We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bano Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Douala(Douala)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Planet Hotel(Douala)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residentiel Menfis(Douala)(Great Value!)
US$18
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
10
40
13
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
40
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed hereper nightdecent hotelstandardgymbilingualsecurity
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here following other reviews. Very reasonable price and good value. Food good quality and friendly, helpful staff. Pool was a welcome relief from the humidity. Room was spacious and wifi very welcome (and not available in all hotels). Note: Fitness centre was closed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank lhawley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Bano Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear lHawley,

Thank you for having taken time to share your opinion and your experience in Bano Palace Hotel.
I am as well pleased as you had a pleasant stay and as you appreciated the service and the quality of the food.
I wish you a Happy New Year 2014 and promise you that the next time the fitness gym will be operational.
Glad to have you as a valuable guest and You are always welcome at Bano Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A flight was cancelled to Bangui CAR due to problems at the airport there. Ethiopian Air took responsibility for a group of us and sent us to Bano hotel. It was a very pleasant surprise to find it was a good hotel with friendly staff. They dealt with the situation of an unexpected crowd of people, a number of whom did not speak English or French very professionally. My room was more a suite than a room, clean and with all the normal facilities. I was happy to watch CNN on the TV. The staff are all bilingual. The evening meal was well cooked and served, and a reasonable price. As we left for the airport at 2.30 AM I can't describe the breakfast! I looked at their rates for rooms and they seemed reasonable for the facilities. The free WiFi was exceptionally good and worked well in the bedroom.
One problem the hotel needs to address - the kettle put there for making coffee had a plug that didn't fit in the regular European outlet, so take adaptors - mine was in my suitcase at the airport.

Room Tip: It was quiet in my room, but due to the position of the hotel, bang in the middle of the town, higher rooms may be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelttomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

i stayed here for 12 days in May.
The hotel was very clean & comfortable with friendly and attentive staff. Food was good.Nice , small rooftop pool area.
Special mention to the staff: stef the security guy,Laurence for the room service,maria in the restaurant.
Would def. stay here again if visiting Douala.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haryton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

It's a decent hotel, very friendly staff and a nice bar. The room I stayed in was decent with a nice balcony and a good view of the city. The street in front of the hotel gets quite busy and noisy some nights, but was not a disturbance. Also, the free wifi actually quite reliable, which is saying a lot for that part of Africa.

All in all a pretty good, conveniently placed hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony. Especially if you happen to be a smoker.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnzomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

1. The restaurant is terrible, slow with overpriced fast-food quality food. The breadfast costs 60000F extra which is bad value for money. There are few choices of food. The fruit and salad are not fresh at all. There are just few choices on the menu, often half on which are not available

2. The restaurant is always noisy with the shouting of football matches(The waiters often watch football match at work) which makes it like a bar.

3. The Internet connection is terribly slow(max. 20-30KB/S). You have to ask for a new password every 24 hours. And every connection needs the input of the password. Very annoying!

4. The hotel is situated beside a main road and a school. The noise of the motorcycle is around 24 hours a day. Very early in the morning, the loudspeaker of the school will wake you up.

5. They give you only 10ml of shower gel ONLY. There is NO shampoo.

6. The reception demands a deposit before check-in, suspecting that the guest would run away without paying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJL384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews