We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Patagonia”
Review of Remota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Remota
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at Remota for the first time and had a great experience. The hotel really takes care of all the logistics so you can focus on just showing up for your adventures and making the best of them! Pros: knowledgeable guides (especially warm and friendly Claudia) and friendly and warm service in the restaurant and spa. The tours are all interesting though some demand a high degree of fitness so please be prepared. The pool and jacuzzi area are incredible especially when they bring you a glass of champagne as you lay in the hot tub!! Room for improvement: meals in general aside from breakfast. The hotel could do much better if it offered more alternative even in the way of simpler dishes such as pastas or sandwiches. Rabbit and crab are hardly easy choices and these were the alternatives on several days. If you are a coffee lover, bring your own because you will be disappointed. Another suggestion would be to have a few more books in the upstairs 'library' so guests can benefit from this during their down time and to have a few basic medication such as throat lozenges on hand. Being on such a remote area makes it hard for customers to go find this on their own. Overall, the experience was great and we loved our holiday in Patagonia but I think a few tweaks would make the whole package even better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 334flamengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGerencia, Director Comercial at Remota, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hello 334flamengo, how are you doing?

thank you very much for your comment about your stay at Remota.
We will immediately speak with all the areas involved and will make sure that we can improve the details you mentioned.

For us it is very important to receive the comments of our guests, as we constantly looking for improvement of our services.
We wish you and your family a great 2014 and we look forward to receive you at Remota again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

It is expensive but very special.Special design. Very good food. Super friendly staff.
Thanks Pedro for guiding us and of course also thanks to our drivers Bastia and Carlos.
We hope to come back to Pagonia. Puerto Natales is very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozeftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Every aspect of Remota is top notch.... Rooms, meals, staff, excursions and more. We had a lovely 3 night experience here. We took 3 excursions into the park! The guides were knowledgeable and fun, and the picnic lunch was so delicious and plentiful, from the chopped salads, soup sandwiches, wine and even midday snack! Make sure to step onto the rooftop at sunset and don't forget your camera!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Other reviewers have commented on the architecture, and there's no denying the interesting features and stunning, expansive views from Remota, especially the public areas. However, it was the genuine, cheerful, uber-helpful and personalized service - from everyone we encountered- that made Remota an outstanding experience.
Prior to arrival, all reservation inquiries & processing (by email) went very smoothly, as did the airport pickup.
Upon arrival, we were warmly & personally greeted by Claudia, invited at our leisure to the bar to discuss the next day's excursions, and off to our room within 5 minutes, where our luggage was already waiting. The room was clean & comfortable, although a bit dark, especially the bathroom. That said, we spent minimal time there except to sleep, and the bed was wonderful!

We found the bar and restaurant service lovely - perhaps not always absolutely polished, but all the more enjoyable for the evident enthusiasm and effort. Although others have commented on the food, we actually found it difficult to choose among the dinner options, as they all sounded delicious and we were never disappointed. Allergies (shellfish) were handled carefully. The meals at Remota were the best of our stay in Patagonia/ Torres del Paine. The only minor flaw, as previously mentioned, is the coffee (at breakfast) isn't the greatest nor abundant...

The highlight of highlights, though, was the excursions, with a tremendous variety to choose from, for all activity levels. Claudia thoroughly explained our options, and was our guide the first day - she was outstanding. Highly knowledgeable, energetic, enthusiastic, dedicated, passionate about the land, people & culture - we simply couldn't have asked for a better introduction. The following two days we had different guides, who were also capable, well-versed and enthusiastic. And if your trail lunch includes the chicken soup - have some, it's addictive!
In an example of 'above & beyond' service, for personal reasons we wanted to return to Punta Arenas by bus some days after departing Remota. The crew at Remota sorted out our bus tickets, which were waiting as promised at the station upon our departure.

Overall, we loved our stay - the property is remarkable, but the people and service even more so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I saw a photo of Remota in a travel magazine and knew that's where I wanted to complete my Patagonia trip. It is architecturally stunning, staff were very friendly and the room was so comfortable. But the slime on the tile of the pool, repetitive meals (it was delicious the first time, but couldn't they at least come up with a different sauce each day after?), and mosquito infested trek were not worth the all-inclusive rate. I could not drink enough wine to justify the cost. I have NO regrets, just suggest others do some comparison shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent 3 wonderful days at Remota. It was really beautiful. The accommodation was very comfortable, the food amazing and really friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to be of assistance.
The guides were very knowledgeable.
Exploring the National Park was a real experience with the most breath taking scenery.
It was a magic experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jannib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Not only is Remota in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the hotel feels like you have been invited to stay at a friends house( a rich friends house :)) The hotel makes you feel like the guest of honor. They treat you with warmness and they pay attention to every detail.
The rooms are so lovely and simple, you forget its a hotel room....its te kind of room you wish you had back at home.
The restaurant is just amazing. Every plate couldnt´have been better. The attention is wonderful and eveytime you go back to eat....you look forward to hearing whats on the menu for the day.
The excursions were guided by the best guides you could ask for.
A stay in Remota is everything you hope for plus a few surprises!

Wishing to go back already!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £155 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing