We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Singular Patagonia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Martin Gusinde(Puerto Natales)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natalino Hotel Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costaustralis(Puerto Natales)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Remota(Puerto Natales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Altiplanico Sur(Puerto Natales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weskar Patagonian Lodge(Puerto Natales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bories House Hotel(Puerto Natales)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquaterra(Puerto Natales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel IF Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
709
64
8
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
64
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeat packingcold storageprocessing plantamazing hotelhorseback ridingluxury hotelfull board optionindustrial museumunique experienceindoor outdoor poolentire wallpunta arenasboat triphot soupchillicity tourfood and wine
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I just checked out of the Singular, and already we are planning our return. From the warm welcome at the unique reception area (a glassed-in space in what appears to have been a large barn), to the friendly and helpful staff at the bar and in the dining area, to the great guiding to the base of Las Torres by Rodreigo Munoz, our expectations were exceeded at every turn.

The architecture is unique: an elegant blend of an old industrial site with a stylish and warm feeling hotel. Our room--indeed every room--faces the water and features a full window wall. We were on the 3rd floor which provided an ideal view and privacy. We never once closed the curtains.

I also took advantage of the spa after the hike to Las Torres and had a good massage that fell somewhere between Swedish and deep tissue. It was very relaxing. The waiting area is peaceful, and although it did not appear that there was a secure area to leave belongings or a "locker room" with amenities for showering and changing, there was a small room with a toilet and two showers plus cubbies to set items. Bring your swimsuit, too--the indoor-outdoor pool is not large enough for swimming but is ample for soaking and relaxing in the peaceful spa.

The dining was excellent. The wines delicious. Try the guanaco main dish, the hare appetizer, and the light and fresh green salad.

As another poster noted, it is the same menu for lunch and dinner, but if you take advantage of the excursions that won't be an issue. Our guide carried a satisfying gourmet lunch (complete with a hot corn/carrot soup) that fueled the trip back down the mountain.

Do stop by the hotel bar to choose excursions and talk to the guides. It's a good place to meet other guests as well. While you are waiting get a glass of wine and the accompanying olives that have been seasoned with local herbs and a touch of honey.

There is a reason Singular is so highly rated. It is a superb experience.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thanks for your terrific feedback.
Our staff works incredibly dilligently at creating a unique guest experience at very turn and we are thrilled your stay reflected just that.
We look forward to having you return to The Singular Patagonia and The Singular Santiago when it opens next year.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

After having to reschedule a trip to Patagonia a year ago because of fires at Torres del Paine, a colleague in Santiago raved about The Singular and recommended that we book it. Our expectations were very high, and The Singular outdid them in almost every way.

The design of the hotel is both unique and flawless. The weaving of the old factory framework and machinery into the fabric of a modern, stylish hotel is unforgettable. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds and floor to ceiling windows overlooking water framed by mountains. It's a breathtaking place.

Like most guests, though, we spent the majority of our time on excursions, which are a real highlight of the Singular experience. The hotel seems to have a greater number and variety of excursions than other all-inclusive options in the region - we did hikes in Torres del Paine and to the Milodon Caves, horseback riding and mountain biking - so there's something for everyone, regardless of interest or activity level desired. The Singular's guides are the best we've encountered. We spent the most time with Lorena - she guided both of our hikes - and we are now spoiled for any other guide, anywhere. Her passion for Patagonia and her incredible knowledge of the flora and fauna in the area made every hike a fun and memorable learning experience.

All of the staff at Singular provide exceptional service. It's the defining impression from our stay. They are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, and every request is met. For instance, during breaks on hikes, the guides make a hot chocolate concoction called a "submarino"' where they dip a small bar of special chocolate in a cup of hot milk. As it dissolves, it creates the best hot chocolate we've ever had. We thought, "we need to buy some of these and bring them home"' but we couldn't find them in any of the grocery or candy stores in Puerto Natales (which we found to be a charming town, with exceptionally friendly people, not "poor and industrial"). We asked one of the front desk staff where they buy the "submarino" chocolate bars. He said he'd find out for us. When we returned from our hike that day, the hotel had prepared two bags filled with the chocolate bars as a gift to us. That's representative of the service you can expect at The Singular. They seem to truly relish the opportunity to make their guests' stays memorable. It's among the best service we've encountered anywhere.

The only part of our experience at The Singular that we felt could be improved upon involved dining at the hotel. The food is generally quite good - what they do, they do well - but the same menu is used for both lunch and dinner, with no changes or daily specials, and no differentiation in the types of dishes available for lunch or dinner. The menu slants heavily toward locally sourced meats and game - guanaco (a relative of the llama), hare, and conger eel are some of the more adventurous options - with the same 4 or 5 side dishes offered each meal. It seemed to always boil down to meat/fish and a vegetable or two, without a lot of interesting seasoning, spice, or flavor on offer. After a few meals at the hotel, we really craved variety and found ourselves going into Puerto Natales to dine "off campus" for a couple of lunches and dinners, despite being "full board" guests. I understand that impressions of food depend on personal taste and are completely subjective, but we noticed a lack of some variety in what was offered.

I am confident that, given the hotel's obvious commitment to exceptional service, the dining experience will evolve and improve. No hotel is utterly perfect, but The Singular comes pretty close.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fllglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for your much appreciated and valuable feedback.
We are thrilled you were able to experience what makes The Singular special and enjoy our variety of expeditions.
Knowing guests stay with us for extended periods of time and often dine with us for all three meals the chef and culinary team are very aware of the need for both quality and diversity in the menu.
We will be sure to share your comments with the Chef and as you say continue to evolve and develop our restaurant experience.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my daughter on an all inclusive package. We were picked up from Punta Arenas airport in a comfortable van and found packed lunches on our seats with a choice of cold drinks available. This sums up the attention to detail and thought that goes into everything at The Singular.
The main buildings at the hotel are a great use of previous industrial premises with large open spaces and a lot of preserved machinery from the early 20th century. The guest rooms are very comfortable with views across the fjord and excellent bathrooms. We felt the food was generally very good (the best we had on our trip but not much experience in top restaurants) and there was a good range of wines included in the inclusive deal. Packed lunches were simple but tasty, not sure if you could request any changes but there was some sandwich trading on some of our trips.

The excursions are good and necessary if you want to get close to the major sites. That being said we had an excellent stroll along roads from the hotel on our first afternoon with excellent views and fewer than 10 vehicles passing in 3 hours. We are reasonably keen walkers and felt the difficulty ratings were fairly conservative except possibly for the hike up to base of the Torres de Paine which was a respectable 19km with a total ascent of around 1150m. The excursions we went on were as described with an occasional surprise that I won't spoil. The guides were young, knowledgable and safety conscious - they definitely added to the trips.

Only negatives - the pool at the spa was too small for any serious swimming and a couple of exercise / gym options might be nice for days when the weather closes right in. On one day (only) the cleaning in one of rooms was rather slapdash. At check-out the staff were very anxious to learn of any negative views.

It is not cheap but given the distances involved (included airport transfers are 250km each way) and the large number of excellent staff I feel it represents good value for that expense.

I hope to find an excuse to go back again (and to find a way of guaranteeing good weather)

Room Tip: All are excellent - not sure if suites worth the extra as rooms are large and you will probably be out most of time.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Thank you for your recent review in Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience staying with us and you were able to discover what makes The Singular special.
We will be sure to share your comments of the pool and gym. This season we have a new service: Stretching, muscle toning and relaxation sessions.

We look forward to your return soon!

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Singular was a stunning hotel nestled in a not-so-stunning area. You still have to drive a couple of hours into Torres del Paine to see glaciers and take in the truly stunning views of Patagonia. That was my main disappointment. I was under the impression once in Puerto Natales, I would arrive in gorgeous Patagonia. Puerto Natales is a very industrial and poor town.

Singular was a stunning resort. We had floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river and mountains in the distance. Boats and ducks cruising by outside my window. The spa was nice. Indoor/outdoor heated pool, spa services, sauna, and steam room shared by all. It was usually packed full of families in the afternoons, so I opted for morning visits.

The food at Singular was great. No complaints. Service was good. Again no complaints. Nothing spectacular, nothing to complain about. However, some of my party thought this was the best food they'd had in South America. I did not agree with this. I've dined much better in Peru and Buenos Aires, but we are entitled to our opinions! Singular meals do not disappoint.

I chose Singular for it's reviews. I can't say that I agree with the 5 star reviews, but not sure where else I could have stayed. I drove through Puerto Natales and it left nothing to be desired. If I ever return to the area, I'll plan to stay further into the Andes mountains, overlooking one the mountain lakes. Or just head on to Antarctica.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you and your group found The Singular to be stunning and seemed to enjoy your stay overall. We are constantly working to improve the guest experience and know that with each day we improve that much more, in large part do to honest feedback from guests like you.
We hope you return to the region soon and decide to stay at The Singular yet again.

The Singular Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

What a fascinating place. You enter and get an odd impression, almost like oh no, this will be a funky arty place, then you go downstairs (funicular available) and it is heaven. You see the old machinery, antiques everyplace, views that I never tired of, great dining options, even a good meeting room. The sleeping rooms are also out of this world and modern but the building blends in architecturally. Beautiful rooms, all with a view of the sea and snow capped mountains. It is a long way to go, but this place makes it well worth the trip. It is spectacular, out of this world. Great service, great attitudes, they try to please.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews