We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tin House Patagonia
Brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay! ”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here before and after the W trek. They had a free pile of things to borrow for the trek (we got an almost full fuel can!), which was great, and it was also quiet so we could rest afterwards. The people that work here are all very nice and accommodating. Also of note - the laundry is about 8 USD a load, and they did it for us in about 2 hours! This was really nice, as we didn't have to carry our dirty clothes all the way to El Calafate the next day. A great place!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Small hostel with nice rooms and cosy common spaces.
Kitchen is clean and well equipped.
Because it is small place it has nice atmosphere and kitchen is not too crowded.
Place is cold and rooms are chilly.
Big problem is very bad wifi. It is hard to search for next day tours with out wifi.

And one tip: do not buy Torres del Paine tour from them if you don´t speak spanish. Tour is great but you don´t get as much others with english speaking guide. Their "guide" is a taxi driver, not a guide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeKasemets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura_TinHouse, Owner at Tin House Patagonia, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you so much for this honest review!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time in the area.

I wanted to apologize about the bad internet, we have fixed the problem - replacing the broken router - the internet is functioning smoothly again. I am also concerned that you were cold; each room has its own heater and guests are welcome to adjust the temperature of their room or in the common spaces. I am sorry this wasn't made clear to you all.

The tour to Torres del Paine is a completely correct review. The company that we normally work with does not have a guide, but just a driver. It is a bit cheaper and if a guide is desired then a different company would need to be contacted. I am sorry this wasn't made clear to you at the time you signed up for the tour.

Thank you for the review and I hope you have had a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a very comfortable, small hostel in Puerto Natales. The breakfasts were outstanding with yoghurt, eggs available to cook, juice, etc. The kitchen is very spacious. We were able to store our bags there while we did the "W" trek in Torres del Paine. They were helpful and supportive as we were working out a few details regarding our trek and our communication with fantastic sur which has an office within walking distance. This hostel is very close to the bus station.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night after doing TdP. Important to book hostels ahead in this town as showing up on day is not an option for most hostels here. Saw lots of people wandering streets late at night with backpacks trying to find somewhere to sleep and some having to camp in park, not worth the risk.
Very welcoming staff. Great location. Good size breakfast and variety. Very warm cosy feeling here. Only room in hostel for 8 people maximum (dorm and private rooms available) which meant was a great friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Really enjoyed our time here, stayed in hostel nearby before TdP which was no good compared to this one. Top choice!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night and would definitely recommend it. The place was very clean and cosy and the beds were comfy. The kitchen is very clean and organised. Breakfast in the morning was spot on, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. The owner, despite being 8 months pregnant was very helpful and attentive. I really enjoyed my stay here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lollers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hostel is clean and basic but sufficient for tourists here for the Torres Del Paine. The staff is friendly and would offer assistance in any way. You are also welcome to deposit your bag packs while away for treks at national park. The breakfast is good and you may help yourself of the variety of items. Kitchen is well equipped if you want to whip yourself a meal! The location is about 15min walk to bus station and 10min walk to the plaza. But since it's a small town, you should get around pretty easily.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guccified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Very cosy little hostel with a lovely helper to assist you with any queries. Clean rooms, HOT showers, and toilets and wifi. Breakfast is self serviced but free flow. Located about 10min walk from the bus station. Recommended for travelers! Book quick before it gets sold out!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.2 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#3 of 95 in Puerto Natales
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 48 in Puerto Natales
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Nikos II
Hostal Nikos II
#24 of 95 in Puerto Natales
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Arkya
Hostal Arkya
#13 of 48 in Puerto Natales
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin House Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin House Patagonia

Property: Tin House Patagonia
Address: Miraflores 616, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tin House is a small accommodation located in the center of Puerto Natales. We have only 6 beds! Tin house provides a comfortable atmosphere for travelers that need to relax. The house has a kitchen, backyard and living room for use by its clients.Our small property is the perfect place to begin your adventure in Patagonia. Tin house was built in the 1950s, renovated in 2009, and now shares a cozy vibe with all its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tin House Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin House Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing