We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a nice glacier!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turismo 21 de mayo

Turismo 21 de mayo
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Quite a nice glacier!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Took the 21 de Mayo tour (rather than Avansa due to availability). One of the best parts of this trip was meeting the other travelers going to see the glacier. The glacier was a bit remote, the hike was a bit wet, but the guide was good and the lunch was delicious (if a bit late in the day so bring snacks. Pretty pricey though.. For the money, if I could only do one glacier in Patagonia, I would recommend Perito Moreno.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    77
    20
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“kayak amongst the glaciers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

not only are the glaciers amazing by boat but you can kayak right near them and amongst icebergs!! it was amazing. Antares tours was wonderful. Ask for Alexis - he was awesome!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kw33Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, fl
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

What an excellent place to visit and see two glaciers. Our tour company chose the boat company "Turismo 21 de Mayo" to take us there. The crew went out of their way to make us feel confortable in every way.

On the way back we stopped for lunch at a ranch, in the middle of the ride. The food was great, if you like lamb! I don't know, if there was another choice. The vegetarians of our group were served an omelet..

It is summer here, this means It is cold and very windy. It rains at times, and stops as quick.
You should bring a good water proof coat, gloves, rain hat, and anything you can think to help you stay dry and warm.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank floribel071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice rest after Torres del Paine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We take Agunsa boat trip after TdP trekking. It starts from 8am and finishing around 5:30pm after big lunch. They serve snacks twice during sailing. We saw condor, penguin-likes on the way to Glaciers. It continues to small hike to 10 m from Gla ier. Guide given by Ms Ruth was quite professional. She knows what people want to know.
Just before Glacier, we can see far away view of Torres del Paine through river. For me, it was above clouds recollecting trails of the days before.
It was more than the value it priced.
Glaciar itself is not as magnicant as Moreno glaciar. But it has all interesting components.
It was good summary of TdP at comformable seat.

Helpful?
Thank jhchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

You can't leave Puerto Natales without seeing a glacier. We visited Balmaceda and Serrano. It is a very pleasant boat trip. They serve you a glass of whisky (you can take juice or other beverage too (; ) with Balmaceda ice. There was also a typical lunch in a house located on a fiord. They served a roast lamb you just HAVE to try. It's delicious.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank paulabassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turismo 21 de mayo also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Turismo 21 de mayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing