We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest and good service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erratic Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erratic Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honest and good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Erratic Rock on or way into the park from Punta Arenas. After being a bit turned around at the bus station in the wind and rain, we found the right street and walked in. Right away we were welcomed in the warm living room where some relaxed cats were napping and a fire was keeping things toasty! Bill greeted us and gave us the rundown on our room, the kitchen, breakfast and all. We walked next door to Base Camp (run by bill's brother) where they give advice about going into the park and rent/sell supplies. Since we stayed at the hostel we got our questions answered outside of the regular "three o'clock talk" time. We got good recommendations on where to grocery shop and get needed services. The location is central and has a nice park across the street where tents can be tested if needed. We had a good night sleep, room was warm and showers were too! In the morning we had to leave early for the bus. When we down to breakfast at 6:30, Bill was there with coffee, water for tea, yogurt, cereal, bread and made us omelettes. He asked us to strip the bed when we were done and saw us off. If i were coming to Puerto Natales again, this is where i would stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
50
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I spent 3 nights prior to the W-Trek and I loved it so much that I stayed another 4 nights after the trek ;-) Bill, Julie, Ruth and the rest of the staff are so incredibly lovely and helpful, they always made you feel like part of a big family :-) the rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds, the common area feels like your home living room, it's always warm in the house (you really learn to appreciate that after some cold days and nights in Patagonia!), the breakfast is indescribably delicious with homemade bread and peanut butter, omelette, yoghurt, just everything you want! The kitchen is extremely well equipped in case you want to cook. And it's a perfect spot to team up with other travelers to do the W-Trek, especially during the daily info session in the Base Camp right next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotraveler-f-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My stay at Erratic Rock was amazing from start to finish. When we arrived, the owners were friendly and immediately made us feel at home. They went out of their way to make us comfortable the whole time we were there. Next door, they provide an information session everyday on backpacking in Los Torres del Paine National Park, which was extremely helpful and provided great tips for the park. We also rented our gear there, which served us well the 6 days we camped in the park. The atmosphere was relaxing and they had tons of movies you could watch. The breakfast was also great before a day of hiking with omelets, homemade bread and peanut butter, yogurt, cereal, and real coffee. The place was environmentally conscious with compost, recycling, reusable bags for shopping, and bins to share unused fuel or food with future guests. Erratic Rock was also a great spot to return after backpacking in the park. It was perfect to unwind and have some bears next door in the affiliated bar, Base Camp. We didn't want to leave this wonderful hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlannaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed at Erratic Rock two nights before my trek into Torres del Paine and two nights after and they were all amazing. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly! They were able to help us with all our questions about the park. They set up a wonderful breakfast that makes you feel as though you are in a friends kitchen. The hostel is cozy and inviting and it offers a great slection of classic vhs movies for ta relaxing night in! It is hands down my favorite hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Every one staying here is either going or just returning from the w trek / circuit so it is a great place to meet people and Bill (the amazing, larger than life owner) will set you up with a hearty breakfast early in the morning to keep you going. The place is warm and welcoming and they can store bags whist you are off in the wilderness. The rooms as a little small and hot water is not 24 hours but is there when you need it. Base camp next door does a free orientation talk at 3 every day. We'll worth it if you intend doing either the w or the circuit. They also here gear. Oh and the pizza as yummy too and something to look forward to after 4 nights of camp dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The staff at Erratic Rock is amazingly helpful and fun to chat with while you're having a beer at the bar. We stayed at Tin House and the staff there knew all the Erratic Rock people and advised us to go to the information seminar for the Torres del Paine trek we were going to do. They had excellent advice since there are a lot of factors into how you get into the park and the bus transfers, etc. In fact, they were the ones who advised we do the pre-sunrise hike up to the viewpoint of the Torres and watch the sunrise there and that is where my now-husband proposed to me! (Our trip was actually March 2012, but I have been meaning to write these reviews and I cannot select that date).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinPatch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Ok, where do I start with this place. First of all it's very central. Everything you could possibly need is within walking distance.
It's your home away from home with friendly staff, comfortable beds, chill out areas and a shelf full of VCR's offering the creme de la creme of 90's films!
The breakfast is AMAZING and the beds are some of the most comfy I've come across in a hostel (very important after 5 days of hiking) the thing I liked most about this place is how warm and cosy it is. The fires are always burning and it's the perfect place to base yourself before and after conquering Torres del Paine. The daily talks they give about the possible treks are invaluble. They cover everything and anything you may require. Equipment hire was reasonable and suitable.
Would recommend to anyone making a stop in Puerto Natales.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.9 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 48 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#9 of 89 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domos House Patagonia
Domos House Patagonia
#12 of 89 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erratic Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erratic Rock

Property: Erratic Rock
Address: Baquedano 719, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing