We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware, odd practices, better speak Spanish...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Antofagasta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware, odd practices, better speak Spanish...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Visited casino to play craps, walked away planning to not come back. I've gambled in Atlantic City, Tahoe and Vegas and noticed a few strange things here I've not seen before like a cover charge to get in, no free drinks while gambling, and some goofy rules at the craps tables (possibly other games, didn't play them). Biggest gripe was telling the dealers to place our bets off during a come out roll only to have them collect them when a 7 was rolled. We then asked why, no English. Asked for pit boss, no English. Asked for anyone who spoke English, 20 min wait. Once the supervisor arrived we explained what happened, she talked to the dealers and then checked the videos. 30 min. Said the casino absolutely made a mistake, we did indeed tell them to freeze our bets. But she was unable to do anything, it was "out of her hands." Boiled down to $40 down the drain (no big deal), but the fact that they admitted it was their mistake and wouldn't do anything about it (she did offer to buy us a drink) is just inexcusable in my opinion. Decide for yourself, just be careful if your Spanish is terrible like mine!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hindo_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    122
    37
    15
    8
See reviews for
43
87
9
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

I had such a good fun last night with my friends at Enjoy night club, the prices are very good, the venue is just amazing with an excellent view of the Antofagasta city. My only problem was all this Pisco I had and now I'm hungover lol... And the music was top 40 sort of thing which I don't like but that's ok...it was nice to watch all Chilean people having a blast!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eliton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

My colleagues and I stay here frequently on work trips to Antofagasta. The rooms are large, nice views over the water and I really like the bathrooms. Service at the front desk is hit and miss. I´ve been waiting to be checked in and there were staff standing around behind the reception desk chatting to each other - that´s annoying when you just want to get into your room late at night. I´ve had some really nice meals in the restaurants there and breakfast is pretty good too. Once again, service can be a bit scatty. There is a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the public areas of the hotel and despite smoking areas being separated in the restaurants, you can still smell it as the doors are constantly opened. But in the room there is not a trace so that is plus. For me, this is the only option in Antofagasta.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for non smoking if that is your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Probably the bet you're going to get in this desert town. With restaurants, casino and views to the sea and mountain range it's ok. B'fast was excellent while my dinner of rib eye was unfortunately an insult to the beast that gave up its life to sit on my plate. Service was otherwise good despite arriving during Chile's public holidays of independence. The heated roof top pool with spa and mountain views plus the lights of Antofagasta is enjoyable against the chill winds that blow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Santiago, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

I have to stay here some times for work. One time, when i was checkimg out and waiting that the valet parking get the pickup truck, i was sitting in the front chairs, somehow when i got up to leave mu wallet fell and i realized the same day like 4-5 hours later, i called and ask, they said they found it, when i arrived there it was, with all the money, cards, etc. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE SECURITY DEPARTMENT OF THE HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABARNETT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Del Desierto twice and It was amazing! On the way back from San Pedro de Atacama we decided to stay two nights instead of 1 because this place is really nice and we needed some time to relax. Nice spacious rooms, giant soft towels, nice bath tubes, spa, jacuzzi, good room service and everything else you could expect from a 5 stars hotel. We tried to get a massage at their spa but it was fully booked so try to book it in advance.
Their breakfast is really good but the staff at the restaurant where it is served are not nice at all. At breakfast time is ok because you help yourself but at dinner or lunch time their service is horrible, we had lunch and dinners there, the food is absolutely amazing, fresh ingredients and all well prepared but usually it takes like 30 min till you can get your drinks and food takes even longer! Their staff are not really friendly sometimes so for 5 star hotel La Barquera Restaurant should try to get better team to work at their place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Somehow we missed the fact that the Hotel Del Desierto is in fact the hotel part of the Enjoy Casino complex, when we booked it.
It's an efficient modern hotel, with views out over the ocean, car parking underneath, and a choice of restaurants. But if you're there for exploring the Atacama and the coast, it's a bizarre place to arrive at, and you feel a bit out of place in dusty boots and backpacks.
The hotel is above the casino, which is vast and can be noisy into the small hours. The restaurants are acceptable but lacking character and poor value in comparison with others in town, but the rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antofagasta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Terrado Suites Antofagasta
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antofagasta
0.2 mi away
NH Antofagasta
NH Antofagasta
#1 of 27 in Antofagasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Antofagasta
Ibis Antofagasta
#6 of 27 in Antofagasta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Antofagasta
Hotel Antofagasta
#7 of 27 in Antofagasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Geotel Antofagasta
Geotel Antofagasta
#5 of 27 in Antofagasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto

Property: Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto
Address: Av Angamos 01455, Antofagasta, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > Antofagasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Antofagasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel with all the confort and fun you require for business or leasure trip. International shows, first level gastronomy, games and superb relaxation in our exclusive SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing