We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hungry Hiker's Place to Be”
Review of Aldea restaurant

Aldea restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: (Close from May to September 2017 for low season) Aldea Restaurant looks to develop the concept of eating good. Start from the idea of enjoying every moment of the ritual of eating. Mixing local products with flavors of the Mediterranean, trying to keep each product in its original condition, using products of their own garden, trying to make that delicious it is also healthy. The chef interacts with visitors to create the perfect blend of each dish and a good wine. Slow Food.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Hungry Hiker's Place to Be”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the Aldea the night we returned from five days of hiking in Torres del Paine, looking for a decent dinner to end our camping stove diet. What we were given was nothing but a perfect evening. The Chef explained the menu to us personally, in a kind but passionate way. Our main course was an exquisite piece of lamb, but the highlight was definitely hare tartar as a starter, the best single dish I have ever eaten. Go there, and expect delight.

Helpful?
Thank Lutz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    55
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“farewell to patagonia dinner”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

this location served as our farewell dinner during our group trip to Patagonia. it was right across the street from our hostal, so at first i thought we were being jipped into some average rate diner.

how surprised i was to walk into a very cozy and warm bungalow converted to restaurant. it was small inside, but decorated so pleasantly. our server spoke good english and was able to explain all our options comprehensively.

most of my companions ordered a beef or lamb entree. i had a ceviche appetizer (delicious) and a fish entree. the fish was cooked to perfection. the pisco sours were amazing and the deserts we all chose were equally delicious.

i'm sure the price is a bit high, but we had payed during the booking of the tour so i'm not sure the price per person. don't let the front fool you....this place is for real!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trav_eler31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes
Level Contributor
421 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“A gem on the "route de la fine del mondo"”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

To find such a quality in Puerto natales couls seem an incongruity, but finally working with fresh local products is the secret of great adress...
Our local guide here do the reservation for us...
From the moment we pass the door to the end of the diner it has been warmth and delices...
Shrimp in curry and merluza in an "basque" fashion to begin, both excellent, with spices used as they have to be used to perfume and be an accompagnant not the principal;
then hare and merluza, both more tahn excellent.
We finish with an exquisite 3 leches cake with lukuma and it was a perfect end.
Excellent wines and a nice pisco...
More than highly recommanded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricio andres l, Propietario at Aldea restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Estimada Monpetit,

We are very happy that you enjoyed as we want people to do. We put all our heart and energy in trying to give people a nice and particular experience. To know that you had a good experience is a wonderful payment that push us to do things better.

Thank you very much for your words...

Muchos saludos

Pato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“A culinary oasis”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Boy, did we enjoy our meal at Aldea. In fact, we went back a second time. On the first occasion, our knowledgeable & pleasant waiter talked us through the menu, which is on a blackboard. We started with a seafood curry, followed by merluza (hake) with choclo (pureed sweet potato) all accompanied with a great bottle of wine. The owner/chef came out to talk to us about the food and restaurant. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented.
Returned on the following night (no reservation), and luckily someone was just vacating a table. We had an aperitif of super pisco sours. Then had vegetable soup, followed by vegetable tagine and seafood risotto and another great Chilean red. Super service and super food, undoubtedly in our view, the best restaurant in Puerto Natales.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food, friendly knowledgable waiter..”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The great thing about this place is the menu is kept to a minimum, meaning every dish is a specialty. I bade the "liebre lomo" which is wild rabbit steak - cooked to perfection. It is a small homey restaurant and apon arrival the friendly waiter Gustavo explains the menu in detail. Pato who runs the place came to talk to us and he has a very relaxing and friendly demeanour.. It was so good we went back again the next day!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christophertheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldea restaurant also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Aldea restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing