We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and special place”
Review of Remota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Remota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Unique and special place”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Remota. The staff was so wonderful and caring - we really got to know them on our 4-day trip. The guides were all wonderful and we had an amazing time. We especially loved our off-the-beaten-path hikes with Rafael (both inside the Torres del Paine Park and outside). The food was amazing and we loved every meal. We took advantage of the spa services and helped ourselves to the complimentary champagne while using the hot tub. We know it gets compared to Explora, which we have never stayed at, but we have to say we thought that for the value this place was truly amazing! Oh, and as far as the window between the bathroom and the room, we had no problem with it. In fact, it was great to have a wonderful view from the bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    74
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
73
170
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A gorgeous place with surprisingly cosy rooms and a unique indigenous-inspired design. Great saltwater pool and outdoor jacuzzi, and a sweet rain shower. Only drawback was the window between the bathroom and beds. The restaurant, however, was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

An award-winning architectural masterpiece, Remota emulates the raw intensity of the Patagonian landscape and culture. Jaw-dropping, artistic, and dramatically beautiful!
Every meal was fresh, local and orgasmic!
The staff were all professional, knowledgeable, incredibly relaxed and friendly and quite frankly, a whole lotta fun.
Excursions were tailored to fit and each outing was a challenging, memorable adventure of varied landscapes and mind-boggling vistas with only the magnificence of nature in uninterrupted splendor.
That, and the yummiest picnics ever!
5-7 nights at Remota is truly an unparalleled experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we recently spent 8 nights at Remota exploring Chilean Patagonia. Remota was designed by a well known architect (who also, i believe, designed Explora Patagonia???) and was modeled after an "estancia" so the architecture is really interesting. overall, we really enjoyed our stay and the staff became like family. 8 nights was perhaps a bit too long, we think 5, maybe 6 would be better.
the pluses:
-first and foremost, definitely the staff! on the whole a great group of young, really fun and caring people. special thanks to the kitchen staff (esp Mickey - who makes a mean Caiprinha - and Stefi) who took good care of me when i got sick! and to our number 1 guide, pedro who was so much fun!
-the location to town - walkable if you want, or remota can usually give you a lift into the town
-the location in general, well place to explore all around, including, but not limited to Torres del Paine
-the food - a nice choice each day for lunch and dinner. desserts especially yummy!
-the views - WOW!
-the guides - we had 4 whilst there and all were great. Pedro was who we had for most of the time and he was really awesome: enthusiastic, excellent english (and always trying to improve it!) and a very contagious laugh!
-the drivers - especially Carlos!
-the pool and hot tub - both really nice tho hot tub could be a teeny bit hotter!
-the rooms - definitely large enough and comfortable enough!

the negatives:
-the wine list. it was ok, but not enough selections and not as high quality as we think it should have been. we kept comparing to Awasi in the Atacama Desert which was also high end all inclusive resort and they had a much better and more comprehensive house wine choice.
-a 1 1/2 hour drive to Torres del Paine - but we specifically chose Remota over Explora b/c we wanted to be able to explore more than just Torres.
-the tipping policy - we would prefer to tip ALL staff (except guides) via a general tipping fund. as well, since you are not guaranteed the same guide, especially during high season, if you do have more than 1 guide it makes it hard to tip. Remota advises you to tip 1) your guide/s, 2) the kitchen staff and 3) the remainder of the staff.

Room Tip: the rooms are in 2 wings, the far one of which will be closed off during the low season when occupan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peripateticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We arrived at Remota and were quite surprised about the design.It looked more like an institution than a luxury hotel! However,we were in for a BIG surprise.Internally it was wonderfully designed in a very modern way,with very comfortable rooms.We had the best guide we have ever had in any of our travels.Her name is Claudia.She is a clever and very knowledgeable lady,and she accompanied us on all of our trips,which were all included in the price,as was all of the wonderful food and beverages.She encouraged us to go horse riding, and we hadn't been riding for a very long time, but it was so exhilarating.We were able to go into the Torres Del Paine National Park which had been affected by the fire in December.In fact we were able to do or go wherever we wanted,so could not have wished for a better place to stay.All the staff were very friendly indeed.We would not hesitate to recommend Remota to anyone who would like to see and experience Patagonia at it's best!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantonyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A recent stay at this wonderful hotel in Peurto Natales, Chile lived up to all our expectations. From the meals to the excursions everything was top notch. At night we planned our next days trips with knowledgeable guides who knew their stuff. The recent fire in Torres del Paine should not discourage anyone from visiting this corner of the globe. In addition to visiting the park there were numerous other excursions to provided by the Remota to pique a wide range of diverse interests.

Room Tip: .All rooms were great one side looked back at the town and the other out of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbegley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

...so Remota can be an excellent hotel.

cons: we never saw the manager. We only saw the assistant manager when we
arrived (just showed us our room, had to find pool...on our own) and when we
left.
At the reception the employees' English was either poor or non existant.
One morning I left the key in my room. At the reception I was told I had to wait 30 minutes. Fortunately my guide was here. He called someone, found a second key and in five minutes I was back in my room
The lighting above the bathroom sink is very poor and the soap is tiny.
Breakfast is supposed to be served one hour before you depart for your excursion. If you leave around 9:30 it is too late.

Pro: We had the same guide, Pedro, during our five days stay. The excursions
(three hikes, one day tour of Torres del Paine, a boat tour) were well organized
and the explanations interesting. We had two very good picnic lunches.
Miguel, the restaurant manager took good care of us. He explained all the options of food and drinks. Meals were good.
Nice location and view from our bedroom.
Liked the architecture of the building. Very original!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Property: Remota
Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing