere and again staff are very pleasant; not the best massage I have ever had but I live in Asia and am probably spoiled. I would definitely go back to the Tara Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our breakfasts. Once again, we thank you for having stayed at Tara Angkor Hotel and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you once again. Thank for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

i thought all employee's good. your hotel's education is very good.
only one point we aren't tour trip if you have shuttle bus for airport i think more better .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthfuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
The whole team was proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco world Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for having chosen for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your comments about our hotel and facilities. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to thank you for your suggestion, we'll make to the best use of this to continuously improve our services. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you here once again. Thank you for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The service was excellent all around--from greeting us upon arrival; to storing our luggage (we arrived in mid-morning); to poolside and restaurant service. The staff was friendly and efficient.The room was exceptionally clean (I even peaked under the bed and there was nothing on the hardwood floors)--very clean! We stayed in an executive suite,which is perfect when traveling with children. The bed was in one room with a door that shuts to separate you from the dining area/couches. While other reviewers complain about the shower temperature, I must admit that this was the best shower I have encountered in my 3 years living and traveling in SE Asia. Yes, there was temperature variation; however, the shower pressure was excellent and the water stayed hot. Prices for the mini-bar were reasonable (e.g., $2 soda). We did not use the phone in the room, but we travel with our own and with Skype (free WiFi in the rooms)--terrific. We ate breakfast, dinner, and poolside snacks. All were good and again, great price. Traveling with children it is sometimes difficult to find foods they will eat....no problem at this hotel. For example, the pizza was excellent, a good size, and only $7. The breakfast buffet included in the room price was comprised of both Asian and Western food, with vegetarian choices. A nice variety. Although many people ate at the buffet, the food was well-stocked and the restaurant did not seem crowded. The location was excellent, a short ride to the temples or to Pub Street and the markets. Tuk tuks abound and are affordable. While we had a driver for most of our trip, we did ride a Tuk Tuk to dinner one night on Pub Street--a $2 ride for the family and a lot of fun. The bellhop arranged the ride for us. Check in and check out were easy and hassle free. The pool was clean and there were always clean towels available. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. With the exception of the fireworks display, we did not hear any noise outside our hotel nor from other rooms (and our hotel was fully-booked). The only improvement I might suggest is that the rollaway bed come with a thicker mattress. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlionease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for choosing for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have loved the food at our restaurants. We thank you as well for your suggestion and we'll make to the best use of this for future improvements to our facilities. Once again, we thank you for having stayed at Tara Angkor Hotel and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you once again. Thank for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

for the price we paid was not expecting much from this hotel but was pleasently surprised. Very plush reception and rooms good quality, pool good, breakfast Ok and staff pleasant. Location wise is only a 2 dollar tuk-tuk away. hotel were very good at organising tuk-tuk for temples also

Only gripe was that the breakfast choice was not consistent. On some days there would be pancakes, suasages, potatoes and on others there would not be

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoWtara, Tara Angkor Management Team at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

Warmest greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel
The whole team was proud to be at your service during your visit to the Unesco world Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. We would like to thank you for having chosen for Tara Angkor Hotel as the place to stay. We thank you for your comments about our hotel and facilities. We are happy to hear we achieved to surprise you. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you here once again. Thank you for recommending us to your entourage, with kind regards, Tara Angkor Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#56 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#77 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#93 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £23 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing