We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The German seamen's mission”
Review of Foyer du Marin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foyer du Marin
Ranked #6 of 71 Douala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This place is very popular with expats, backpackers and missionaries so a reservation for a room is advisable.
Manfred Kühle the sailors deacon will do almost everything to feel you at home, which can not be said of the receptionists.
The rooms are very basic but complete and certainly clean. The food served in the restaurant is delicious and not expensive. restaurant tables are dotted around the pool in a magnificent garden with view on the harbor.
Foyer du marin is located in the Akwa district, going out at night on your own can be a danger!
The price-quality ratio is OK

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very quiet, beautiful veranda overlooking the port, good food and clean room. The service was good and the taxidriver Julio very helpful.
I would recommend the place, for his convinient location, excellent price, cleaness, and quietness. I will for sure come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

on the overall I would recomend this Hotel to anyone trying to mix Urban/ Traditional resort living in the heart of Douala, Stayed here 3/4 of my 39 days in Cameroon , move from Rooms to rooms , to the single bedroom apartement to the double room apartment , just one room was messy, some rooms had refrigerators which was cool , all apartments had refrigerators,
Friendly staff on the overall , just one crazy reception girl who wanted to give me lessons on the dress code to enter the reception area , she called "office" . I give her a break , because i guess she has never been to real hotels to know any better.
Nice Terrance with fresh sea breeze, nice garden and vegation to be in the heart of Akwa , douala. Nice Restaurant , pool table, Old but ok basketball court.
Affordable pricing for Expensive Douala starting at $44 to $120 for double room apartements. Very Friendly assistant manager , he is a Pastor. definately will visit again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacDonald3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked into this hotel for 4 persons and advised them of late arrival! In spite of a booking confirmed by email, several reconfirmations (even on the day of arrival) by our travel agent in Cameroon, we arrived at the hotel at 02.30 hrs and found our rooms sold to others. The hotel personnel did not do anything at all but shrug and left us to an uncertain fate. Homeless in Douala after a long flight at 02.30 hrs is not a nice experience. From our touroperator in Cameroon we heard that this happens all the time with Foyer de Marin ! So please avoid this hotel at all times !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bedasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel several nights while in Cameroon and I can say that it is the best hotel I stayed in while in Cameroon. The restaurant at the hotel serves good food. There is a nice pool. The grounds are very nice. There is internet service. There are several beers to choose from at the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have stayed here many times because it is the best deal for the money, in expensive Douala. Where else in this city can you get a clean air-conditioned room with shower and sat. TV, a garden/terrace restaurant with a view, bar with big screen TV, pool table, swimming pool, basketball court -- all for less than $50 US ?? As for the staff, they are FRIENDLY. Remember the Foyer started as a church mission for sailors, and it still is. So expect some of the clientele to be a bit rough, which is enough to try the patience of the best of staffs. Let them know you are a good guest, and get to know them, and you will find they are excellent.

Room Tip: The big suite is worth the money if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PadreUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I've stayed in the Foyer more times then I can remember. For the price (around 20.000 CFA, or €30) it is the best value in town. Especially concerning the terrace and the food. A real nice place to relax before you go to the bush or get back. Expect nothing luxurious, just decent and clean rooms, friendly staff, a refreshing pool and a great terrace. The food (German inspired) is really nice and from the grill.

Unfortunately the Foyer has become really populair so they are often fully booked.

This is my favorite place in Douala, by far.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the lower level, next to the reception. But all rooms on the 'reception side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmvanloenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douala hotels
1.3 mi away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#2 of 32 in Douala
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saffana Hotel
Saffana Hotel
#17 of 32 in Douala
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Douala
Ibis Douala
#1 of 32 in Douala
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#7 of 32 in Douala
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence La Falaise
1.2 mi away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyer du Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyer du Marin

Address: Rue Gallieni, Douala, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Douala
Also Known As:
Foyer Du Marin Hotel Douala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing