We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy home far away from home”
Review of Casa Cecilia Ltda.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cecilia Ltda.
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The casa is only a 1-5 min walk from the main plaza and the central bus agencies (for instance when you arrive from El Calafate, Argentina). Our double room with private bathroom was very cosy and warm. The owners (Swiss German Werner and Chilean Cecilia) were very friendly, helped us arranging bus tickets and answering questions about Torres del Paine. Breakfast was very good with homemade bread and yoghurt, enough to get filled for a rough day in the park.
There are a couple of good restaurants/bars in the area.
The casa seems to get full very quickly since there is a limited number of rooms. Definitely a nice place to stay in Puerto Natales where you feel like at home far away from home!

Room Tip: The double room with private bathroom (room no 7) is small but very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

We arrived here after a 42-hour journey from San Pedro in the North and it was a wonderful, wonderful relief to find such a well-run, friendly, clean and comfortable hostel so close to the central plaza (1 min walk). The owners are really lovely people and will help you with anything you need for your Torres Del Paine trek (equipment, tips, luggage storage, bus and boat tickets) and try to make your stay as relaxed as possible. There are great, powerful, hot showers and roomy, very comfortable beds (we slept for 17 hours straight on our first night and woke up feeling like new people). The breakfast, which is included in the price, is delicious and plentiful. Cereal, milk, yoghurt, unlimited and scrummy warm home-made bread, real butter, coffee, tea, juice....just what you need before five days in the park. It is also served from 6.30am so you can get a good meal in before the bus takes you to Torres Del Paine. There´s a small kitchen available for guest use and the communal areas are light, clean and comfortable with tables for lunch and sofas for lounging about. Above all its an incredibly calm and restorative place, we will recommend it to as many people as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a great place to stay, and they were very helpful in trying to set up things in Torres del Paine. I arrived at the end of the season, when services in the park were in flux, and it was a bit challenging to make things work. They are very friendly, the rooms were fine, and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hostel has a series of shared-bath rooms; the perfect base for going trekking. Best of all, they have a huge, lockable set of shelves where they offer to keep some of your luggage as you go trekking. Perfect.

The breakfast was a little haphazard (not great when you're going trekking all day), and the owner/manager seemed confused about everything a lot of the time - but the rooms were clean, their rental equipment is competitively priced and in great nick, and it's a good budget option!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

These guys helped us with all our travel plans, booking buses and making suggestions when the fire in the park changed our schedule. It is a local travel agency and affordable hotel in one package. Breakfast is good and rooms are clean, clientele is mature, mostly Europeans. Cecilia and her Swiss husband speak English. Fancy, it's not, but I still really enjoyed it, we did 3 separate nights as we explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before our trekking in TdP and 3 nights after. We had a good experience but I dont think I can claim I experienced the same level of excitement as others have posted. Mr Werner seemed to be managing the place solo and I think this may have taken its a toll a little on his hospitality. He was very nice and generally helpful but just seemed a little down and didnt go out of his way to offer advice on ways to see TdP and the surrounding area (especially considering the recent fire damage) for eg when we asked him for advice/feedback on using JBA tours to see TdP he didnt mention that they offer a significantly lower level of service than the other companies.
Rooms - smallest we have experienced relative to the other half a dozen places we have stayed in Patagonia. They were clean - although the "spare" pillows did have a lot of hair on them. We asked if we could have larger room but were told that was being saved for some returning guests from TdP which is fine but considering when we returned (for 3 extra nights) we were given a similar small room (on the ground floor which is very noisy).
Bathrooms for our rooms are shared which is fine for us - they were small but generally clean (although I think the bins need to be emptied at the end of the day considering the no flush policy).
Common areas - awesome and the real highlight of this place. Large and bright (opposite to the rooms) and a great place to relax and meet your fellow travellers. There is also a kitchen for travellers which makes it really handy with 2 fridges so plenty of space for all.
Overall - I would recommend as the price is reasonable (in an expensive town), common areas are awesome, wi-fi and shared computer very reliable, overall cleanliness (especially common areas) is good, breakfast included (and lovely fresh bread), luggage storage while in TdP, a lot of information available in reception, mult-lingual host. Only negatives were rooms were a bit cramped and i think host was a little understaffed and tired in peak season.

Room Tip: try and get upstairs room as below it sounds like trampling elephants above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

we stayed at the upstairs matrimonial room for 1 night. It was a bright clean room with modern bathroom. Location was good: 3 to 4 blocks from the plaza de armas. Breakfast included (simple tea, coffee, bread and spreads), a small kitchen available to prepare meals (we didn't use it), cable tv (on an old box tv) and best of all, the owner spoke English and was very helpful with providing information on things to do. We originally planned on during the full W trek but because of the fire at TDP and closure of 2 lodges, we had 2 extra days/nights free. We had wanted to stay on at casa cecilia but they were fully booked (ended up staying at hostal de los castillos on bulnes st - equally excellent accom)

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dee0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.8 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bories House Hotel
Bories House Hotel
#10 of 26 in Puerto Natales
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#2 of 107 in Puerto Natales
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wild Hostel
Wild Hostel
#9 of 107 in Puerto Natales
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 51 in Puerto Natales
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cecilia Ltda.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia Ltda.

Address: Tomas Roger nro. 60, Puerto Natales 000061, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cecilia form 1992 "HOME AWAY FROM HOME" Here you will find a lot of information , tickts, boat trips, tours ,etc. We have very clean roons wit private and shared bath , you will have free acces to kitchen fscilities, custody of lugagge,internet,wi-fi. In our agency you will find all excursions around by bus or by boat , public bus,treking equipment to rent and a lot of information around,We speak Spanish -English- German -a Little french. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Cecilia Ltda. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Ltda. Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing