We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diego de Almagro Concepcion
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights... this is what I found...

1.) being on a divided highway, it was a little difficult to get to if you are on the wrong side of the highway. By the way, Google Maps has them in the wrong place... if you use Google maps, you will end up at the mall!

2.) Internet is pretty slow... I complained at the front desk and found their responses a bit cold.

3.) Comfortable beds, good AC/Heat control, great water pressure and heat in the showers.

4.) Excellent in-house restaurant (Restaurante Bio Bio). The breakfasts are good, and the dinners are excellent... they have a "menú" or combo special, which is a bit pricey at $12.000 CLP ($24 US) but the food is very good. I had the fish on 2 occasions, salmon and then corvina (or what we called Drum)... and both were top-notch!

5.) They bill our company direct, so that is nice. The price we pay per night here is around $50.000 clp or $100 US.

6.) Elevators are fast.

7.) No bellboy... so you will have to carry your own bags to the room.

8.) Ample parking either outside or in their underground parking, both of which are no-charge.

9.) Rooms are clean, large, and fairly quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside, away from the highway, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    106
    44
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
26
7
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have used the hotel chain in other cities in Chile and I find this one falls a little lower in standard than the rest. First off, you wont have someone help take your bag to the room when you arrive. I stayed for five days on a business trip and was less than impressed by the service.

The room wasn't cleaned until after my second night. Perhaps this was because I stayed in longer after the first night and didn't want to be disturbed. Very few people speak or understand english. The additional services like restaurant and laundry close for business at an earlier time than advertised on the information sheet in the rooms. The restaurant staff do not know how to talk to customer. I was once asked by a staff to come back down to pick up my food after I had ordered it to be brought up to the room. It seemed like they decide to close when they want. I found this strange. The internet can be slow for the most part. The buffet breakfast choices were limited, the air conditioner couldnt cool the room.

I hope they improve the quality of service because I liked the chain in other locations and it is normally my first choice. However, I will do well to avoid this hotel when next I visit Concepcion which will be soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spillhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel in Concepcion has been my regular hotel over serveral years when now visting in the Bio-Bio area. The rooms are of good size and quality, the staff can manage with english and breakfast is just ok for me...what else can you ask for ? I have stayed here maybe 20 stays, 40 nights and always there has been space for a car in the underground garage which is also a big plus for a hotel in Chile. The restaurant downstairs is also ok, although not so comfy since it's the same place where the complimentary breakfast is served. There are quite many restaurants nearby, if you do not want to eat in the hotel. As I am a Finn, the Finnish sauna and a heated pool downstairs is also a great to have in a hotel while traveling...

Room Tip: There are some corner rooms at least at the upper floors that are just huge, might be worth asking ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hessuConcepcionChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Lazare-de-Bellechasse, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have stayed in hotel many times for business travel over years. It is good place to stay, though a little bit complicated to arrive by car. Also stayed lately at the other DA hotel closer to the airport. A new hotel, also good, but for car arrival it is again bit complicated from on e direction and no services within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
371 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times. It offers a great location near the center of town and a block from a lovely park at the foot of a hill, also near the Bio-Bio river. The rooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed - not luxury, but certainly very comfortable. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is not huge but is quite nice, offering a good variety of breads, pastries, cereals, fruit, yogurt and drinks, and the restaurant personnel are very nice and accommodating. WiFi Internet is fairly good, though the speed and reliability does depend a bit on which floor and room you are in. They do have routers servicing individual floors, and it has worked out fine for us. The hotel also offers an indoor, heated swimming pool.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are quite spacious, and it is nice to have a room on a higher floor facing South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We turned up on Christmas Day, with no reservations. The staff couldn't do enough to help us. We were shown rooms & the swimming pool before we were expected to commit to anything. We were able to discuss rates & found the manager to be very fair in his dealings with us.Staff made an effort to speak English as our Spanish is not great. Our room was spacious & clean. The en-suite was clean & good products left for our use. Breakfast was plentiful & the swimming pool wonderful.The location is good - walking distance to town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

the hotel chain "diego de almagro" is like the equivalent of a "holliday inn" in the states.
Breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaViajeraSolitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concepcion hotels
2.9 mi away
Ibis Concepcion
Ibis Concepcion
#4 of 19 in Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Petra Concepcion
Radisson Petra Concepcion
#1 of 19 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Araucano
El Araucano
#7 of 19 in Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atton Concepcion
Atton Concepcion
#2 of 19 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Concepcion
0.3 mi away
Hotel HD
Hotel HD
#6 of 19 in Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diego de Almagro Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diego de Almagro Concepcion

Property: Hotel Diego de Almagro Concepcion
Address: Chacabuco 156, Concepcion 4050030, Chile
Region: Chile > Biobio Region > Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diego de Almagro Concepcion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diego de Almagro Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing