We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location a little 'tired'”
Review of Chinchorro Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chinchorro Suite
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Jaipur, Indi
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice location a little 'tired'”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We just spent one night there, no problems at all but the building is a little tired and is being renovated, I think. Nicely placed so you can walk to the beach and there are some good restaurants there. For the money, good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
33
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Our reservation confirmation stated a/c room with sitting area and mini-bar, but the room we were given was so small you could barely walk, the only light fixture hung so low that anyone over 5'5" would bump into it, there was a small window onto the pool area with no breeze and no a/c., no sitting area and no mini anything, except the room. We asked for another room and were shown 2, one was a 3 bed-room suite with a sitting area and refrigerator so we took it. A/c was not necessary in the evening due to the constant ocean breeze in our upper floor room which had east/west exposure. There was a fan also. The hotel is on a major street and there was a lot of street noise. It did quiet down after a while.

At first glance, the room looked nice however, after a few minutes, you realize everything in the suite is dirty and worn. The mattress had a rubberized pad which was supremely uncomfortable and the bathroom was just plain dangerous. The Euro tub looked great but there was no mat so it was very hard to get in/out of because it is so slippery. The shower curtain, which fell down several times due to faulty rod installation, was cotton cloth and did nothing to prevent shower water from flooding the tile floor. There were no bathmats either so the floor was also dangerously slippery.

Breakfast buffet was served on a nice terrace, but it was practically on the street. It was adequate, however our first morning we were served eggs, but none after that. Coffee was Nescafe instant, ugh.

One of the three desk people we dealt with was helpful and went out of his way. However, the hotel has no tourist literature, nor dod it have a pad of maps showing it's location, a customary item in every other hotel we'd stayed at in Chile, Ecuador and Peru. The location is not shown correctly on Google Maps is far from the beach. It is also far from the center of town, in 2012 about a $6 USD taxi ride. After our first round-trip, we located the No. 1 bus, a short walk away and $1 USD pp each way.

We stayed for 4 nights as a break on our way via bus between Arequipa, Peru, and Santiago, Chile. At most, 2 of the 8 rooms were occupied yet when we asked if we could stay an additional 2 hours on the day we caught our 6PM bus to Santiago, we were told no, but we could store our bags. When we went to check out, however we were told we could stay in our room.

We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

we spent 2 nights at the chinchorro suit befor we left to peru. the rooms spacious (especially the night we had room nr 8 which is more like a flat) and clean.

but the very special thing about this place is the owner rodrigo and his lovely family. unfortunately we needed to go to the general hospital during our stay. the staff made about 7 phonecalls to get an privat doctor... which seems to be a problem on a saturday in chile.

the owner rodrigo was more than generous when he took us to the hospital with his car and talked with all the facility members there facing the fact that our spanishknowledge becomes a real issue when you have got healtproblems!

Many thanks again to rodrigo and his lovely family!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viennesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in April. It is a little out of town but worth it. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and the owners/staff extremely helpful. The room was clean and had everything we needed, although air conditioning may have been helpful it had gotten hotter.

Room Tip: We were in the front room and the road noise could be heard, it didn't bother us but if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren-Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights in April and found it very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a good buffet on a terrace. Everyone was very helpful and suggested places to eat and to visit. It is a little further out of town than shown on the map but it is a cheap taxi ride to and from the centre. It is a 10 minute walk to the Chinchorro Beach which might be a plus for some people and there are several resturants at the beach front.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Great place to stay, owners are very accommodating. We arrived very late from the bus station by taxi (about 3miles from bus station) and they led us right to our room, said not to worry about signing in at front desk just get some rest for the night first. The room was very clean and decorated like a cozy bedroom in a home. Had a small fridge, table & chairs, and a flat screen tv. Shower was hot. Breakfast was a large table, self serve, filled with fresh juice, coffee, teas, granolas, cereals, cheese & ham, bread, and a toaster. I would strongly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tranquilo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I strongly recommend Chinchorro Suites if you're staying in Arica. The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are very comfortable, and the courtyard is very pleasant and relaxing. It's a small family-run place, and the owners have always been extremely accommodating and helpful. I've been going to Arica several times a year for business and after trying a few hotels in the city, this is without doubt the best option!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arica hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Samana
Hotel Samana
#6 of 23 in Arica
98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Aruma
Hotel Aruma
#1 of 23 in Arica
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro
Diego de Almagro
#4 of 23 in Arica
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Panamericana Hotel Arica
3.1 mi away
Hotel Apacheta
Hotel Apacheta
#2 of 23 in Arica
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bahia Chinchorro Hotel
Bahia Chinchorro Hotel
#19 of 23 in Arica
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinchorro Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinchorro Suite

Property: Chinchorro Suite
Address: Avenida Luis Beretta Porcel 2948, Arica 1031463, Chile
Region: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinchorro Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chinchorro Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing