We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with congenial atmosphere”
Review of Hostal Sunny Days

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Sunny Days
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Arica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What separates this hostel from most are the owners who provide expert and reasoned advice on things to see and to do not only in Arica, but also around Chile, Bolivia, and Peru. The dorms are clean, common areas are homey, the showers mostly hot, the in-house kitchen one of the best stocked I've encountered in 5-weeks of travelling South America, and the breakfast superior (all you can eat cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, real coffee, fresh bread, and jams).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyDaysArica, Propietario at Hostal Sunny Days, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hosteling is a special travelling experience. It is not for everyone. Hotels are for travellers or couples who want to be on their own behind sound proofed doors – eating alone at tables with service on demand.
Hosteling is the opposite, it is about meeting other travellers, sharing travelling experiences, cooking up alongside others or even having a communal meal and drink while chatting about places you have been and things you have experienced.
You need to be an extrovert to enjoy hostelling – prepared to get out of your comfort zone – be prepared to share your time with fellow travellers show tolerance to their views, opinions and actions.
However you can also benefit immensely from new knowledge about places, how to get there, what to do and how to extend your budget. Travellers are continually bombarded with commercial travel packages and tours to the extent that many lesser experienced adventurers take the easy options to let someone else make the event for them. They become ‘package travellers’. They seldom achieve the level of satisfaction 'voluntary travellers achieve!
‘Voluntary travel’ can be a very rewarding experience. It is about personal development, facing new challenges, solving problems and fulfilling dreams that you have paid for yourself. Travel for work or business is not in the same realm as there is a degree of compulsion and accountability to those who are paying the bills. Voluntary travel is solely at the choice of the traveller, where to go, when, where to stop and for how long. It is a challenge which many travellers are not prepared to face so they take a package tour.
The avid backpacker seeks this challenge, researches destinations and routes to get there, and looks to stay in hostels so they can expand the experience to its fullest through communication and participation with other travellers thus making the most of their travel time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay at Sunny Days Hostel was terrible. From reading other reviews, Ross seems to be the key to having a good stay here but unfortunately he was not available when we arrived. Upon arrival a lady grunted and pointed at the kitchen, bathroom and our room as a form of introduction. Our room was located right beside the common area and as a result it was not quiet enough to sleep until 3 am. We stayed just one night and got the next flight out of Arica. When we were packing we found old sand in our bed sheets (this sand was also in the shower) and again I found the same dirt on my clothes and arms when we got to the airport. A terrible experience which was a surprise following the strong reviews of the hostel on Tripadvisor and other sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyDaysArica, Manager at Hostal Sunny Days, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Maybe is wasn’t Sunny Days staff who ‘were having a bad day’
We make no pretence to be other than what we are – a backpackers hostal.
Good reviews which we appreciate tend to raise guest expectations
Our aim is to provide a family home atmosphere for backpacker travellers. So we treat our guests as our family for the hostal is also our home as we live and sleep on the premises. It is up to the guests how they respond to the hostal environment and what hours they keep. If guests are not happy with the facilities we provide or the behavior of others guests we expect them to talk to those involved and if still discontent call the management.
We are well aware of the importance of first impressions and try our best to provide a warm welcome and explain where hostal facilities are for guest use while leading them to their room. We even provide a city map and page of Things to Do plus a welcoming snack to arriving guests!
From the comments in this review the guests had a room that shares a bathroom.
All our rooms that share bathrooms are located around a large internal common area.
The shower the guests used (one of several) was communal which together with all communal living areas is cleaned once a day – so It is quite possible to find sand on the shower floor as it is carried on the feet of guests returning from the beach later the same day. We have even found sand on the bed sheets of guest rooms.
However soiled sheets and towels are washed after guests leave or every third day if they stay longer. All washing is dried naturally outside in the sunshine where it blows in the wind.
We cannot explain how sand would come to be in the sheets on the bed unless they walked bare feet on the beach. Sand is sand how can you recognize it is old? Neither can we explain how sand off the sheets on the bed came to be on the arms and clothes that the guests were wearing at the airport!
We just do our best and are proud of what we do for travellers while remaining open to constructive criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent two nights at Sunny Days, they are perfectly situated next to a huge fruit and veg market and are also very handy to the bus station (they are also a short walk from the centre of town). Ross was very helpful and had many welcome recommendations. The breakfast was also top notch with fresh fruit, toast and tea/coffee. What really struck me about this hostel is two days after we left for an excursion further north, we returned to Arica in order to catch a bus south. We had a few hours to wait and so we asked Ross if we might store our bags there. He welcomed us back, invited us to use whatever amenities we needed and refused any kind of compensation. If that is not top class, I don't know what is.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debowes14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sunny Days is a great hostel. The communal areas and kitchen facilities are really good. The rooms are clean. Location is really close to the beach but it is a bit of a walk into town, luckily there is a bus stop and shared taxi stop a few minutes walk from the hostel. Ross the owner is has fantastic knowledge whether you want to explore the area, are heading to Bolivia, Peru or other parts of Chile. He can rent you bikes, help organise onward plans, organise surfing...you name it. There is a great food market near by. The wifi is good and hostel is safe and secure. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jackiec8441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was only able to stay one night as the owners were going on vacation but I very much enjoyed my stay. The owner provided a lot of helpful information right off the bat and the hostel was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights - the room was fine, breakfast was varied. Location is close to beach, bus station and supermarkets, but is a reasonable walk from the main streets of arica. The main selling point is definitely Ross - incredibly helpful, he spent a lot of time just answering questions and giving advice. It was also very detailed, covering all the smaller points that can often cause stress when travelling, and it was much appreciated!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyDaysArica, Propietario at Hostal Sunny Days, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

As owner operators my wife and I are pleased to receive spontaneous reviews from our guests as we do not solicit them or harass our guests with post visit e-mails and propaganda.

We aim to provide a home away from home for our guests. A place where guests can relax and make do for themselves, just like at home. Many guests enter our hostal which is also our home and wonder where the oficial reception is to be found. There is no formal reception desk - if you arrive early you will be invited to take breakfast and be shown where a bathroom is before all else.

Then we sort out the type of room you require, and if it is vacant you can occupy it straight away.
So check in takes place when you arrive not at a fixed hour in the afternoon. Like wise oficial check out is 11am, but you do not have to leave the hostal with your luggage at that time. Many guests have late night busses so we provide storage and allow use of guest facilities until you leave in the evening.

We have visited most of the next destinations for guests leaving Arica, so can advise you of travel details, the small issues that you face and how best to handle them. It reduces the "unknown factors" from your new days experiences and eases the stress of travel. Not quite like returning to a place you have visited before but very helpful. Like you we have lived the journey.

As experienced travellers ourselves we know most of your needs and try to smooth the experience for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This really friendly place is a very easy 5 minute walk from the bus terminal. Ross the owner is extremely accommodating and obviously loves what he does. It.s a close walk to then ocean and then terrace is an great place to watch the sunset over the harbour. I am really glad I stayed here and will happily stay here again. Oh, and you get a nice breakfast of fruit, bread, choice of spreads, tea, coffee, juice and choice of cereals!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arica hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#20 of 23 in Arica
30 reviews
1 mi away
Americano Hotel Arica
Americano Hotel Arica
#7 of 23 in Arica
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bahia Chinchorro Hotel
Bahia Chinchorro Hotel
#22 of 23 in Arica
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Diego de Almagro
Diego de Almagro
#4 of 23 in Arica
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Tres Soles
Residencial Tres Soles
#12 of 29 in Arica
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Jardin del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sunny Days? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sunny Days

Address: Corner Tomas Aravena 161 & Pedro de Valdivia | Chinchorro, Arica 1000000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Arica
Price Range: £15 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out from travel and relax in Sunny Days backpackers hostal in Arica. A popular beach holiday resort in the far north of Chile close to the borders with Peru and Bolivia. Our motto is ‘A home away from home’. Our objective is to satisfy guests' needs and that is our first priority! Guest comments say the rest, "Many thanks for everything! Sunny Days is truly a home away from home. The whole team stands for hospitality of the highest level!" Iris & Nelthide, Belgium & Holland. Sunny Days has rooms with en-suite bathrooms, rooms that share bathrooms and also dorms. Two guest kitchens and 2 large common rooms for meeting with other travelers. Close to the bus terminals and also the largest beach in Arica; we provide beach towels, body boards and beach tennis gear free to our guests. Large fruit & veg market with many stores to meet most of your needs plus restaurants open most hours, and an ATM all at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Sunny Days reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sunny Days Hotel Arica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing