We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiter and Waitress need training” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Concepcion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ibis Concepcion
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Concepcion
Concepcion, Chile
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Waiter and Waitress need training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I've been going to have lunch every day for some weeks, due our company has an agreement with Ibis food area.

The food is good, but there is no always an alternative por vegetarias.

The fish is not good. It should be better since Concepción is a good area to get fresh and different kinds of fish.

There is no fresh fruit every day as an option for elaborated desserts.

There is no natural lemon for salads every day. Salads are fair enough.

I asked the waiter for an extra water glass and the anser was "No, there is only one glass of water included within the agreement". Waiters and Waitresses must never answer that to a client, even if there is a direct agreement between companies. They need to be kind and give you options. And please!, we are talking about water! They need client serving lessons.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis C, General Manager at Ibis Concepcion, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Luis

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at ibis Concepción. I saw the comment that you left in our book at the front desk, that very same day the service staff and myself had a briefing about what happened. We touched base in a few points about the service en general and your particular situation as well. I totally empathize with you and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope to improve in order to meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    328
    113
    32
    9
See reviews for
96
190
54
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel is clean and the rooms were very well priced for the services offered. The rooms were much more spacious than I anticipated, and there was even an air conditiioner! We were there for a family trip, and while my husband was at work, I wanted to explore the town. Even though my Spanish was limited, the Receptionist staff was very friendly, and provided me with helpful information about transportation, which buses and "colectivos" to take, and a map for the area. We had one meal at the restaurant- dinner- which was excellent and well priced. My husband travels a lot to this area for work, and with the convienence of being so close to the airport, and our wonderful experience there- we'll be returning for sure! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Awful service. Super slow for everything. No, zero English. The telephonist consistently hung up when confronted with English. Dinner service hopelessly understaffed.

Food reasonable. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis C, General Manager at Ibis Concepcion, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Robet,

Thank you very much for your comments about your experience at our Hotel. Let me tell you that the language is a concern that we are already taking care of by sending our staff to one of the English Institutes here in Concepcion.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I hope that when you give us the opportunity to serve you again your perception will be different.

Please be sure that big efforts are being made to better serve international guest like you

Best regards.

Mauricio Bolivar
Ibis Concepcion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

An almost brand new hotel. Only 2 years old, as I was told by the receptionist. WIFI Works both in room and lobby, but you have to re-program it every time your turn off your PC. Very nice room with one English speaking TV (BBCWorld News). Airco system Works functions perfectly well. They also have na inroom safe. Good shower and clean bathroom.

Several time the lift did not work because you have to introduce your plastic room-ard every time you go up. Another room-card was programmed and again it did not work. The receptionist then had to come with me to the 9th floor to open my door.

Breakfast-buffet is well furnished. However, for dinner the restaurant is another story. I had a glass of red Chilean Malbec wine as per IBIS promotion. When I wanted a second glass, the waiter returned with an almost empty bottle and filled only a third of my glass. When I remarked this he went for another bottle, but that must have been the last. He thus proposed a different red Chilan wine , but suggested that I should buy a whole bottle, seeing that the promotion no longer was valid. I then said that I would like to speak to the manager. 3 minutes later the waiter returned without the manager, but with another half bottle of a different red Chilean wine and proposed as per promotion another glass, which I accepted. After that I had a nice fresh salad to be followed by an omelete with French fried potatoes for a main dish. The French fried (chips), however, did not have much taste and the omelete was ... liquid and simply inedible. So were the scrambled eggs the following morning for breakfast. Bread, whenever you eat it,morning or evening, is Always stale. Out of 5 proposed desserts there was only one available on three consecutive evenings.

Upon arrival of my 5 night stay, I was told by the receptionist that breakfast is served until midday, which I found unbelievable. After three days of stay I arrived at 10h30, however, the breafast buffet had already disappeared when I decided to leave after 4 days of a planned 5 night stay.

The receptionist’s English was acceptable, but there was no one in the restaurant speaking English or French. Whereas I liked the room, the food was quite disappointing for a French hotel group, even though it is ‘only’ a budget hotel.

Room Tip: rooms are all alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedrichwelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

It is a classic Ibis hotel: Nice rooms, good facilities, and standard service. As long as you have no problems or special requests the staff is able to handle everything very professional and friendly. Just don't try to clarify any details about your online booking (happened in Spanish, but I guess it doesn't matter), as it might be a better idea to handle these issues directly with the Ibis HO. The location is at an intersection but, therefore, you do not need to drive around the city to find it. The mall on the other side of the hotel offers everything you might need.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel is the classic Ibis. Service is not bad but is not relevant, in fact, at check in they were quite arrogant.
The room seems to be clean but when I looked behind the door, there was a lot of dust. I told the cleaning lady and she inmediately cleaned it.
Breakfast is buffet but not very copious.
The hotel is relatively close to the airport but far from the city center. Taxis are easily available and just in front of the hotel there is a hugh shopping mall.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the shopping mall. The traffic there is very heavy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concepcion hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Concepcion
0.4 mi away
Radisson Petra Concepcion
Radisson Petra Concepcion
#1 of 19 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#17 of 19 in Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel HD
Hotel HD
#6 of 19 in Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Concepcion
Hotel Concepcion
#18 of 19 in Concepcion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.5 mi away
El Araucano
El Araucano
#7 of 19 in Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Concepcion

Property: Ibis Concepcion
Address: Avenida San Andres 37 | Lomas de San Andrees, Concepcion 4090205 , Chile
Region: Chile > Biobio Region > Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Concepcion 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing