We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costaustralis
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The view of the waterfront is beautiful. The lobby its beautifully decorated with wood sculptures. The rooms were large and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was pretty good. The buffet breakfast is decent but not great. You can't beat the location and the views. They have free WiFi

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear guest:

Thanks for leave a comment. This is a great feedback channel for us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Insofar as hotels that are in rather than surrounding Puerto Natales I think this rates as no. 1. Hotel was incredibly well located across the road from one of the most beautiful vistas (see pic), rooms were large, comfortable, and clean. Restaurant food and service were average but not unusual for an "out of the way" town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very comfortable and homey, great location and friendly staff. Rooms are warm, clean and quiet. Not a lot of variety for breakfast and I didn’t find out I could get hot items cooked to order until my last day there, and when I did order it took forever and I had to cancel my order because my transportation had arrived. Other than that, dinner was delicious and the overall experience in Puerto Natales, the glaciers, Torres del Paine, etc is simply unforgettable. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Think twice before paying for a better view... you won't be sitting in your room all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeForRent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

With it's fantastic location on the waterfront, it's nice bar with a water/mountain/glacier view, courteous staff and comfortable rooms- this hotel is great. You have to know that most people that are staying in this "frontier" town are not staying in accomodations like these! There are lots of hostels and trekker inn- but this one fits the bill if, like me, you require a bit of luxury whist in the wilderness!

Room Tip: We didn't have one but the water/glacier/mountain view must be magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of Smartours Patagonia trip to Los Glaciares National Park, Serrano glacier, and Petito Moreno. This is a very nice 4* hotel, off the main street, with spacious modern rooms, very comfortable beds, a modern bathroom, and helpful staff.. Hotel Restaurant is excellent with nice L specials. Rub Magellan's toe in the park across the street and return to Patagonia happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Beautiful hotel, great breakfast, lovely bar with a really good house Cab. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed, good beds. But, if you open your windows, there is traffic noise (I know, in Puerto Natales?) all night long. In our Room 239, we were awakend at 2AM by loud humming (the explanation was noise from the heating system). The front desk gave us a new room, which was fine.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 239
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaphsDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed two nights at the Costaustralis and appreciated some points:
its position: just in front of the sea, where you can enjoy nice views and unforgottable sunsets from the large windows of the halls,
you can reach the main street on foot in few minutes;
the eco-style and the very good restaurant.

Just a remark: the service of the concierge may be very slow at the morning when most of the people arrive/leave.

Overall I had a very positive stay and really advice this choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.1 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
556 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costaustralis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £95 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the fjord of Last Hope, Hotel Costaustralis stands out for its traditional building land marking the entrance of the city of Puerto Natales. Inside, it houses the history and traditions of the area with its warm, personalized service along with its sober and elegant decor accented by the great presence of local pieces. Hotel Costaustralis boasts 110 comfortable rooms designed to provide total relaxation. They face an incredible sea view with the Patagonian Mountain in the background as well as first class facilities like full set of pillows, standalone desktop, LCD TV, bathroom full equipped and free wifi. The Hotel also offers a high-level food service. The kitchen abounds with typical food of the region, where you can taste the delicious Magellan Crab in his restaurant or a typical Calafate Sour at the bar. The Hotel CostAustralis' experience lets you live the Patagonia from its roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing