We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a tour group in January 2012. Everyone liked it.

The rooms were basic, but very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit special - with a step down spa bath which was huge (the shower was in the bath) - although not all group members had a bath in their rooms.

What we really loved about this hotel was the common areas. Big comfortable couches with amazing views over the water and mountains in the background. The breakfast (in the same area) was among the better ones we saw in Patagonia.

One thing to note - the hotel is about 1km from town and on a very steep hill. We, however, no problems getting very cheap taxis both ways.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    196
    50
    18
    4
See reviews for
96
273
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here for one night in December 2011. The setting was very nice. Up on a hill outside of town. We walked into town and the walk was pleasant but if you don't like walking you should check into the availability of taxis. Our accommodation was lovely: a dark cavelike bedroom ( though more reading light would have been nice) and an enclosed porch with light and view in the front. The restaurant was fine. I had superb fresh crab. My partner ordered s/t (can't remember what it was) but it didn't come as advertised. When we mentioned this to the waiter, he went back to check and told us the kitchen was out of whatever it was. Would have been nice if they'd told her that before bringing it out to her.... Breakfast was fine.
Have no basis for comparison with whatever else is in Puerto Natales but would certainly suggest the hotel as a place to stay if friends were visiting there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Weskar has very comfortable bedrooms, with a big window in each room to see the sound and the mountains on the other side. The staff was friendly and helpful. (Good pisco sours, by the way,) The living room with a fireplace and sofas was a good place to relax after a day on the water or driving through the Torres del Paine region. I´m not sure if others have mentioned the evening meals, which were delicious and nicely served. We would love to go back to Patagonia, spend more time in Puerto Natales, and we would definitely stay again in the Weskar Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWRAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is without doubt a cozy hotel –which is expanding with a second building nearby-with great views. But before choosing it when visiting Natales you have to take into account several facts. For instance:
A) The hotel is not in Natales but a short ride from it. In windy days –most of them all the year around- a walk (20 min) from the city will be not be very pleasant. So you have to get a taxi to get in and out. And that could be not an easy task –to go in specially- except if you have planned it in advance and know reliable companies which was not our case.
B) In you walk be prepared to climb last part ot the walk on a unpaved road. The hotel is in a sharp hill.
C) It is not easy to go to the sauna: a lot of steps not very compatible with a relaxing session.
D) Only a few rooms are on the ground floor. Be prepared to carry your luggage it through some steps. I hate to do it if no prior information have given to me.
E) Breakfast is poor like in the simplest Inn. Incredible but true. Just coffee and some toast with marmalade
F) And the room, at least ours, didn’t have basic information. No phone (¿?) and no instructions about how to operate the safe.
Next time we will choose a Hotel in the city. There are at least one with the same price and the same view and it is in the city and perhaps has a better breakfast.

Room Tip: If you hate to carry your luggages through steps aks for a room in the grounf floors. Just a few ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanjopa, Gerente at Weskar Patagonian Lodge, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Hello Triper_7, from France !
Thanks for your honest opinion about the Lodge.

Information for the travelers:

1. The distance from Weskar to Puerto Natales center is 1,4 kilometers, fiord side. Many ducks and swans you can see on the coast. The walk it´s easy, if you like to do it.
If you don´t like walk, ask for a taxi at the reception. The price is USD 3.

2. The lodge is located on the very small hill, 20 meters over fiord level. This point is very important, because you get the most clean and amazing view to the Ultima Esperanza Fiord, and patagonian mountains. The main house is connected (up/dow) for wooden walkway with the hots - tubs area, on the garden. Most of the people like this. The hot tub is outdoor (firlandes style).

3. The staff is very helpful. They carry and put your luggage in the room, don´t worry for that. The best view you get in the upper floors.

4. The Breakfast is buffet includes fresh fruit, whole fruits, nuts, cereals, 2 types of eggs, natural yogurt, 3 types of homemade bread, homemade marmalade, salami, fresh tomatoes, 2 juices .....,homemades cookies and cakes, .... with view.

5. The safe information is back the door. On low season 2012, will be installed the phone. The rooms have wi-fi internet connection (the internet in Patagonia sometimes is not working .... you must understand where we are)

Weskar is not a classic city hotel (No TV, No Smoke in the rooms). Weskar is a cozy lodge, located on the waterfront of Puerto Natales, with restaurant and bar for the guests, friendly staff, and a amazing view.
If you have any doubt, don´t hesitate in asking.
Finally Weskar Lodge will be open new comfortable rooms on low season (from March 2012).
Best,


Juan José Pantoja
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I have traveled to the Chilean Patagonia, I decided this lodge, was an amazing experience. The wind in this
area is strong at times, the hotel is well insulated, perfect for
lounging, no noise and the beds are clean and good. The hotel offers
guests the most oustanding views of the coast. The rooms are very
comfortable and nice ethnic style decorated. Ask for help at the
reception to take advantage of the best routes, that really helped me in my short week visit. I recommend it, as long as your goal is to not
thinking about working.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio_Catalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Apart from a small bathroom and faulty hairdryer this is a great place to stay, the rooms are large, comfortable and clean, also very nice views from those at the front of the building. It is on the edge of town but a taxi is very cheap. We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front - the view is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Mark_and_Hansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BATH
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed for one night and enjoyed being in this hotel. It has a warm alpine lodge ambience and the staff are very helpful indeed. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Those at the front have great views out to sea but beware draught whistles from the windows when the wind blows. It's about 1Km into town and a nice walk but it can be very very windy at this latitudes so be prepared to take a taxi if you're not feeling like strolling in a full gale.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.8 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Remota
Remota
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weskar Patagonian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weskar Patagonian Lodge

Property: Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Address: Huerto 274-B | Km. 1, Ruta 9 Torres del Paine, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Natales
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Weskar Patagonian Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty Patagonia, Weskar Lodge is a cozy hotel with 30 rooms, offering quality and charming services, that will make your trip an unforgettable experience after your excursions to Torres del Paine and the Glaciers. Located along the coast in the city of Puerto Natales, at an altitude of 70 feets above sea level, sorrounded by green areas, Weskar Lodge is a unique and small hotel with impressive views of the fjord and the Patagonian Andes Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Weskar Patagonian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weskar Patagonian Hotel Puerto Natales
Hotel Weskar Patagonian
Weskar Patagonian Lodge Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing