We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place!”
Review of Yaganhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yaganhouse
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was one of my favorite hostels of all time (which is a lot given that I am traveling to all seven continents!). The facilities are very clean, spacious and have a nice communal area to meet people. The crowd it attracts is a very social, yet respectable crowd. And most of all, the employees bend over backwards to help you with everything from booking activities and bus tickets to lending you a hairdryer so you can dry your socks.

Room Tip: single rooms are extra spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    51
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
94
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I really liked this hostel. It was the second one that we stayed in while visiting Puerto Natales (the first wasn't that good). The whole layout of the hostel is open yet quiet, with lots of windows and natural light. The beds are comfortable with down comforters. The whole place is spotlessly clean. After hiking Torres del Paine, we chose to come back here to stay another 3 days. Great Place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

After being moved by Kawakar after he took offence to me pointing out that I had to do his job and leave someone in at 1am, the delightful people at Yagan took me in. The place is sooooo homely and the staff are nice and friendly. Rooms are nice and showers good. Should have picked this hostel initially and wished I could have stated longer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

nice place, great people....helped us very much in getting transport to El Calafate when there was none left!! Amazing breakfast ......makes a great base when exploring the area of Torres and Los Glaciares. Will be there again on the next trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsquared05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwanau, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

All in all a good hostel with interesting created livingarea. Not all showers are working, and the livingroom can get really cold. Breakfast was good!
It's close to the City center. The storage room would need to be cleaned up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleagle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We ended up staying at Yaganhouse because we booked Tin House but she wasn't open yet for the season - it was a booking website mess up, not hers!

Anyway we arrived and she pointed us to Yaganhouse and I am so glad that she did! We got a great rate and a lovely room. The room we had is the one that comes up as the main photo and it looks exactly as it is in the photo.

The room itself was large enough with a lovely big bathroom.

The hostel has a policy of no shoes in the room area which is great as the floors are lovely and clean! The rooms are cleaned daily and were very clean.

The kitchen is huge and has everything you need to make a lovely meal. The supermarket is literally across the road and a massive fruit and veg store is around the corner.

There is a lovely communal area with an open fire which is lovely and it is a great place to relax and chat to others.

The town itself is small so this is very central but then everything is really!

The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Overall this was a fabulous hostel, clean, well kept and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a downstairs room which was comfy and had a good private bathroom, but the noise is annoying, we could hear some kind of small animal under the house (from under the wooden deck) biting at the wood, people bounding up and down the staircase which is directly overhead, people in the shared bathroom next door and people in the lounge playing thumping music until gone midnight!

Luckily we were only there for one night, we didn't get to sleep until late because of other guests and staff partying and then the other guests that left at 6am woke us up crashing down the stairs.

We went out often in our one day there, to get away from the noise, and each time we came back we had trouble with the key/door; we knocked but the music was too loud and we ended up waiting until other guests came out and opened the door at one point.

The breakfast was a bowl of dry cereal (we had to ask for milk and we were given a pot of boiling milk!?) with bread and eggs.

Just beware that if you are stopping for one or two nights between trips or buses that you might not get much sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLTTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#10 of 90 in Puerto Natales
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pire Mapu Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaganhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaganhouse

Property: Yaganhouse
Address: O'Higgins 584, Puerto Natales 6124141, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yaganhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hello and welcome to the end of the world' , we will be happy to help you in this adventure...The Yaganhouse property is located in Puerto Natales's downtown, Chile.This new property was opened to provide a safe cozy place for all types of travelers.Aconditioned and disigned for your best confort, relaxation and entertainment for cool travelers...We believe that a property is not just for sleeping but for having an unforgetable stay, for that we have comfy new beds, with new mattresses, sheets and blankets, new bathrooms, heating in the rooms, equipted kitchen our delicious breakfast will be the only reason you'll want to be out of bed in the morning.We have made a space for you to meet other travelers in our bar and cozy places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Yaganhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaganhouse Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing