We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time ... with small children!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Singular Patagonia
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had a great time ... with small children!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I echo all of the comments on this hotel. We had an amazing stay and thank the staff for easily accommodating our 3 and 5 year old daughters. They made sure to tailor excursions that our girls could enjoy & did everything they could to make our trip memorable. The food and service were exemplary and the views everywhere we went were unforgettable. I agree about perhaps adding a lunch menu that is different from the dinner menu to introduce variety for everyone. A very comfortable hotel that we will never forget!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLBWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
We are very happy you and your family had such a wonderful time at The Singular Patagonia. The Singular is a family business in the truest sense so we appreciate that you travel with your children. We look forward to welcoming you all back as the kids get older and can take part in more and more adventure!

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    47
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
126
336
31
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel is spectacular - I can see why it has won one many awards and acheived so much acclaim. The architecture and the way it blends historic with new works wonderfully. Its interior design and furniture is a great mixture of modern with traditional. Rooms great, food great, inclusive trips great, spa great but most of all staff and service superb.

if you are coming to Puerto Natales and have the budget and time, this is a must stay hotel. We spent 4 nights in the Torres del Paine park, but were really glad we also had a night here.

A trip option to consider - a great 3 day cruise into the southern fjords and glaciers on the Skorpios III leaves from a pier right next to the hotel - highly reccommended (se my entry).

Also the hotel is part of the BOP alliance - if you stay at 3 of their hotels you get free upgrades and extra benefits - check it out - http://en.bop.travel/. We also stayed at BOP member the Puyuhaupi Lodge and Spa during our trip (see review). We are keeping our eyes out for the Singular opening in Santiagio in late 2013 - we went to the square where it will be based - great location on Lastarria area (this trip we stayed at Lastarria Boutique hotel - see review).

Room Tip: all rooms are great and have large picture windows on to the Last Hope Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so glad you were able to experience staying outside of the Park at The Singular and coming to understand why it is such a special place. We look forward to welcoming you to The Singular Santiago next year!

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel given that the Explora in Torres del Paine was temporarily closed due to the fire in the park. This hotel was fantastic. The rooms were beautiful; ours had a great waterfront view. The food, wine and service were excellent. The day tours included in the price and hosted by the hotel were fantastic. We were still able to get close to the park and go for a hike on the one day that the park was closed, and able to get into a Torres del Paine hiking trip the next day. The kayaking trip was also fun.

Highly recommended hotel if you want to be near but not in Torres del Paine park.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We have just completed a three night, all inclusive, stay at this amazing hotel located just outside of Puerto Natales in Patagonia and were blown away. From the impressive reception area, to the little train to take you down the hill to the hotel, the extraordinary outlook from the picture windows in every room, the amazing design of the converted old part of the hotel comprising the concierge, museum, bar and the two levels of dining room, this place is simply amazing. The rooms are in the new area (three levels of nineteen rooms each) all facing the stunning view over the water with the snow capped mountains behind, and all enjoy this sensational view through what must be at least 7 metre wide windows. Service here is sensational and they work guests out pretty quickly and know exactly what you want before you ask. Plenty of English spoken and all staff are focused on the guests. While it is in a very remote location, it is a place to look for when visiting Patagonia.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for such terrific feedback.
We are thrilled you experienced the true essence of The Singular.
We look forward to your return soon!

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just checked out of the Singular, and already we are planning our return. From the warm welcome at the unique reception area (a glassed-in space in what appears to have been a large barn), to the friendly and helpful staff at the bar and in the dining area, to the great guiding to the base of Las Torres by Rodreigo Munoz, our expectations were exceeded at every turn.

The architecture is unique: an elegant blend of an old industrial site with a stylish and warm feeling hotel. Our room--indeed every room--faces the water and features a full window wall. We were on the 3rd floor which provided an ideal view and privacy. We never once closed the curtains.

I also took advantage of the spa after the hike to Las Torres and had a good massage that fell somewhere between Swedish and deep tissue. It was very relaxing. The waiting area is peaceful, and although it did not appear that there was a secure area to leave belongings or a "locker room" with amenities for showering and changing, there was a small room with a toilet and two showers plus cubbies to set items. Bring your swimsuit, too--the indoor-outdoor pool is not large enough for swimming but is ample for soaking and relaxing in the peaceful spa.

The dining was excellent. The wines delicious. Try the guanaco main dish, the hare appetizer, and the light and fresh green salad.

As another poster noted, it is the same menu for lunch and dinner, but if you take advantage of the excursions that won't be an issue. Our guide carried a satisfying gourmet lunch (complete with a hot corn/carrot soup) that fueled the trip back down the mountain.

Do stop by the hotel bar to choose excursions and talk to the guides. It's a good place to meet other guests as well. While you are waiting get a glass of wine and the accompanying olives that have been seasoned with local herbs and a touch of honey.

There is a reason Singular is so highly rated. It is a superb experience.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thanks for your terrific feedback.
Our staff works incredibly dilligently at creating a unique guest experience at very turn and we are thrilled your stay reflected just that.
We look forward to having you return to The Singular Patagonia and The Singular Santiago when it opens next year.

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

After having to reschedule a trip to Patagonia a year ago because of fires at Torres del Paine, a colleague in Santiago raved about The Singular and recommended that we book it. Our expectations were very high, and The Singular outdid them in almost every way.

The design of the hotel is both unique and flawless. The weaving of the old factory framework and machinery into the fabric of a modern, stylish hotel is unforgettable. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds and floor to ceiling windows overlooking water framed by mountains. It's a breathtaking place.

Like most guests, though, we spent the majority of our time on excursions, which are a real highlight of the Singular experience. The hotel seems to have a greater number and variety of excursions than other all-inclusive options in the region - we did hikes in Torres del Paine and to the Milodon Caves, horseback riding and mountain biking - so there's something for everyone, regardless of interest or activity level desired. The Singular's guides are the best we've encountered. We spent the most time with Lorena - she guided both of our hikes - and we are now spoiled for any other guide, anywhere. Her passion for Patagonia and her incredible knowledge of the flora and fauna in the area made every hike a fun and memorable learning experience.

All of the staff at Singular provide exceptional service. It's the defining impression from our stay. They are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, and every request is met. For instance, during breaks on hikes, the guides make a hot chocolate concoction called a "submarino"' where they dip a small bar of special chocolate in a cup of hot milk. As it dissolves, it creates the best hot chocolate we've ever had. We thought, "we need to buy some of these and bring them home"' but we couldn't find them in any of the grocery or candy stores in Puerto Natales (which we found to be a charming town, with exceptionally friendly people, not "poor and industrial"). We asked one of the front desk staff where they buy the "submarino" chocolate bars. He said he'd find out for us. When we returned from our hike that day, the hotel had prepared two bags filled with the chocolate bars as a gift to us. That's representative of the service you can expect at The Singular. They seem to truly relish the opportunity to make their guests' stays memorable. It's among the best service we've encountered anywhere.

The only part of our experience at The Singular that we felt could be improved upon involved dining at the hotel. The food is generally quite good - what they do, they do well - but the same menu is used for both lunch and dinner, with no changes or daily specials, and no differentiation in the types of dishes available for lunch or dinner. The menu slants heavily toward locally sourced meats and game - guanaco (a relative of the llama), hare, and conger eel are some of the more adventurous options - with the same 4 or 5 side dishes offered each meal. It seemed to always boil down to meat/fish and a vegetable or two, without a lot of interesting seasoning, spice, or flavor on offer. After a few meals at the hotel, we really craved variety and found ourselves going into Puerto Natales to dine "off campus" for a couple of lunches and dinners, despite being "full board" guests. I understand that impressions of food depend on personal taste and are completely subjective, but we noticed a lack of some variety in what was offered.

I am confident that, given the hotel's obvious commitment to exceptional service, the dining experience will evolve and improve. No hotel is utterly perfect, but The Singular comes pretty close.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fllglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your much appreciated and valuable feedback.
We are thrilled you were able to experience what makes The Singular special and enjoy our variety of expeditions.
Knowing guests stay with us for extended periods of time and often dine with us for all three meals the chef and culinary team are very aware of the need for both quality and diversity in the menu.
We will be sure to share your comments with the Chef and as you say continue to evolve and develop our restaurant experience.

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my daughter on an all inclusive package. We were picked up from Punta Arenas airport in a comfortable van and found packed lunches on our seats with a choice of cold drinks available. This sums up the attention to detail and thought that goes into everything at The Singular.
The main buildings at the hotel are a great use of previous industrial premises with large open spaces and a lot of preserved machinery from the early 20th century. The guest rooms are very comfortable with views across the fjord and excellent bathrooms. We felt the food was generally very good (the best we had on our trip but not much experience in top restaurants) and there was a good range of wines included in the inclusive deal. Packed lunches were simple but tasty, not sure if you could request any changes but there was some sandwich trading on some of our trips.

The excursions are good and necessary if you want to get close to the major sites. That being said we had an excellent stroll along roads from the hotel on our first afternoon with excellent views and fewer than 10 vehicles passing in 3 hours. We are reasonably keen walkers and felt the difficulty ratings were fairly conservative except possibly for the hike up to base of the Torres de Paine which was a respectable 19km with a total ascent of around 1150m. The excursions we went on were as described with an occasional surprise that I won't spoil. The guides were young, knowledgable and safety conscious - they definitely added to the trips.

Only negatives - the pool at the spa was too small for any serious swimming and a couple of exercise / gym options might be nice for days when the weather closes right in. On one day (only) the cleaning in one of rooms was rather slapdash. At check-out the staff were very anxious to learn of any negative views.

It is not cheap but given the distances involved (included airport transfers are 250km each way) and the large number of excellent staff I feel it represents good value for that expense.

I hope to find an excuse to go back again (and to find a way of guaranteeing good weather)

Room Tip: All are excellent - not sure if suites worth the extra as rooms are large and you will probably be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your recent review in Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience staying with us and you were able to discover what makes The Singular special.
We will be sure to share your comments of the pool and gym. This season we have a new service: Stretching, muscle toning and relaxation sessions.

We look forward to your return soon!

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.8 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
394 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
20 reviews
2.5 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Singular Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singular Patagonia

Property: The Singular Patagonia
Address: Kilometro Cinco | and Medio Norte, Puerto Bories, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Singular Patagonia 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the surroundings of Puerto Natales, The Singular Patagonia affords guests the opportunity to experience all Chilean Patagonia has to offer - the true Patagonia. From expeditions to nearby glaciers and horseback riding on private ranches to walking tours of historic Puerto Natales and adventurous treks through famed Torres del Paine, The Singular provides guests the full spectrum of extraordinary and beautiful terrain that is Patagonia. Luxury at the end of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Singular Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Singular Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
The Singular Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing