We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“teresa_katarzyna Run-down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panamericana Hotel Arica
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“teresa_katarzyna Run-down hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed there for three nights. Five stars please not even one. Like most people we agree decent location. The room was awful; smelly, small, and dirty. Toilet didn’t work, the bedspread were filthy and wooden handmade furniture painted in ugly green,,, brrr,
The staff unfriendly on the first night we asked to be moved my husband left his Panama hat, we have enquire many times only to be told it has been lost. No apology
The restaurant- we had waited 45 minutes for lunch finally we cancelled the order.
Do not recommend this place at all, please stay in different place.

Room Tip: Read the reviews if you have 25% bad review look for something different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa_katarzyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    126
    83
    24
    21
See reviews for
95
96
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

It's easy to miss the hotel sinec it doesn't say "Panamerica" on the sign, just Hotel Arica. Once inside, it's perfectly acceptable, just looking a bit dated. There was a large wedding on one of the nights we were there but the staff coped with dinner well. It's nice to sit by the pool and watch the sea. Three swimming pools including a kids' one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I spent here 2 days, went for business. Service is very well, rooms are a few steps from the beach which is nice, since you hear the sea all the time. Food is very good, people from the city come to the restaurant often. As other travelers say, decoration is old and for sure looks old fashioned. Over all, it is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo_Olguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Very old fashionned hotel in front of the beach. Needs a renovation, breakfast ok, Nice pool, free wifi. Room ok but wet and smelly air condition, all turists of the region come here when coming from Putre.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flavien2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Arica is a small town in Northern Chile, close to the border to Peru. It has a nice pedestrian area in the city with a beautiful small church. Just 2 km far from the city to the south you find the Hotel Arica which is one of the two better ones you can find here. The hotel is in good condition compared to the local standard. Rooms are nice and clean. Mine had a beautiful view to the sea, opening the window during night i could enjoy listening to the waves. The breakfast is very good with fresh fruits, cereals, toast and more. For those who like walking or running in the morning the street passing the hotel to the town is very nice with its broad beach promenade.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the Panamericana and was probably the best option available. Great location near the sea, nice pools and service. If you are a family of 4, suggest one of the villas as opposed to a double room. The service was excellent due to holidays as they had kids activities in the morning and afternoons. It gets quite cool with the sea breeze, but there are some shelters around the pool and bar area. Breakfast was included and was so-so as they served the same thing every day, but lunches varied from BBQ to fixed to al lacarte. The bar was convenient and had a nice selection of cocktails. Beach is very close and a few other restaurants within walking distance - actually, only about 20mins walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Seaside or Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlitos1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quemchi, Los Lagos, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I had booked a cabana for four, thinking it would come with two rooms. Unfortunately upon arrival I found the cabana was one big room with four beds. I wasn't at all pleased. Thankful the staff was willing to change our rental to a suit with two rooms and a shared bathroom, thus making with week a very nice one.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and restaurants are better. There were often parties at night out by the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuemchiNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arica hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aruma
Hotel Aruma
#1 of 23 in Arica
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apacheta
Hotel Apacheta
#2 of 23 in Arica
105 reviews
3.0 mi away
Diego de Almagro
Diego de Almagro
#4 of 23 in Arica
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Samana
Hotel Samana
#6 of 23 in Arica
98 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chinchorro Suite
Chinchorro Suite
#7 of 23 in Arica
75 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Beltran
Hotel Casa Beltran
#5 of 23 in Arica
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hotel Arica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hotel Arica

Property: Panamericana Hotel Arica
Address: Avenida Comandante San Martin 599, Arica 1001708, Chile
Region: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panamericana Hotel Arica 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panamericana Hotel Arica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arica Panamericana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing