We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, "Patagonia-rustic" style with amazing views”
Review of Kau Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kau Patagonia
Ranked #9 of 48 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, "Patagonia-rustic" style with amazing views”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

At the end of our month-long trip, Kau earned our vote for coolest place we stayed in Patagonia. As a treat at the end of our Torres Del Paine trek, we were very content to either sit in our room and look out at the amazing view or sit in the coffee shop below and enjoy what has to be the best coffee in the region. Do yourself a favor and book a night in this unique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 567Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    44
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our tour of Chile, and it was the place we enjoyed the most.
We had room 'Frances' which I think may be smaller than the other rooms and doesn't have a bay window, but on the plus side was furthest away from the road works which were taking place at the side of the building, so we weren't disturbed by them. There was some road noise, however, and some noisy dogs!
The big thing was the view which was to die for!!!
The lodge is situated directly on the waterfront and I can't remember staying in a room with a better view anywhere in the world.
Kau Lodge is not luxury accommodation and will not appeal to everybody, but we loved the place and would love to stay there again.
We fully agree with the comments about the coffee - the best you'll get anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We loved staying here. This accommodation consists of five rooms over a coffee shop. Our room was lovely with a wonderful view of Seno Ultima Esperanza. Our room was comfortable with lots of natural wood and woolen throws. The cafe served the best coffee we had in Chile. Staff were warm and very accommodating. We tried to make a reservation for a return visit but they were booked and we were disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way to Torres Del Paine. It provides simple accommodation offering very good value for the price paid (Chile 55,000). Received some helpful advice on buses into the park. Bedrooms are large and attractively decorated, although the bathrooms are really small but ok for an overnight stay. We had a lovely view over the water and mountains beyond. The following day we had an early start and the hotel kindly arranged a simple breakfast at 6pm.
A little far out from the bus station and a taxi is recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

5 rooms over a coffee shop (which has real coffee!), each room faces out over the water with wonderful views to the mountains. Decor is modern rustic, rooms very comfortable. Doesn't have normal hotel services but great informal place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Interior design was top notch, using natural wood colors matched with marine blue. The setting is gorgeous, with only 5 rooms on the second floor of the building, all water facing. Being so close to the water enhances the Patagonian experience, vs. a hotel in town. The ground floor has a cafe - canteen style with long tables. During the day, non-hotel guests come in for drinks / wifi. So the atmosphere is kinda like a restaurant once you walk down from your room.
The only complaint I had was of the quality of its staff. Sometimes a bit slow, and often not being able to get what I want. Bed was a bit on the soft side - not great if you prefer hard firm beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was the hotel we were staying at through booking our trekkign and kayaking experience through Antares. I am glad we stayed here. The rooms may have been small, but they were warm, comfortable, quiet and had great views over the ocean. The service was decent, even if the girls behind the coffee counter couldnt speak the best english (who cares? We are in their country). Even if you dont stay here, you must visit for the hot chocolates. They were the best in our Patagonian travels (maybe ever!?).
The location is great too. Right on the waters edge to take a stroll if you like, and just a short walk to the plaza and restaurants, bars etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.8 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
2.2 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kau Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Patagonia

Property: Kau Patagonia
Address: Kau Patagonia Pedro Montt 161, Puerto Natales 5502751, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kau Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Kau Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kau Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing