We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Remota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remota
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A gorgeous place with surprisingly cosy rooms and a unique indigenous-inspired design. Great saltwater pool and outdoor jacuzzi, and a sweet rain shower. Only drawback was the window between the bathroom and beds. The restaurant, however, was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    72
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
73
168
25
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

An award-winning architectural masterpiece, Remota emulates the raw intensity of the Patagonian landscape and culture. Jaw-dropping, artistic, and dramatically beautiful!
Every meal was fresh, local and orgasmic!
The staff were all professional, knowledgeable, incredibly relaxed and friendly and quite frankly, a whole lotta fun.
Excursions were tailored to fit and each outing was a challenging, memorable adventure of varied landscapes and mind-boggling vistas with only the magnificence of nature in uninterrupted splendor.
That, and the yummiest picnics ever!
5-7 nights at Remota is truly an unparalleled experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

we recently spent 8 nights at Remota exploring Chilean Patagonia. Remota was designed by a well known architect (who also, i believe, designed Explora Patagonia???) and was modeled after an "estancia" so the architecture is really interesting. overall, we really enjoyed our stay and the staff became like family. 8 nights was perhaps a bit too long, we think 5, maybe 6 would be better.
the pluses:
-first and foremost, definitely the staff! on the whole a great group of young, really fun and caring people. special thanks to the kitchen staff (esp Mickey - who makes a mean Caiprinha - and Stefi) who took good care of me when i got sick! and to our number 1 guide, pedro who was so much fun!
-the location to town - walkable if you want, or remota can usually give you a lift into the town
-the location in general, well place to explore all around, including, but not limited to Torres del Paine
-the food - a nice choice each day for lunch and dinner. desserts especially yummy!
-the views - WOW!
-the guides - we had 4 whilst there and all were great. Pedro was who we had for most of the time and he was really awesome: enthusiastic, excellent english (and always trying to improve it!) and a very contagious laugh!
-the drivers - especially Carlos!
-the pool and hot tub - both really nice tho hot tub could be a teeny bit hotter!
-the rooms - definitely large enough and comfortable enough!

the negatives:
-the wine list. it was ok, but not enough selections and not as high quality as we think it should have been. we kept comparing to Awasi in the Atacama Desert which was also high end all inclusive resort and they had a much better and more comprehensive house wine choice.
-a 1 1/2 hour drive to Torres del Paine - but we specifically chose Remota over Explora b/c we wanted to be able to explore more than just Torres.
-the tipping policy - we would prefer to tip ALL staff (except guides) via a general tipping fund. as well, since you are not guaranteed the same guide, especially during high season, if you do have more than 1 guide it makes it hard to tip. Remota advises you to tip 1) your guide/s, 2) the kitchen staff and 3) the remainder of the staff.

Room Tip: the rooms are in 2 wings, the far one of which will be closed off during the low season when occupan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peripateticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We arrived at Remota and were quite surprised about the design.It looked more like an institution than a luxury hotel! However,we were in for a BIG surprise.Internally it was wonderfully designed in a very modern way,with very comfortable rooms.We had the best guide we have ever had in any of our travels.Her name is Claudia.She is a clever and very knowledgeable lady,and she accompanied us on all of our trips,which were all included in the price,as was all of the wonderful food and beverages.She encouraged us to go horse riding, and we hadn't been riding for a very long time, but it was so exhilarating.We were able to go into the Torres Del Paine National Park which had been affected by the fire in December.In fact we were able to do or go wherever we wanted,so could not have wished for a better place to stay.All the staff were very friendly indeed.We would not hesitate to recommend Remota to anyone who would like to see and experience Patagonia at it's best!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantonyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

A recent stay at this wonderful hotel in Peurto Natales, Chile lived up to all our expectations. From the meals to the excursions everything was top notch. At night we planned our next days trips with knowledgeable guides who knew their stuff. The recent fire in Torres del Paine should not discourage anyone from visiting this corner of the globe. In addition to visiting the park there were numerous other excursions to provided by the Remota to pique a wide range of diverse interests.

Room Tip: .All rooms were great one side looked back at the town and the other out of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbegley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

...so Remota can be an excellent hotel.

cons: we never saw the manager. We only saw the assistant manager when we
arrived (just showed us our room, had to find pool...on our own) and when we
left.
At the reception the employees' English was either poor or non existant.
One morning I left the key in my room. At the reception I was told I had to wait 30 minutes. Fortunately my guide was here. He called someone, found a second key and in five minutes I was back in my room
The lighting above the bathroom sink is very poor and the soap is tiny.
Breakfast is supposed to be served one hour before you depart for your excursion. If you leave around 9:30 it is too late.

Pro: We had the same guide, Pedro, during our five days stay. The excursions
(three hikes, one day tour of Torres del Paine, a boat tour) were well organized
and the explanations interesting. We had two very good picnic lunches.
Miguel, the restaurant manager took good care of us. He explained all the options of food and drinks. Meals were good.
Nice location and view from our bedroom.
Liked the architecture of the building. Very original!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We just returned from a trip to Remota, and would go back in a heartbeat.

I have traveled to over 75 countries, and have stayed in the best (and worst!) of accommodations. Somehow, this little gem has sneaked into being one of my very favorites, despite the lack of marbled columns and pool bars. It comes down to (i) the people; (ii) the location; and (iii) the hotel itself.

We arrived after 11 p.m. after more than 32 hours of travel with delays. Marissa and her team were at the door full of smiles, ready to greet our family of five with open arms, and pointed us to the dining room where staff had a table ready for a quick meal before bed. A guide was also there ready to talk about our next day (which we kept light!) and the rooms were perfectly set up. The views from the hotel were beautiful and set the tone.

Remota's location is perfect. It allows for much more flexibility than if you stay in the park. You can do all of the key hikes with a drive into the park from Puerto Natales, but you also have access to a huge array of options outside of the park, and the variability, interest and beauty of those hikes was in our view comparable to the park itself. Sometimes preferable, as we were often on hikes for an entire day without running into a single person, whereas the park was relatively crowded this time of year.

Remota's guides are first rate, without a single exception in our experience (we were there for 8 days, so we met almost all of them). First, they know the area like the backs of their hands. Second, they are willing to tailor any trip to the guest's needs. Want to go slow and take in some sights and pictures? Let them know, and that will be your day. Want to hit the mountain hard? Be their guest, and be assured that they will be with you the whole way. Third, they have an open and friendly attitude that infuses the spirit of every hike, and they know the geography and wildlife intimately.

If you have never been to this part of Patagonia, well, I can only say that you will be amazed at the 'macro' variability in the scenery and topography, as well as the microclimates and vegetation. You might go through four or five radically different settings in a single day. We saw much more wildlife than we expected, including a surprising find of a Rhea nest full of huge eggs that was unforgettable.

Now to the food. You come to the hotel happy but tired. You wash/change and make your way to the dining area, where the nicest people in the world serve you appetizers and drinks, which then move on to a selection of 3 or so entrees with salad/soup and dessert. The dinners were delicious, carefully prepared and nicely presented. The fish was always my favorite, fresh and prepared just right. The windows of the dining room look out on the water and some mountains, and the famous Patagonia winds are whipping the grass. You pinch yourself and hope for time to slow down.

The spa is an outdoor building with a pool, sauna, and outdoor whirlpools. Highly suggest Patricia the masseuse if you need a massage after a particularly grueling day. Remota is a place to start your day right, to explore the wonders of Patagonia, and to recharge and relax before the next day's adventure. While the spa is nice, it is not the place to sit by the pool and read a book all week. I've done the latter, and I sometimes need that kind of experience. But none of those trips has ever beaten this one... not in a long shot.

Finally, our hats off to all of the staff, who accommodated the 'refugees' from a forest fire that was accidentally set in the Torres del Paine park. Many people had to be relocated, and the Remota took in almost 38 from other hotels or from camping excursions. This required an amazing amount of flexibility and quick response from the Remota team, which they managed with calm, a cool disposition, and great effectiveness. While the public areas were clearly a bit more crowded, we didn't detect a drop in service or standards. Well done!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Ask them about the rooms that are on the far side looking out over the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaestralIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 27 in Puerto Natales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Natales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Property: Remota
Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing