We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel for before Torres Del Paine W trek”
Review of Erratic Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erratic Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is perfect to stay in if you are going on the W trek or Circuit as they are very informative and have everything close to you to prepare you for camping and hiking. Every day at 3pm the hostel next door, Base camp, has a talk to help you on your Torres experience and they also rent out equipment.
The breakfast is fantastic and is all home made and yummy. The hostel gives you your own towel which is luxury for any hostel goer and especially before or after camping for days.
It's so cosy and they have lots of movies to watch to chill out or go next door to the bar and watch a band etc.
I would happily live there for a while it's that cosy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChloeMaySideserf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

When I entered I was struck by the friendly and relaxed attitude. The breakfast was amazing - a good start to hike the Torres. The hostel isn't the cheapest you can find in Puerto Natales, but is well worth the money. Furthermore is a perfect place to make friends for the hike or get some advice from people coming back. Don't miss the bar and the talk!!! The only bad things are unreliable hot water and slow wifi.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Freijaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Through my work we used this hostel for a group of 16-18year olds from Canada in March. They loved the hostal atmosphere and vibe. We had a problem on the return after trekking Torres del Paine as the hostal had made an error on dates and double booked the group (despite us having paid in advance) so they didnt have space for us, but the owner Bill dealt with it well and tried to find the best solution possible as quickly as possible. Eventually our group was put into a hotel nearby at no extra cost and the group were happy as this was actually an upgrade. Despite this inconvenience, I would definately work with Erratic Rock again and recomend it if you are looking for a chilled out and friendly hostal vibe, oh and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieReddingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in Erratic rock for 3 nights in total - 2 nights in a dorm before doing the W trek and one night in the mini double afterwards.
Pros - really really friendly staff.
- fantastic breakfast - eggs, yoghurt, homemade bread and real coffee
- the free trek info talk at the adjoining and associated Base Camp
- free luggage storage while you go into the park
- nice sociable areas to meet other travellers

Cons - the bathrooms got really dirty and horrible; while we were there there was only 1 toilet for a floor of around 20 people, which I'm sure didn't help, but once daily cleaning just wasn't enough
- the showers were terrible - no water pressure and no temperature control
- the mini 'double', is absolutely tiny, the bed is slightly larger than a single and it was the worst night sleep we'd both had during our whole trip. The larger double looked great but the room we stayed in shouldn't even be advertised for two people

Room Tip: Avoid the mini double unless travelling alone. There is also a dorm room nicknamed 'the cave'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGnJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We were given a really friendly welcome and the common rooms were really warm and cozy.  

We booked the mini double which I wouldn't recommend. It's basically a tiny room with a slightly larger than average single bed pushed up against the wall - my partner and I almost had to sleep on top of each other! It was really uncomfortable, (perfect if you're on your own tho). It's also next to the bathroom so you get woken up whenever anyone goes there. You also can't really get wifi there.

The normal double room is huge and looks like a nice three star hotel one with a TV, double bed and everything definitely worth the extra cash. The mini double and the normal double rooms are worlds apart!

Breakfast is good, home made bread and peanut butter and dulce de lece, some sort of muesli crossed with cereal and an omelette.

Location is decent - about a ten minute walk from the centre of town where the shops and most restaurants are and ten minutes walk from the bus station.

The shop next door hires out equipment and hosts the 3pm talk about the w trek which is worth going to - anyone can go to it you don't need to be a guest to go.

Would stay here again but would go for the normal double or one of the dorms!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We do not ever stay at hostels being members of the senior set so I was a bit hesitant. But we had booked a private room and that helped. The staff couldn't have been nicer Bill and the 2 Julies made us feel so welcome. Clean room hot showers and great breakfasts. Super value for the money

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SNG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Incredible hostel! The staff was very accommodating and friendly and I had such a good time staying there. On top of an amazing staff, the hostel is really clean and has a delicious breakfast. If I ever go back to Puerto Natales, I will definitely be staying at Erractic Rock, they helped make my trip great. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.6 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#13 of 26 in Puerto Natales
74 reviews
3 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#2 of 107 in Puerto Natales
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#9 of 107 in Puerto Natales
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#2 of 51 in Puerto Natales
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domos House Patagonia
Domos House Patagonia
#12 of 107 in Puerto Natales
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erratic Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erratic Rock

Address: Baquedano 719, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Natales
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing