We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great hostel”
Review of Arica Surf House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arica Surf House
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Arica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The breakfast was fantastic, and the staff there were all really chilled and nice. I arrived late at night, and eventually they gave me a good deal for a single until I could move to the dorm. I only intended staying 2 nights in Arica, but ended up staying 5! Awesome hostel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Excelent hostel, the best up to now! I stayed during the day just to rest and wait for our bus to san pedro and this hostal was a home to me. The staffs are very friendly and helpfull. Good area to drink coffee and watch TV! And we paid a special price just to stay there, taking shower and watching tv...very good i recommend it

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank thaisalmeidabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We loved this hostel!- the staff are lovely and so helpful. We wanted a dorm but there was no space so we were given a private for the same price as a dorm!

The beds are comfy and our room even had a TV with satellite. There's a decent kitchen for guests to use and an open communal space.

The best thing about this hostel though is the fantastic complimentary breakfast... Choice of scrambled egg or cereal with yogurt, toast, a cake, juice and an amazing coffee! Just perfect compared to the usual stale bread!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a room for 3 people with a private bathroom.

The beds were pretty comfy, the room was clean, and there was a big bathroom. The only problem was the shower head holder was broken...so showering was pretty tricky... you couldn't have the water on you while you were say washing your hair because the handheld showerhead wouldn't stay attached to the holder....

The water pressure and the temperature were both good.

This place always smelled like a bakery! so that was a nice bonus!!

The breakfast was good, and they were able to lock up our luggage after check out while we explored for the day.

They also helped book us a surfing lesson. None of us had ever been surfing before and this was a major highlight of our 2 month trip!!! Absolutely fantastic instructor and just an overall amazing experience!!! Definitely try it if you're there!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place was great! Cool place! We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The room was nice, the bed was good, we had a tv in the room, the bathroom was clean and the shower was hot! Breakfast included. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Free internet computers available for guests. Large communual area and kitchen. Centrally located. Good experience. We can definately recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have now stayed at the surf house 3 separate times since 2006. I usually stay from 2 weeks to a month. Ever since 2006, every time i have returned they have upgraded and made improvements on the hostel! Which means they keep putting their money back into the business to make the customer happier!The dorm is one of the best I've ever seen as they have one bed in a closed off area which makes it feel like a room. Then there are heaps of private rooms aswell which i prefer as i stay longer. Ping pong is a high light, big kitchen to cook! And breakfast is now included which is so good, coffee eggs with toast. The owners are always there to help and look after you. Arica is one of my favourite places in the world to travel to for surfing, and the Surf Hostel makes it feel like a home!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgregoryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean, cool island/surfer feel decor, nice communal area, clean and large kitchen, super helpful staff. Their dorm room is very spacious and has single beds (instead of bunks), so very comfortable. They make breakfast for each person individually, so your eggs or yogurt is served fresh with hot toast and freshly made coffee/tea. They offer surf lessons (20 pesos)/rentals (15 pesos) too. Had the best stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carbmanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arica hotels
0.1 mi away
Americano Hotel Arica
Americano Hotel Arica
#7 of 23 in Arica
57 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sol de Arica
Hotel Sol de Arica
#20 of 23 in Arica
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#22 of 23 in Arica
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aruma
Hotel Aruma
#1 of 23 in Arica
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Sunny Days
Hostal Sunny Days
#1 of 27 in Arica
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
lamas hostal
#10 of 27 in Arica
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arica Surf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arica Surf House

Address: Calle O'Higgins 661, Arica, Chile
Region: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Arica
Price Range: £27 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** HostelBookers Awards for Excellence 2010 - Ranked top 3 for 'Best Atmosphere' in South America **‘Arica Surf House Hostel’ Quiet, comfortable and safe place, in the downtown and near to the famous surf spot: El Gingo and El Buey. All facilities (transport, guide, meals, free internet (Wi Fi), airport transfer, laundry service, cable TV). Also we offer tow-in surf sessions and Surf Trips. Private & shared rooms, Private & shared bathrooms, Family rooms available, Free Internet and wifi, Bed linen included, Towels included, Hot water, Cable TV room, Surf Forecast Premium, one week, Book Exchange, Laundry Service, Luggage Custody, Ping Pong Table, Airport transfer, Safe environment and great atmosphere, Surf trips, Flat day options tours. Please note that a 72h cancellation policy will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arica Surf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing