We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - you gotta go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Singular Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Singular Patagonia
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great - you gotta go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the new year holidays with my family in 2013/14 for four nights. We had a wonderful time, and I hope we can come again one day.

Service: Outstanding. I feel that we were extremely well looked after, even though the hotel was clearly at capacity. I never felt ignored or marginalized, and that is really hard to do.
The entire hotel was full of a million clones of us (it was surreal, actually). Can you imagine, about 500 well-to-do families overrunning a luxury property? Most of them were from North America, which was also kind of scary because sometimes an American guest can be awesome and sometimes an American guest can be a pain in the patootie. So we had our share of both, but the hotel managed to keep every single one of us happy, which is a major feat, in my eyes.

Hotel: Gorgeous. The rooms are nice and warm (we had some freaky weather while we were there; it was supposed to be the warmest time of year but it was quite cold), and the views of the water from each room are so beautiful, you don't want to leave. Also, I noticed that the walls are fairly thick so you can't hear much from other guests, which is good.
The bathrooms are perfect, nice and European (like Swiss, not like British), so I didn't feel that we had to suffer with sub-par plumbing or cold water or cheap towels. Everything was exactly how you would want it to be.
The public rooms look like steam-punk, and it really works. So achingly cool, but everyone who works there is so, so nice that you can relax and enjoy an AMAZING pisco sour without any attitude being flung around, and I met so many wonderful and friendly people in the bar area - well, actually everywhere.

Spa: Great. It is small, but really you don't need too much, you will be doing other stuff anyway. You just want someone to get the kinks out, and the ladies in the spa are wonderful. They know their business, and when you leave you will feel like a noodle.

The Food: Excellent. I liked it all, and so did my waistline. The only thing that was maybe not so perfect is that there was not really a menu rotation, but that could have been because either it was a holiday seasonal thing, or else because we were so far south. The buffet for new year's eve was really nice, although I am not a fan of a buffet. It was really well done, and the food was delicious. Also, it was more served than "come and get it", so there was less chance of people touching everything, which I find less attractive.
I liked the breakfast menu very much, and the whole atmosphere in the breakfast area. Also, we were remembered, which I found astounding. Out of so many people?! Wow!

The Excursions: Wonderful. They were really interesting, and I felt there was a very nice variety of things to do, or not do. We had an amazing hike which lasted all day, with a guy who was from the other side of the border, in Argentina. He knew the whole area like his hand, and he could walk probably for 100 years and not get tired. He drank cocoa tea out of his special cup and straw, and he had lots of stories, if you cared to ask him. We also visited caves in the area with a guy who was originally from France, but married a Chilean lady and was very enthusiastic about the area. He was learning a lot about his environment, and was very eager to share what he was learning about. We had some pretty bad weather during our trips, but it was not a problem because everyone was so full of excitement about what they were doing, what they were discussing and showing us, that it would be literally impossible not to have a great time, even if it had turned into a blizzard.

Verdict: If you can get there, you should definitely go. There is no way anyone would come away from The Singular disappointed. Say Hi to Mary when you get there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavycat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
No more than THANK for you words, for taking your time to share your Singular experience with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    45
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
119
310
26
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was the most amazing hotel I had the pleasure to be in during my Patagonia trip. I was there for two times, once in the beginning of the trip for a few nights, and one night during my return trip.

The hotel is very tastefully integrated into an old factory complex (victorian style). The rooms all have wonderful view towards the sea and have a comfortable bed, bathroom, etc. The restaurant is large and excellent, both for breakfast as well for dinner. Overall, there is a very friendly staff, also quite capable of english, if that is necessary.

I can't think of anything negative to write. A small point to note might be that vegetarians may find it a bit tough to find meals, but they do find it. Just over the cause of several days, you might get into trouble finding diversity, the kitchen is definitely meat centric.

Room Tip: Although all rooms have the same, beautiful view, the rooms on the ground floor are potentially pron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xindaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
You made the perfect combination, pre-and post visit to the park Torres del Paine, the hotel has all the options for this, a spa with dry sauna, steam room and heated pool at 32 degrees, plus a varied menu of massages, deep tissue, relaxing, anti sress for after treking, you can also leave some of your luggage in our storage and traveling alone with the necessary weight
The restaurant has a varied menu of dishes with meat, fish, pasta and vegetarian accompaniments, an invitation to the taste, thank you for choosing us and share your Singular experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We very recently stayed at the Singular for three nights on the half board package.

This was without a doubt one of the finest hotel stays we have ever experienced.

The Singular is truly unique. Set in picturesque location, the hotel is simultaneously luxurious, rustic and true to its history. The full-length windows in each room frame a tranquil panoramic view of the fjord.

The service was faultless; despite the size of the hotel the service was personal and beyond our expectations. My wife unfortunately arrived at the hotel somewhat ill. After our first night, we decided to go to the local hospital to seek medical help. The hotel staff were exemplary in mitigating a potentially stressful situation.

Neither my wife nor myself speak Spanish – making seeking medical help at a small hospital in Puerto Natales rather daunting. Thankfully, the Singular not only provided transportation, but also sent a Spanish speaking chaperone with us to the hospital, who (being female) stayed with my wife during her consultation and treatment providing much needed support.

I have read some complaints about the excursions, though I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our full-day tour of the tour del Paine. Every evening the helpful excursion guides are on hand to answer any and all your questions about each specific tour – so they should be no surprises on the day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wezoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for commenting on your stay, it was really sad that your wife got sick at the hotel, but also was a happiness see it soon recovered and enjoyed the hotel with all the necessary calm and time you want, enjoying the bar and the fireplace, the wonderful views from the window of the room from wall to wall, we hope to have you here again , or at Santiago at The Singular Lastarria, which opens its doors this winter 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Trip advisor is an odd duck. You can give a full service French restaurant and a coffee house both five stars and have it be legitimate. With that said, The Singular sets the bar at a point that few if any others have or will surpass.

The physical plant is like no other, a hotel within a fascinating museum, designed to reflect and blend with all that is around. The rooms are large, with a stunning view. The bathrooms are sumptuous.

The food is top notch, not for hotel food, but for fine dining anywhere. While we were there, they held a meeting for the top chefs from all of Latin America. There's a reason they chose The Singular.

Most importantly though is that the staff is amazing, always attentive, without being intrusive. As oxymoronic as it will sound, you are fawned over, but without knowing it.

The excursions are wonderful and the guides, especially their group of original guides from the hotel's opening are tops.

My only suggestion is that they figure out the logistics to offer regular excursions deeper into the park. The French Valley is beautiful, but not on the regular "menu." There are many more options for the park that they could explore. They just take more time and thus would necessitate an earlier start. It would require guests to accept a different breakfast experience in exchange for deeper exploration.

I came from Atacama from another "5 Star" where a veteran staffer might have been at the hotel for 2 months. You do not find that at The Singular. As long as they continue to pay their staff well and keep them happy, guests will continue to enjoy what for me has been an unparalleled experience.

I've been fortunate to travel extensively and to stay at many fine establishments. The Singular has moved me like no other.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
It´s only a little more what we can talk about the hotel, the description of your stay speaks a lots will consider your suggestion for excursions, maybe it´s a good alternative for those guest who like to walk and don´t mind getting up early, See you in your next trip to patagonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

When you first arrive at The Singular, you almost feel like you have paid a lot of money to stay at a warehouse. The hotel does not seem very impressive at first, since you arrive to a big warehouse with vans parked in a long row next to a glass-encased reception area. However, just moments later, your "Singular" journey begins as you get on the funicular that takes you to the main reception area. The Singular features a small funicular, just like the ones you find in Valparaiso, Chile, which adds a wonderful touch to your first moments there.

Once you arrive to the main reception area, you are immediately struck by the originality of the place. The Singular used to be a cold storage plant from the early 1900's, owned by a very large company called The Sociedad Explotadora de Tierra del Fuego that had over 3 Million acres of land in Southern Chilean and Argentine Patagonia. Today, this plant has been brilliantly restored into a Luxury 5-Star Hotel. The hotel itself is a museum, so everywhere you go you see parts of the old cold storage plant, including its boilers (which were the exact same boilers used aboard the Titanic!). Be sure to book a tour of the museum if you stay here...Its worth it.

Food is amazing at the hotel and service could not be better. The spa is very nice with amazing views of the fjord. I just wished the massage rooms were a bit darker. Everyone who works here seems to be really happy to be part of the Hotel. Make sure you try the scallops at the restaurant.

And as for the look of the hotel, if you ever make it here you will see that it is hard to understand how such a huge and old place could be turned into a cozy hotel. The social areas are massive, yet between the architect, Pedro Kovacic, and the interior designer, Enrique Concha, they have built a truly 'singular' masterpiece that is well worth visiting.

Room Tip: The corridor for the rooms on each floor is long, so try and choose a room that is close to receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PSchicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
What an excellent summary of the hotel, The Singular is everything you told, only I would add that we have 57 rooms, all overlooking the fjord and mountains and the hotel has an excursions department where you can choose how to learn about and explore this amazing Chilean Patagonia... the rest you know, you described it very well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Singular was an amazing experience in every way. One of the best places that we have stayed in. The architecture and internal decor is outstanding and what is exceptional is the service. For a hotel that is not so small it was amazing that all the staff including the manager, Sabrina, knew what activity we were doing each day and took the trouble to find out how it was going.
The food is also exceptionally good and all the staff in the restaurant were eager to oblige and please.
The massages were a little disappointing.
The excursions were very good and the guides are great. We had Pancho and Mikhael. The day trip to Torres del Paine is a must. We would go back to chile just to stay at Singular!

Room Tip: On one of the higher floors and closer to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
The Singular Patagonia is a perfect mix of arquitecture and design, combined with an excellent quality of service in all areas, live Singular experience is definitely a gift to the senses!!, good that you could live and wanting to be back again!, we will be waiting for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

It s a fóur star hotel very good.
The rooms are large, in front obter sea, the restaurant hasvavgood relation price quality
It hás discounts for people overdose 65 heras and its near the national parque Torres del paine

Room Tip: Ask for An. Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
The Singular Patagonia is the only 5 stars hotel in Puerto Natales, we have 57 rooms, all of them looking to the fyord Last Hope , the restaurant and the spa , also with the same views. This winter we open our second hotel in Santiago, The Singular Lastarria, hope we have you there in your next visit to Chile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.2 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bories House Hotel
Bories House Hotel
#10 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Singular Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singular Patagonia

Property: The Singular Patagonia
Address: Kilometro Cinco y Medio Norte | Puerto Bories, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Singular Patagonia 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 100 acres lining the Fjord of Last Hope in Puerto Bories, in the surroundings of Puerto Natales, The Singular Patagonia affords guests the opportunity to experience all Chilean Patagonia has to offer - the true Patagonia. From expeditions to nearby glaciers and horseback riding on private ranches to walking tours of historic Puerto Natales and adventurous treks through famed Torres del Paine, The Singular provides guests the full spectrum of extraordinary and beautiful terrain that is Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Singular Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Singular Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
The Singular Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing