We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm...”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 different nights whilst travelling to and around different parts of Cameroon.

Its quite a nice place to stay. It is convenient for the airport, though it is located in a really mixed part of town that you probably wouldn't really want to wander around at night (though perfectly safe within the hotel grounds). The hotel is at the end of an incredibly bumpy track which looks improbable.

There is plenty of hot water and the air conditioning works well. All rooms have a TV but there is no fixed terminal for the internet-though there is WIFI if you have brought your own computer (only works in the lobby).

The reception staff were smiley and as helpful as you could expect with the language barrier.

The bar and restaurant are located on decking overlooking the river. The food was really good, but its always worth asking whats fresh. The sea food should be fresh as the fish market is fairly close by.

There is a swimming pool but I didn't use it so can't comment.

Photography is sensitive in Doula and I managed to incur the wrath of several boatmen-despite the fact that they were several hundred metres away in the middle of the river channel and would be lost within the detail of any photograph. The nearby fishmarket would similarlymake for many fabulous photographs -if you were able to do so, but what what I experienced I wouldn't recommend this.

Overall a good place to stay but you need to prearrange a pick up from the airport if coming in at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chepstow_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lower Mainland, BC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel during the beginning and end of my tour to Cameroon in February. It is only 5 minutes to the airport but not close to the centre of the city. It is however about a 10 minute drive, depending on traffic, to the Centre Artisanal de Douala and Marche des Fleurs. Restaurant is not connected to the hotel building - you have to walk through a large parking lot in order to get there. It is located in stilted huts on the shore of the mangrove forests around the port. The food is quite good especially the avocado salad and the beef steak and fries but the prices are not cheap. Air conditioned rooms with hot and cold water and TV. Staff is friendly but does not go out of their way to be helpful. There is really not much around the hotel except the small bridge spanning the small river. Lots of small huts and shops around the hotel complex mainly catering to the locals living there.

Room Tip: My room faced the parking lot located in front of the reception area, but because the hotel is so ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShilohinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douala hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Douala
Ibis Douala
#1 of 31 in Douala
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#4 of 31 in Douala
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#2 of 31 in Douala
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
0.0 mi away
Noubou international Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#6 of 31 in Douala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000

Property: Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000
Address: B.P. 3344, | Youpwe, Douala, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing