We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Costaustralis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Costaustralis
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very comfortable and homey, great location and friendly staff. Rooms are warm, clean and quiet. Not a lot of variety for breakfast and I didn’t find out I could get hot items cooked to order until my last day there, and when I did order it took forever and I had to cancel my order because my transportation had arrived. Other than that, dinner was delicious and the overall experience in Puerto Natales, the glaciers, Torres del Paine, etc is simply unforgettable. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Think twice before paying for a better view... you won't be sitting in your room all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeForRent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    226
    74
    12
    12
See reviews for
109
234
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MEMPHIS, TN
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

With it's fantastic location on the waterfront, it's nice bar with a water/mountain/glacier view, courteous staff and comfortable rooms- this hotel is great. You have to know that most people that are staying in this "frontier" town are not staying in accomodations like these! There are lots of hostels and trekker inn- but this one fits the bill if, like me, you require a bit of luxury whist in the wilderness!

Room Tip: We didn't have one but the water/glacier/mountain view must be magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of Smartours Patagonia trip to Los Glaciares National Park, Serrano glacier, and Petito Moreno. This is a very nice 4* hotel, off the main street, with spacious modern rooms, very comfortable beds, a modern bathroom, and helpful staff.. Hotel Restaurant is excellent with nice L specials. Rub Magellan's toe in the park across the street and return to Patagonia happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Beautiful hotel, great breakfast, lovely bar with a really good house Cab. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed, good beds. But, if you open your windows, there is traffic noise (I know, in Puerto Natales?) all night long. In our Room 239, we were awakend at 2AM by loud humming (the explanation was noise from the heating system). The front desk gave us a new room, which was fine.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 239
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphsDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
329 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed two nights at the Costaustralis and appreciated some points:
its position: just in front of the sea, where you can enjoy nice views and unforgottable sunsets from the large windows of the halls,
you can reach the main street on foot in few minutes;
the eco-style and the very good restaurant.

Just a remark: the service of the concierge may be very slow at the morning when most of the people arrive/leave.

Overall I had a very positive stay and really advice this choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is nothing i would've expected! It was amazing, the room I got was very spacious and had a beautiful view of the sea and Torres del Paine (you can see a bit on a clear day!). The location is perfect...you can easily walk along the promenade to the main square. There's a lounge on the ground floor where I had some cocktails and a sandwich.....couldn't stop taking photos of the lobby.......and yeah haha breakfast was ok...nothing memorable. I definitely recommend this hotel!

The room had no technology, which didn't really bother me... it actually enhanced my stay and helped me relaxed even more! There was free wi-fi in the public areas AND the room.

N.B I know I said I loved this hotel....but....100 meters from this one there's another hotel that would be worth taking a look at....I know I would next time I'm in Puerto Natales......It's called INDIGO By Noi looks interesting

Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view preferably on the top floor (I believe it was the 4th....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Very nice hotel. If you get a Sea view room the view is gorgeous. A short walk into town for shops and restaurants, good location, comfortable rooms.

Decent restaurant though breakfast could stand some improvement. Very very runny scrambled eggs (inedible in my opinion), plus Cold cereal, fruit and yogurt, some sweet pastries.

The Front desk staff was very helpful. When one of our pre-paid transfer drivers failed to show up to take us to the dock (5 km away) for our boat excursion to Balmaceda and Serrano glaciers, the front desk called the boat company and got them to pick us up, they held the boat for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cml94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.6 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costaustralis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Property: Hotel Costaustralis
Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the fjord of Last Hope, Hotel Costaustralis stands out for its traditional building land marking the entrance of the city of Puerto Natales. Inside, it houses the history and traditions of the area with its warm, personalized service along with its sober and elegant decor accented by the great presence of local pieces. Hotel Costaustralis boasts 110 comfortable rooms designed to provide total relaxation. They face an incredible sea view with the Patagonian Mountain in the background as well as first class facilities like full set of pillows, standalone desktop, LCD TV, bathroom full equipped and free wifi. The Hotel also offers a high-level food service. The kitchen abounds with typical food of the region, where you can taste the delicious Magellan Crab in his restaurant or a typical Calafate Sour at the bar. The Hotel CostAustralis' experience lets you live the Patagonia from its roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing