We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent hotel, staff and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Singular Patagonia
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Execellent hotel, staff and experience”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I agree with everything previously said about this hotel. It is truly stunning and a pleasure to spend time.
I have a couple of compliments - to Michelle Mohaupt - the Australian rep who was able to assist with some transport questions.
And to Florence - who took time to book our return bus, booked the taxi and did our flight checkins. She also called around the town for tours we could go on as the weather had blown up for the boat trip we wanted.
In the end we did the full day trip with the hotels tour. The trip was long but the views are spectacular. Not to mention the wind! Lunch was gourmet. Highly recommend this tour.
The meals were great and we are still talking about the fabulous lamb shoulder - the only meal my travelling partner finished.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous but the further along the corridor the more views of the snow covered mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your stay with us, Michelle and Florencia received your complement.
Is glad to know that your experience was excellent, hope we have you back in a near future in patagonia, or in our next hotel in Santiago, The Singular Lastarria , opening this 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    47
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
126
336
30
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Not only is the place stunningly beautiful, it is also unique as it mixes old architecture and elements of the past (buildings, machines, ...) with a new elegant wing for the rooms, on top of an incredible view. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly. You can be certain to catch wonderful smiles as you come across all of them. And the food is just...impossible to resist! At breakfast, among many other delicious offerings, the croissants are as good as the best found in Paris For dinner you might be able to taste juicy tender lamb chops prepared in front of you for a large number of guests (as we had for a large buffet on New years eve). And should you be on a hike for lunch time you will sample the most tasteful sandwiches! The room is comfortable, chic and simple with for main component the view. The bathroom is luxurious with a large tub and a powerful shower. The pool while modest in size is nicely located and even allows for swimming outside. Obviously and for good reasons my husband and I are under the spell!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
The Singular is a mix of history, architecture, comfort, design and quality cuisine, field experiences and spectacular scenery, which take our passengers to live Singular experiences, thanks for taking the time to share your stay with us, we will be waiting for you in your next visist to patagonia or in santiago in The Singular Lastarria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and our travel agent conspire to find at least one memorable and exclusive place to stay on each of our vacations so I am no stranger to 5+ star hotels. Even so, the Singular Patagonia has earned itself a permanent inclusion in my Top Five Worldwide.

Situated a long way from anywhere other than the little fishing and sheep town of Puerto Natales, on our shuttle transfer from Punta Arenas airport I was beginning to think maybe my wife and our agent had made a terrible mistake as the seemingly endless heathland rolled past, with the occasional sorry-looking sheep farm sagging against the wind and rain.

But wait: there's a few guanaco by the road, and there's a caracara, and a huge hare, and there's an Antarctic fox — OK, good wildlife score, and that's just on the drive in. I made it to the hotel prepared to be impressed, and I absolutely was.

The Singular is, as other reviews have already detailed, a fascinating architectural experiment – part excellent hotel, part interesting museum.

It takes considerable imagination to make the story of a steam-age meat-processing factory interesting and with careful integrative design, photography, detailed signage and lighting the Singular succeeds.

Where the Singular also succeeds is in its accommodations. All the rooms feature full height and width triple-glazed windows looking out over the emotive beauty of stormy bay and snow-capped peaks shrouded in clouds. When the sun eventually sets, the palette of grey, blue, white and gold is so memorable.

A free mini-bar, a comfortable armchair and an excellent King-sized bed meant that if we hadn't been in Patagonia for trekking I could have happily spent a few days reading, napping, contemplating the view, and thinking.

Although the hotel was completely full the rooms are as quiet as a recording studio and the carpeted floors are subtly heated so you're further encouraged to remain in your room.

The excursions, spa services, sauna, steam room and pool are as good as I would expect from a 5+ star hotel. We used them all and found them excellent.

While the buffet breakfast was smaller than most 5+ star hotels we didn't really mind as what was offered was of excellent quality including freshly-prepared eggs to order, organic muesli and bircher muesli and the best breads and croissants we've had in all Chile.

The elegant, modern and comfortable restaurant and bar are absolutely top-notch, with the maître d recognising us on every visit, wafting us to our favourite table near the enormous fireplace and rapidly summoning professional waiting staff bearing superbly prepared meals.

With a scruffy but well-behaved 12 year old boy in our party I would have understood if we'd been banished to the farthest, coldest corner but we were all made to feel like valued guests at all times, which we really appreciated.

Scruffy boy and I took the tour of the Mylodon Cave and on the walk learned a great deal about flora and fauna from our enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide.

We left the Singular reluctantly, to stay at another hotel right at the foot of the horns of Torres del Paine, and if you're planning on maximising your time in the park, I would still recommend you do the same.

However, if you have time and budget allows, I must insist you spend a few days before or after your Torres trip at the Singular Patagonia. To find such a high standard of luxury in such a remote location is such a wonderful surprise, it will be just as memorable as anything you see in Torres del Paine.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigyahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Listen there is complicity between your wife and your travel agency to visit 5 star hotels is fantastic, but knowing we have entered its exclusive list of the top 5 is an honor!, means that we are working well, making justice to this magnificent place full of history, architecture and design, that you can see in all areas of the hotel, both in the rooms , in the spa or restaurant
Comments like these help us to continue working with the same enthusiasm and professionalism as before, if you return to Patagonia, a table in our restaurant by the fireplace will be waiting for your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights, on either side of a trek inside the Torres del Paine national park & I loved it. The Singular Bories is wonderfully unique, a luxury hotel tucked inside a historical landmark, a former slaughterhouse that was the wellspring of Puerto Natales' economy before tourism took over. From the outside it still looks exactly like it does in the old black-and-white photos that hang on the walls.

On the inside, it's all kinds of wonderful. The rooms all have huge windows that look out on the Last Hope sound--views of the pier, the water, the mountains. The beds are luxurious, the comforter plush. The slate floors in the bathroom are heated.

The restaurant is in a cavernous, warehouse like space. The furniture is comfortable, wood and jewel-toned fabric. I was completely amazed to discover that the restaurant features a whole vegetarian MENU. I could choose from multiple appetizers & entrees, and the food was delicious (now that I'm home, I can start trying to reproduce the exquisite cold avocado soup I had).

The free areas of the spa are also wonderful--especially at the end of a long hike! A nice sauna, a steam room that gets insanely hot, an aromatherapy room. My favorite was the indoors/outdoors pool. Floating outside while waves ripple across the Sound, exposed to the cool air but warm in the pool water, was pretty great.

The staff was helpful, friendly, never pushy. Good English from everyone we spoke to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
While initially some find unusual to have a luxury hotel inside a former factory, no one leaves with a bad impression, the perfect blend of the ancient, the modern, the decor, comfort, amenities and views make The Singular a unique hotel, where tastes, smells and feelings keep treasured in the memories of our guest and brought back home, that's our biggest win is experience ... and worth the splurge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel with great food and incredible staff. Sabrina and Gonsolo.......truly made our trip very special. We are looking forward to returning in the near future. The hotel's unique And historical architecture is one of a kind!!!!! It was the perfect hotel as our home away from home in this very special part of the world. An over all wonderful experience. I highly recommend it to families and couples visiting Patagonia. The food was incredible......mostly local ingredients..... We ate very well.....great wines!!!! What a wonderful way to bring in the NewYear.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NYCGARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It is an honor for us to hear that you felt like home, Sabrina and Gonzalo will know of your comments, as you very well mentioned this hotel is a mix of history and comfort, together with rooms with fabulous view, big spa and facilities and local food prepared to perfection, make the the Singular a unique place, you can not miss on your visit to Chilean Patagonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Singular is located a few Kms outside of Puerto Natales, in a renovated early 20th century food processing factory overlooking the fiords and mountains. The rooms are new and very modern – with wonderful views. The public rooms were part of the factory, and retain the original architecture. They have maintained much of the original factory as a museum – which was very nicely done and is quite interesting. The service is very good (as expected for a 5 star hotel). The breakfast buffet is quite extensive, and very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
As you mention, The Singular Patagonia is part of the old slaughterhouse Puerto Bories, architecture and machinery have been preserved since the time of operation but the rooms are brand new building with impeccable architecture and design, with great cañal Señoret and mountains views,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is really a magical experience. Arriving is surreal- it took us a few wrong turns to realize it was the hotel, since it is fashioned out of an old industrial complex. It used to be a meat-packing facility, and they have creatively worked the luxury hotel into the meat-packing facility without losing the industrial history. It's fascinating. We entered through something that felt like a long drafty barn and were ushered into an elegant foyer with drinks waiting for us and welcoming staff. To get to either the rooms or the restaurant, you walk through the "museum," where there are plaques about the history of the facility and old machinery.

The restaurant is first class, with excellent meals and drink selection and a large inviting fireplace that we spent a long time sitting around enjoying our martinis. I was very happy with the breakfast as well.

The room was just stunning. A big luxurious bed looking directly out the huge windows onto the fjord. There were comfy reading chairs and clean and well-planned out bathroom and nice decorative touches. Each day we received in our room a small insert with some new history about the hotel.

We found the excursions to be a little pricey- it did seem that many similar excursions were being offered in town for perhaps a quarter of the price of booking with the Singular. Of course, there is something to be said from being escorted directly from the hotel...

We chose to go on the boat ride- we were hoping for sailing but I think that's rarely possible with Patagonian winds. We were going to see the glaciers, but the waves were dangerously high for the hotel's private boat and we were taken instead to an island, where we were guided on interesting trails. The advantage of going with the Singular was the small boat which left right from the back of the hotel, and the intimate experience. We got to know the other 6 or 7 people in our group pretty well. The guide was also very good. They had brought lunch and drinks on board. My friend is vegan and we were very impressed when the hotel had made sure to send vegan lunch on the boat for her. The cooking staff were alerted to her coming, and she never wanted for good food in this place, even on the boat.

Although I did not use the spa services, I did use the indoor/outdoor pool, which was an unforgettable experience. You can swim to the outdoor part and relax in the heated pool while being blown by brisk, cold Patagonia wind. The only problem was it was a bit small. When a gentleman arrived to share the pool, I left because it was just too small for multiple people to swim around.

Great stay, I would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
The Singular Puerto Bories has an exterior that does not speak of luxury and design that you will find inside the rooms, museum, dining room, barand spa pluss magnificent views that you will meet with our tours will take you to Singular experience, that you will be saved as a gift from this awesome patagonia wide and varied landscapes, thanks for choosing us, hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.5 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Singular Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singular Patagonia

Property: The Singular Patagonia
Address: Kilometro Cinco y Medio Norte | Puerto Bories, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Singular Patagonia 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 100 acres lining the Fjord of Last Hope in Puerto Bories, in the surroundings of Puerto Natales, The Singular Patagonia affords guests the opportunity to experience all Chilean Patagonia has to offer - the true Patagonia. From expeditions to nearby glaciers and horseback riding on private ranches to walking tours of historic Puerto Natales and adventurous treks through famed Torres del Paine, The Singular provides guests the full spectrum of extraordinary and beautiful terrain that is Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Singular Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Singular Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
The Singular Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing