We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Iquique
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Iquique
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service could improve”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I agree with most reviews for the most part. The hotel is modern, and up to modern day standards but service is dicey, as is always the risk in Chile. We returned to our room last night and found our room door ajar (open). Luckily our possessions appeared to all be where we left them. I immediately called the front desk to report and the phone rang for probably two minutes, I retried several more times, and stormed down to the front desk, where I found no one around. I started asking around and a cleaning staff went to the back to bring out the front desk attendant who was apparently busy eating her dinner as she was still chewing food. I reported the event and asked why the phone was not being answered and she explained she didn't hear any phone calls. Regarding the room, not even an apology. They explained that if we had lost something they could call the police, but otherwise nothing they could do. I also took the opportunity to complain about some coffee drips not wiped up on our bathroom counter where we had prepared coffee in the morning, and she committed to have it cleaned up. I asked for a manager and was told one was not available but that there would be one coming in later. When we returned later, we met a young man who had the same attitude, not even a apology, and no manager. Well enough whining, they could have at least shown some sincere worry about leaving our possessions exposed, but nothing. To add final insult, we learned that the little pack of coffee for the in room coffee machine only comes on the first night, and you have buy them after the first pack. I asked to buy some and was told the shop was closed, but that I could buy some the next day when I was scheduled to check out. Frustrating.

Room Tip: City view side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ken,
Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.
We are very sorry for the inconveniences mentioned and the service you received from our front desk staff. Your experience does not reflect the way we normally try to take care of our guests.

We are reviewing all the facts with the staff involved to correct whatever is necessary and prevent this from happening again.

Thank you very much again for your feedback and I am at your disposal.

Best Regards

Matias Sauvalle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    228
    82
    16
    6
See reviews for
149
159
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Well, we loved iquique and the Holiday Inn. Unfortunately, we were there during the earthquake on April 1. The rooms are great, hot showers, pool, gym, and strong wifi. What stands out for us though is the calm and helpful staff during and after the earthquake. They were helpful in extending our stay. Making sure we had enough to eat and drink (both were increasingly scarce in the city) and helping me make phone calls to re-work our south american itinerary because of road closures, etc. At one point when there was a large number of guests sleeping and waiting in the lobby, the staff came around with bags of chocolates for everybody! Such a kind gesture. Thanks so much for helping us during a stressful time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Larry,
Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
It is gratifying for us to receive your comments, as during the emergency all our efforts were focused on maintaining calm and well-being of all our guests.
Fortunately our hotel resist on a perfect manner the earthquake, which allowed us to continue operating normally, with all supplies and services available.
I am proud of the team that I lead, they knew how to contain and manage the emergency the best way possible.

Yours sincerely,

Matias Sauvalle C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

good breakfast....opposite a beautiful beach....(5 mins walk)......very good restaurants.........the water is rather cold.....but if you know yr geography......you expect it.....right on the pacific......we
never eat in a cafeteria........when you are close to restaurants...

Room Tip: ocean view.......if you spend yr time in the room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argouzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great feedback provided. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff.
I hope you can visit us again in your next trip to Iquique.

Best regards,

Matias Sauvalle C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The room was great, with a very nice ocean view. Kind sized bed was in mint condition.
The staff was very friendly and attentive.
Breakfast was awesome with plenty different stuff to choose from.
Couple of things could have been better:
1.- the cafeteria didn't have a wide variety of food options, in case you want to have lunch by the pool or stay in for a while.
2.- the hot tub was not dealt enough - don't even think of reaching down near the filter or you'll come up with lots of tangles hairs between your fingers! Disgusting!
3.- Spelling! Lots of spelling mistakes in signs. Couple of grammatical, too. You would think they had the resources to hire an English speaking person if they are going to write signs in English...


All in all, I would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cristian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments; they help us to improve every day.
It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us was good, we will work on the details that you've mentioned.
I will share your comments with my team.

Best regards

Matias Sauvalle C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Good hotel, no surprises, excellent breakfast. Across the street from a very nice beach. The only slight disappointment is that water at Brava beach is too cold and too wild for swimming. Pay extra for the beach view! Vendors along the beach in the evening… mostly junk. Definitely go to the Zufry Duty Free Mall when you're in town!

Room Tip: If you get a ocean view, get a higher floor since the street vendors at night are noisy, but not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate very much your comments about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our location. I will share all your comments with my Team

It would be a pleasure for us to have you back.

Cordially yours,

Matias Sauvalle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Upon entering the hotel, you immediately feel as if you are in a decent place. The hotel is modern, with a big lobby and lounge area which leads out onto the pool area. We were given an ocean view room - spacious and well-appointed with a decent bed, writing desk and proper WiFi. The bathroom is decent as well - although I am not crazy about having a shower in the bath - if water is so scarce in Iquique, they should not even have installed bath tubs!

Given that the hotel charges in excess of US$100 per night, I expected the air-conditioning to be of better quality. The unit did not work in the room they gave us - they indicated they would fix it, but alas it could not be fixed. After a bit of a battle, they changed our room, but neither here did the air-conditioning function optimally. This resulted in having a very disruptive night of sleep amid the unit switching itself on and off and not really having the desired effect of cooling the room down. I was disappointed about this and expected better.

The other minor discomfort is that the water pressure in the shower is weak and the water temperature changes all the time, so you need to adjust it at the tap while you are having a shower - not nice, in fact annoying.

Breakfast was decent with a varied selection, neatly presented. Pleasant.

Overall, a comfortable experience but the snags that cropped up made me wonder if it would not have been better staying elsewhere. Hopefully better options, especially in relation to value for money exist in Iquique!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nicer, with nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your last stay in Iquique and for share your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your experience does not reflect the way we normally serve our distinguished guests. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had with the proper functioning of the air conditioning equipment, we perform preventive maintenance programs for these equipments during the year, but eventually it could present some unexpected problem.

Thank you very much again for your feedback.

Best Regards

Matias Sauvalle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel accomodation are ok, the personal is too far of standard to attend IHG Rewards members.
I don´t recommend to other live bad experience here.
I loose the point by this stay because in front desk forget to certify my membership.

Room Tip: A/C unit too noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAAR_SCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matias S, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Iquique, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.
We regret that the front desk staff have not delivered the service and information you expected regarding your IHG reward points.
I'm sending you a private message, so we can contact to have more information of your stay and be able to credit the points of your last stay shortly.

Best regards

Matias Sauvalle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquique hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Iquique
2.3 mi away
NH Iquique
NH Iquique
#7 of 22 in Iquique
324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Terrado Arturo Prat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrado Suites
Hotel Terrado Suites
#5 of 22 in Iquique
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spark Iquique
Hotel Spark Iquique
#10 of 22 in Iquique
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Iquique Express
Hotel Iquique Express
#9 of 22 in Iquique
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Iquique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Iquique

Property: Holiday Inn Express Iquique
Address: Avenida Arturo Prat 1690, Iquique 1110437, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Tarapaca Region > Iquique
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Iquique
#5 Business Hotel in Iquique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Iquique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for a hotel in Iquique, Chile, stay at the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Iquique. Excellence in service and high quality standards. With the best location in town the Holiday Inn Express Iquique is in front of the Playa Brava Beach and near the most lively, entertaining , dinning, nightlife area of Iquique. Downtown is only 5 minutes by car. Only a few minutes walking is the Casino of Iquique and 10 minutes by car is the famous Duty Free - Zona Franca area where you can shop & buy at more than 100 shops with tax-free up to USD$ 1.000. The Hotel is in direct access from the Airport (30 minutes). The Holiday Inn Express Iquique offers 100% Free WiFi access as well as free Buffet Breakfast, local Calls (not cellphones) and use of Business Center. We highly recommend to book the Ocean View Room in order to enjoy a wonderful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Iquique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iquique Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing