We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great staff”
Review of Remota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remota
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Our trip to this hotel did not have auspicious beginnings with a mix-up over our booking, but a sign of a good hotel is how they act to problems, and the staff at Remota rose to the challenge making us at once feel very welcome and being very attentive.

The staff at Remota are one of the hotels best assets. They go out of their way to treat you as an individual/couple and not just a room number. They are always attentive andtry to anticipate your needs - an example being the pool attendant who rushes out to uncover the hot tubs and serve you 'champagne' whatever the conditions.

The main reason for going to this area of the world are the excursions. Remota basically let you choose your itinery from a menu of suggestions. We did a full day tour of Torres del Paine with one other person and then two half day tours and a full day hike in which we were the only guests (although probably helped by the fact they were not full). The tours were always well organised with a great tour guide.

Food was excellent too, both in the restaurant and on hikes (the Caesar salad as a picnic item was something which needs to be seen to be believed. As an example of their service, the guide (without our prior knowledge) also carried a bottle of red wine with him (we felt a bit guilty when we did not drink any - but not our normal drink of choice on a hike).

If there is an criticism it is the rooms are a bit spartan, although there is plenty of public area to use instead.

In addition, it is outside the park. This allows for other trips (for instance we did a great half day horse trekking with no experience at all) and a better overview of the area. However, if you just want to hit the main hiking trails in the park it is perhaps not the best bet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

Staff are exceptional from the manager to the cleaners - attentive, courteous and treat one as an individual quickly learning one's name, preferences etc. One feels there is a very thorough recruitment and training programme in the same way as, say, Four Seasons hotels. I would probably say Remota staff are superior although with 70 rooms perhaps the personal touch is easier to apply.

Rooms are spacious, stylish with large, very comfortable beds. The water pressure isn't great so baths and showers could be better.

The food is superb with, again, outstanding service. All meals will probably be included in your rate so there is not a huge choice: generally I was offered two different options for starter, main and dessert. However I felt sure that if none had been suitable they would have come up with something.

There is an excellent buffet breakfast with cooked eggs and bacon if required.

The hotel has a very attractive and distinctive design with wonderful views of the fjord through huge windows wherever one looks. There are practical problems though so perhaps the architect had too strong a voice For example, access to the pool and sauna area is via a 50m outdoor path which isn't ideal if the wind or rain is blowing.

There is also a problem if a conference or corporate group is meeting at the hotel as was the case during my stay. The meeting areas are all in the same central area as the restaurant and public seating areas so there is no escape from the noise if they are making presentations or having a party/presentation. Dinner can be quite noisy too as all guests eat in the same area. Given the layout of the hotel I don't know how they get around this.

There is a good choice of activities with small groups only and often tailored to you personally. I made three trips - once with one other couple, and two by myself. The guides I met were extremely pleasant and knowledgeable and spoke very good English. Excursions include the Torres del Paine national park, which is 50 miles north, but there is an emphasis on visits to see wildlife and spectacular scenery closer to the hotel - my highlight was a 4 hour hike up Cerro Benitez where we saw oddly ignored rock paintings and looked down from a clifftop at a pair of condors 20 feet away as they canoodled and eventually took off, flew around for a few minutes and then came back to land on the same spot. Wonderful.

For an extra charge, I was able to stop off on the return to the airport at Seno Otway where there is an easily accessible penguin colony. It adds 2 hours to the journey but well worth it.

Wifi is free but in public areas only.

There is no gym here which is disappointing given there is plenty of space and you will have spare time. There is a small indoor swimming pool, sauna and massage rooms however in a separate building with wonderful views.

Just 1 mile from Puerto Natales so very convenient for outdoor gear shops and other shopping and a pleasant break for a coffee/drink/meal.

Comparisons with the Singular and Explora will be inevitable: the Singular appears a similar concept and is located on the shores of the same fjord but is a further 2 miles out of Puerto Natales so it is not walkable. Explora is 40 miles north and right in the heart of the National Park - much closer to the Torres del Paine so headline excursions are more convenient, but a long way from civilisation. I was very happy with my choice of Remota.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Remota suffers from being nearly 2 hours from the main attraction (Torres del Paine) but more than makes up for it with a truly superb staff, a great kitchen, and a very hard-working guide staff of its own. We surely benefited from a less-than-full situation at the hotel, but I can say that it was the friendliest and most helpful staff I've seen at a foreign hotel. Most of the staff spoke very good English.

They maintain their own feet of small vans and have dedicated, salaried staff of terrific guides. They assume that all of their guests will be taking excursions with their vans and guides every day, and have numerous choices and plenty of flexibility. We went to Torres del Paine one day for a great hike, but the next day decided we weren't up for another long drive. Instead, they took us to a place much closer for a hike that was every bit as nice and picturesque as the one in Torres del Paine. The nearby hike was on private land whose owner has given Remota exclusive access.

Others in our group went on less strenuous photo safaris in the area, on excursions to the nearby town, and on horseback rides. All came back with enthusiastic reports.

The decor of the hotel is organic and very interesting. Rooms are quite comfortable and much better equipped with places to set things than one typically finds in hotel rooms. A few quirks include dim bathroom lighting, rain showers (which I hate but I guess others like), and limited internet accessibility (common areas only, and relatively slow).

The kitchen is terrific and the barmen were very friendly. I don't know if I'll ever get back this way, but I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdrobac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at Remota for almost a week during our 5 week trip around Chile & Argentina and this wonderful hotel was the highlight of our holiday.

As you first view the architecture of the hotel as you enter the driveway, you get a strong sense of the adventure you are about to undertake. The rooms are homely and wonderfully rustic - loved the use of wood and the window into the bathroom, very in keeping with the natural surrounds. The room facilities are basic but more than adequate. This isn't a place you would go if you want to stay in your room, watch TV, drink from a mini-bar and order burgers & fries room service (I don't think they offer any of this - which suited us just fine).

All of the Remota staff were unassuming, warm and very competent, especially helpful with the full range of excursions that we squeezed into our stay. We engaged in almost every excursion on offer, including the must-do treks through the Torres del Paine Park, horse riding along breath-taking mountain ridge-tops, walks along wind-swept lakes incredibly close to the edge of glaciers, seeing real Gauchos in action, boat trips on the Southern Fjords, traditional BBQs, etc.

If the day-time activities were not spectacular enough - we came home every night to the most incredible and memorable meals in the restaurant. We were so impressed with the quality of the food and the service - wonderful fresh local produce, beautifully prepared and presented and carefully explained by the staff who patiently answered our many questions about the appropriate wines, etc.

Anyone looking for a once-in-a-lifetime type experience, this is your place. Very highly recommended!!

Room Tip: It is only a small hotel, so no special tips - our room was about half-way between the restaurant &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at the stylish Remota Patagonia just outside Puerto Natales duiring the winter (August) and at times we were the only guests, however, everything was laid on for us regardless: the pool was open, the kitchen produced fantastic gourmet dinners and fabulous picnic lunches, the building was beautifully warm despite the winds outside, the receptionists and the excursion organiser were always at hand to advise and help. The driver and the guide (Pedro) were excellent, very knowledgable and enthusiastic, they could not do more for us - they were amazingly keen to show us all the sites at Torres del Paine, the park in general, the cave and all the wildlife in the area - we had a fantastic time and enjoyed every moment in Patagonia. Congratulations to all the staff and to Journey Latin America for booking this hotel for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family and I loved our stay at Remota! The staff was so friendly and service was great. The meals were amazing and good portions. The fire pit in the dining area gives a great ambience along with looking out at the water. My dad and I took the horse back ride with our guide and gaucho which was an amazing experience I will never forget it. The wind was crazy at the top of the mountain but the views were breathtaking, and we had a nice picnic on the top. I just love how in tune with nature Remota is, you are able to walk on the roof which has grass growing up there! This was a great place to stay in Patagonia that you will never forget!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Remota. The staff was so wonderful and caring - we really got to know them on our 4-day trip. The guides were all wonderful and we had an amazing time. We especially loved our off-the-beaten-path hikes with Rafael (both inside the Torres del Paine Park and outside). The food was amazing and we loved every meal. We took advantage of the spa services and helped ourselves to the complimentary champagne while using the hot tub. We know it gets compared to Explora, which we have never stayed at, but we have to say we thought that for the value this place was truly amazing! Oh, and as far as the window between the bathroom and the room, we had no problem with it. In fact, it was great to have a wonderful view from the bathroom!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
556 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £216 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing