We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner to round off the W trek”
Review of Afrigonia

Afrigonia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: African, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Copacabana, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner to round off the W trek”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went here on the night we returned from the W trek. While pricey, Afrigonia has lovely food and fantastic service and beautiful presentation and a standout in Puerto Natales. My salmon ceviche was amazing, as was the mango sour aperitif! A must for anyone who wants a real treat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maggie_os_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    145
    43
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Slightly unbalanced fusion”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The notion of an African-Patagonian fusion restaurant was odd enough to have us beating a path to the door, encouraged by the word that it was also the best restaurant in town.

We ate well, but wondered about the fusion description. My wife, keen to add some of the local seafood to her list, wanted king crab; she had it prepared in three ways on one plate – a small soufflé, a dollop of mousse, and a length of leg meat atop some slices of smoked salmon, all this with the little squiggles and pools of sauce (I would say jus if I were that sort of person) that characterise any cuisine with pretensions nowadays. I kept pace with a chunk of tuna, barely seared but tender. Some rather dull potatoes came with her meal; I did better with wali, a dish of rice with raisins and almonds with a mild curry flavour. That apart, nothing about the meal shouted ‘Africa’ at me. We drank a bottle of halfway decent sparkling demi-sec; the amiable waiter came across with a joky selection box which he offered to us to choose from, but it contained nothing more than sweeties.

Staff: pleasant. Décor: forgotten it already. Best in town? Couldn't say, for we only tried one other.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Woah!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had been told to dine here while in the town. Warned it was pricy, but well worth it. We chose to dine here our first night, celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. Ceviche was best I've had. My husband, not a fan of onions even ate quite a bit. (It's quite onion-y.) When in Patagonia you eat lamb, yes? So we've had it in all the towns we've visited & this by far was the most tasty. The Salmon was delish. The salad, a salad, nothing out of the ordinary, but presentation was artful, the steamed veggies were pretty too. The wine selection leaves much to be desired, but we have discovered that everywhere on the Chilean side of Patagonia. Wine on the Argentina side -- great. For dessert we had homemade Amarula ice cream & the staff gave us a dessert drink for an anniversary gift. Very thoughtful.
And maybe we went the night after to try the prawn & scallop curry. (Fantastic as well.)
AND maybe we plan one more dinner there before we leave Chile. After-all, have 2 more entrées to try.
Afrigonia, this Liberian & American couple gives you a 5 star all around. Grateful for the meals shared with you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tri_Travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great W Circuit Celebration Dinner”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here the night we finished the W circuit in Torres del Paine - it's the perfect place for a splurge meal after 5 days of eating soup and nuts on the trail. Diego was our server - super nice guy - and he recommended all the best plates to get (salmon mango ceviche and the king crab smoked salmon appetizers, and the rack of lamb main dish). We both agreed it was one of the best meals we've ever had! Also the ambiance was killer. Make it a priority.

Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Service could be more attentive”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The crab trilogy starter was excellent as were the scallops. Lamb (of course) both as chops and in the portwine sauce were delicious. Only let down was the feeling that staff were rushing through the meal; when we asked to relax a few minutes before selecting dessert it was very difficult to catch the waiter's eye in order to place the order.

Cost is on a par with similar restaurants in Santiago so was not cheap but the food was tasty!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afrigonia also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Afrigonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing