We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Average Amenities”
Review of Planet Hotel

Planet Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Planet Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Service, Average Amenities”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in April. The staff are friendly and courteous. The Internet connection actually worked better than quite a number of places that I've seen in Douala. The room was average and had seen some use. Nothing special. The TV was small (17") and didn't have more than 4 English channels at most. The bed was not soft enough. The bathroom was the same as room. The "Hot" water was lukewarm throughout my stay.
If you are not particular about those little things and need a place to crash, this would suit you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deyuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nigel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I was introduced to the hotel by my client upon arrival. Was so impressed that I spent another night before departing from Douala. The staff is friendly, great service, excellent rooms with very efficient aircons. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would say this is the best value for money

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I recently stayed here during a business trip in Douala and found it to be OK. The WIFI in the reception worked well, but the internet in the Room did not work at all. That said the room was clean and A/C was excellent.

I dined in the restuarnat for breakfast lunch and dinner and found them to be good.

However under all costs avoid the LOCAL smoked fish dish. Its not the best.

Not much else to say as there is not much else at the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guy_butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My one night experience was not as bad as some of the other recent reviewers. My room was clean, with fresh bed linen and towels. The TV had a few English channels, the shower was OK and had hot water. The staff were all quite helpful. It is however true that the hotel is not being properly maintained. There are things falling apart and the AC in my room did not work properly. Breakfast was basic but OK. There is wireless internet throughout, which works quite well. The hotel is quite well located and is on the right side of town for the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had a very unpleasant one night stay here as I was supposed to stay at another hotel that was overbooked. The previous review is incredibly accurate. The room I was checked into only had one working A/C, with no remote for the TV or the bedroom A/C. The bed sheets had clearly not been changed for a while. After spending a sleepless night there I headed off to meetings the next day and then returned to come back and collect my belongings to return to the hotel I was meant to be in. When I entered my room SOMEONE ELSE WAS ALREADY IN THE BEDROOM WITH THE DOOR SHUT. The bedroom TV was playing loudly. I quickly grabbed my toiletries in the bathroom and suitcase and got out. I cannot recommend that anyone stays here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandie_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douala hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Continued to stay in The Planet Hotel several times since my last review for varying lengths of stay. The hotel is deteriorating rapidly, it's not being maintained or looked after and is starting to look tatty. Check in is frequently delayed as they try to shuffle people about, this is particularly annoying when you've just flown in a need a shower and just want to go to bed. I've had rooms which have only had a minimum of cleaning after the previous guest, no towels, no AC controller and also the AC's aren't being serviced and many of which do not work very well. I've had rooms on 2 occasions where there's been no toilet seat. One one occasion the bedding hadn't been changed (this was obvious) and I've also found used condoms thrown into the corner of the bathroom. The hotel seem to encourage prostitutes to hang around the decking outside and it has become a nuisance when you just want to sit and have a quite drink. I suspect the hotel is hiring the rooms out on an hourly rate and it is becoming a knocking shop. This is a big shame as most of the staff are lovely. I do not stay in the The Planet any more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Newish small hotel on the edge of the Akwa district. Rooms fairly minimal although uncluttered and very clean. Own AC control, small flat screen TV mounted on the wall. No pool but a nice decking area at the very front of the hotel to enjoy a sundowner. Restaurant not too bad either. Breakfast good. Staff very pleasant. Have stayed here for the odd night in the past and currently on a week's stay over. Would be my hotel of choice for future time in Douala. I hope they look after the hotel, it is pretty new although there are signs of water damage starting to appear on some of the bathroom walls. Alos there is gratis internet access in all the rooms plus wi-fi in the public areas downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#4 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#2 of 31 in Douala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Douala
Ibis Douala
#1 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
0.6 mi away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#3 of 31 in Douala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akwa Palace
Hotel Akwa Palace
#8 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hotel

Property: Planet Hotel
Address: Boue de Lapeyrere | B.P. 12985, Douala, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing