We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but far from the center”
Review of Hostal Arkya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Arkya
Ranked #14 of 47 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice place, but far from the center”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a family business, the family, this hostel and one in the city center, with inexpensive Dormia for backpackers. Hostess friendly, all very home-like. Clean.
Nice breakfast, as if at home))
The last house on the Manuel Bulnes street, from the center to go far. The rooms are small, the night noise of cars.
Husband of the mistress - the owner of the tourist office, which in the same house where the second hostel. He helped me greatly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderShcerbakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
32
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

IN Pto Natales we statyed in a large private room in the ground floor. It was noisy because of the wooden construction of the house - so every morning by 6:30 we started hearing the people upstairs walking... Not nice to wake up this way... The room was Ok, clean bed, clean bedroom, clean bathroom, wifi, tv with channels in English - good overall room.

The Hostel is not in the city center but 10-15 minutes walk from it. The exterior is quiet - not many cars passing by and not many people walking around it.

The family was very friendly and tried to help us on our needs on where to eat, things to do and so on.

The breakfast was OK minus. Toast, ham, cheese, yogurt, cereal and that was it. Other places offered fruits, and more variety...

The price was expensive considering what we were getting but Pto Natales is expensive so it was an OK price for the city but not OK compared to other places.

Room Tip: Rooms in the ground floor are noisy because of the wooden interior of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The staff are all wonderful. It is a family run place and they go out of their way to help you. Not really a hostel. It is a B&B. Breakfast is good (better than what we have gotten so far in Chile). 10 min walk downtown. Quiet also.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in the ensuite doubleroom, which was located next to the living room. Quite noisy, also because of the wooden interior. Our room was ok, with a big bed, tv with many channels, nice bathroom and wifi. Very clean. The owners picked us up from the busstation. Despite the language barrier they were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located a 15 minute walk from the citycenter in a quiet part of town. Breakfast in the morning is basic but ok. Puerto Natales is a quite expensive place to sleep, and Arkya isn't cheap either, but it's a fair option.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The good: very confortable room, very kind hosts, quiet surroundings.
The not so good: they refused to respect the rate they had quoted me over the phone, which was about 35% less than what they charged me.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryBalzary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Ok, this is actually a home of a couple, where they rent their rooms for guests in Peurto Natales.
The lady is a teacher at school and the man is actually a tourism professional, he has a tourist office in the city as well as a backpackers hostel. He knows everything about how to manage in Puerto Natales- all the arrangements for Torres Del Paine. He was the most helpful person I met along a trip of three weeks, he helped me to arrange bus transfers, trip schedule, trek equipment renting, provided free transfer from and to the bus terminal. Jose was just great to me, and I can't thank Jose and Blanca enough for all their help in Puerto Natales. The room I stayed in was single room with shared bathroom, but the feeling of being home, and the assitance was so worth it! The only obstacle you might encouter is that the couple doesn't speak English, but if you know a bit of Spanish you would manage.

Room Tip: I think that the private double room is the best one in this home, but it cost twice of the single r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

You are served by the owners in their own house. They are always ready to help and make yourself feel like home. Hostel prices with hotel like service and accomodation. Great choice for those traveling on a budget

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prossbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.9 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#18 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#10 of 90 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal San Agustin
Hostal San Agustin
#22 of 90 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
#4 of 47 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Arkya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Arkya

Property: Hostal Arkya
Address: Manuel Bulnes 1494, Puerto Natales 616000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Arkya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasing familiar environment, attended by his own owners. 5 blocks from downtown. Included breakfastc entral heating in all the rooms. pleasing familiar environment, attended by its own owners.5 blocks from downtown.Included breakfastcentral heating in all the rooms. Free movements from bus station to our Hostel. Free movements inside the cityFree WI-FIAgency of Tourism "CARFRAN PATAGONIA " inside same Hotel, we realize trips with our own buses. (Reservation of passages, navigations, excursions and ticket to Towers of the Paine and Caulker, horseback ridings etc.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Arkya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Arkya Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing