We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great views, good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costaustralis
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
752 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great views, good restaurant”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel, with our group, for several days while exploring this area of Patagonia. The hotel is right on the water and just a very short walk into the center of Puerto Natales. The town is friendly, quaint and has great decor. When we first arrived, the desk was very proficient in getting us into our rooms. Our first room had many mosquitos; someone had left a window open. We went to the desk and were given a new room right on the same floor. We had a lovely water view. The buffet breakfast was quite good with a variety of offerings and the restaurant looked out onto the water where you could watch the sun rise! The very large lounge was a great way to end the day with a drink and friends. The people at the desk went out of their way to answer questions and offer assistance. While dated somewhat in decor; the hotel has everything you'd want! We ate dinner several times in the restaurant because it was very windy and cold when the sun went down. The food was excellent! They had a variety of small meals as well as a full meal. Location is awesome and really makes this a" must stay" place!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you very much for your comments; we will review all your suggestions. Sincerely, Hotel CostAustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    237
    78
    12
    13
See reviews for
114
245
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotselaar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Beware, fellow travelers, this hotel (or hotel chain) is more concerned about making money at all cost than providing a good service to its customers. We had a roll-over total-loss car accident six nights before we had booked with them, with the ensuing impossibility of reaching Puerto Natales as planned. Though I mailed and called them the day after the accident (five night before I was due to arrive), they still proceeded in charging me one night stay-over for a service never provided. This was the only hotel in Chile that did this to us, all the others I had to cancel were more than understanding !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrouweKlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Customer, we regret very much your displeasure with us, especially after having suffered a car accident, but your situation gets out of our control.

Due you made your booking through an intermediary (therefore not directly with the hotel) the corresponding business procedure is to deal with them the cancelation policy.

We recommend you to contact them and request a refund, if so we will give all the necessary support to implement it.

Our main goal is to provide an excellent experience to our passengers but we must also respect our intermediaries and honor the contracts they have defined for each sale.

Sincerely, Hotel Costaustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here with tour group (seems to host lots of tour groups). So while it caters to the groups, it's still a nice hotel, that takes advantage of its location, right on the sound, with large windows across the lobby (full of nice sitting areas and a bar nearby). Has in-room wifi, and a heater that worked overtime (had to leave the window open, but that was fine). Not especially atmospheric, but fine in all other respects and close to everything in Puerto Natales (but I guess everything is pretty close to everything else there).

Room Tip: Room didn't have a view of the water, but there's more than enough room in the lobby to gawk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freebird2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thanks for your comments and choosing Hotel CostAustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut/Quito
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed one night here before boarding the Stella Australis for our 4 night cruise in the fjords. We had a large, clean room with a roof view, but the hotel setting on the water was lovely for walks. We walked up the street to the church (only open when there is a service) and shops, but just missed the museum which travel books said was interesting. We had no issues with service, staff, or breakfast. Yes, the lobby is large, but has views of the bay and enough room for various groups to congregate without being in each others way. And, we enjoyed seeing this town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoAmertransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and for choosing us. Sincerely Hotel CostAustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent 1 night in Feb. 2012 in Costaustarlis Puerto Natales and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is situated on the bay and has been renovated recently, rooms are large, super clean and relaxing. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikishefivered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We welcome your comments. Sincerely Hotel CostAustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Yes the large lounge overlooking the water is nicely designed but it is very large and lacking atmosphere. We found check in to be functional but not very warm. We stayed here on our way in and out of Torres del Paine and our first room ( which took 3 members of staff to get us into) was a rear view attic room. So awful view and rather small, but nevertheless clean. Breakfast was a rather sterile affair and the staff had difficulty coping with replenishing. On our second night the room had the wonderful lake view and was much larger. The hotel was quieter and staff were able to cope at breakfast. So definately not bad, but not up to the high standard of many hotels we encountered in South America

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Suggestions like yours help us to improve daily, thank you very much, sincerely Hotel CostAustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, fl
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel has a wonderful view of the water, is close to restaurants, grocery stores,the room's are clean, the people are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included, and we had people here that were eating like animals, but the staff kept the buffett with food.
They have hair dryer, and the bed's in all the rooms are twin, but they give you many! We had three, and a sofa bed. This is great for lots of people to share.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floribel071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Ecommerce Sales Responsible at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We welcome your comments and we hope to receive if you return to Patagonia. Hotel CostAustralis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
676 reviews
1.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costaustralis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Property: Hotel Costaustralis
Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Natales
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the fjord of Last Hope, Hotel Costaustralis stands out for its traditional building land marking the entrance of the city of Puerto Natales. Inside, it houses the history and traditions of the area with its warm, personalized service along with its sober and elegant decor accented by the great presence of local pieces. Hotel Costaustralis boasts 110 comfortable rooms designed to provide total relaxation. They face an incredible sea view with the Patagonian Mountain in the background as well as first class facilities like full set of pillows, standalone desktop, LCD TV, bathroom full equipped and free wifi. The Hotel also offers a high-level food service. The kitchen abounds with typical food of the region, where you can taste the delicious Magellan Crab in his restaurant or a typical Calafate Sour at the bar. The Hotel CostAustralis' experience lets you live the Patagonia from its roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing