We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Remota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This was one of my favorite places to stay in Patagonia. The hotel is very modern and clean. The all-inclusive meals were excellent, there is usually a choice between two entrees every night. Our guide also brought a great spread of various foods on our daily hikes.

The nature guides will sit down with you the night before to discuss what you would like to do the next day. We had the same guide all three days and only had two other people on our hikes.

The hotel is also walking distance to the town of Puerto Natales but far enough away that you do not have any traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Remota
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

We spent 7 nights at Remota in March 2010 and would highly recommend the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are fitted to a high standard. We had a lovely view over Puerto Natales and the Sendo Ultima Esperanza from our room but the hotel in general has been designed to maximise views of the Sound and the mountains from all parts of the hotel. The food (and service) was excellent with a choice of two or three starters, main courses and desserts. The hotel runs an impressive number of excursions and most outdoor activities seem to be catered for, with varying degrees of difficulty. Excursions are selected the evening before in discussion with a guide and the nature and degree of difficulty etc is explained. It is about a 2 hour drive from the hotel to reach the centre of the Torres del Paine National Park. Before we went we thought this might be a disadvantage compared to staying at a hotel/hostel in the park; however it does have the big advantage of giving you the opportunity to visit areas around Puerto Natales other than Torres del Paine. Several are well worth a visit such as Sierra Baguales, Cerro Benitez, Sierra Dorotea, Monte Rotundo and the Ultima Esperanza Fiord. All of the guides we had were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local culture, flora, fauna, geology etc. The hotel is located outside Puerto Natales and it is about a 20 minute walk into the town. We arrived in Chile about 2 weeks after the earthquake at the end of February 2010 and there had been no impact at all as far south as Patagonia. Even in Santiago there were no apparent problems and the airport was operating more or less normally when we left Chile (March 31st).

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cachudito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Remota is a wondrous resort-hotel. It is a unique experience, one filled with personal care and hospitality. My wife and I visited over 7 days for our honeymoon. It remains our favorite vacation. If you are not adventurous, I would not recommend Patagonia in general, let alone a place as creative as Remota. If you are, and also happen to not mind being wined, dined, and otherwise spoiled in every way, this is your place. The service was the best we have experienced ever. The day trips are beautiful, and you are treated like king and queen in even the most austere environments, for example, a four-course picnic with coffee and tea as served and carried in by your own personal guide. When my wife and I were less than happy with one event on the whole trip, the staff and head manager bent over backwards to make it right. They offered to do basically whatever we asked to make us happy. They succeeded on that day, and every other. I would recommend this hotel-resort experience above all others in the area. It's one of a kind.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This was a very disappointing experience. We checked in and were luckey to get someone to help us with our luggage to our room.We were told nothing about te Hotel or the activties or our room. Much different then what I had read about. We found a small card in the room that said to meet in the bar At seven to find out about the next days activities. We went to the front desk and asked where is the bar . The manager came over and I told her that I was treated shabbly and she did apologize . This is a minimalist hotel with a maximalist price. The rooms are fair, but the view from the window was wonderfull. the food is O.K. The guides are good but not great. Our friends had recommended the Explora, this hotel is not in the same class. The drivers were very good,. I would NOT recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mictelGalopagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Out of several hotels we stayed in during our trip to Chile and Argentina, I probably have the most mixed feelings about Remota. The location and the hotel itself are gorgeous, but are also somewhat cold and imposing, so the hotel certainly blends with the environment. We booked the full board package which turned out to be the right way to go as all meals and each day's excursion were included, which made for an uncomplicated and relaxing stay in a far-off place. All meals were very good and the dining room offered them during generous time windows. Service was very good, including the manager who, although her manner came off a little forced at times, was readily available for any needs. The excursions and guides we had were excellent.
My misgivings about the hotel are mostly based on some weird idiosyncracies: the beautiful slate floors throughout the hotel don't exactly lend to a quiet and peaceful envirornment, the window between the bathroom and bedroom is plain stupid, and the firepits in the lobby lounge and dining room, when lit, throw off smoke to the point where your clothes smell like you were sitting in front of a campfire all evening.
Still, I would certainly consider staying at Remota again. Despite the few negatives it turned out to be a highlight of our trip and the location is great especially if you'd prefer being close to Puerto Natales rather than an even more far-off spot.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escape01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Patagonia (the Argentinien part as well as the Chilenian part) in itself is a spectacular region to visit - great nature, lightening, animals, lonesome areas etc.
The Remota Hotel in Puerto Natales offers besides the "given" great national parc Torres del Paine a very pleasant environment through an excellent service, great food, customized excursions (e.g. we traveled with our five year old daughter and the hiking tours or hourse riding was always lots of fun and pleasure). The rooms are very convinient, beds are very comfortable. If possible, stay longer and you may enjoy a very comfortable hotel (see also huge space and extraordinary architecture) and also relax from the overwhelming impressions of the Patagonia area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giraffe0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Remota was wonderful. When we walked in it felt like I had gone to heaven and back. The design is fab. The bedrooms are spacious and there are plenty of places to hideaway. It is really airy. The pool has amazing views with sauna's attached.

But what made Remota great were the staff. Always friendly but relaxed ie not over the top. Nothing was too much for them. There weren't many people when we were there so we got fantastic personalised service. What ever trips we wanted to do we could. I would though not bother with the boat trip to the Glacier as it took for ever as one engine broke on the way back, but we still had a laugh.

We went to a Gaucho show which was great but the highlight was the trek to TP natiional park. We had a great group and Alvaro the guide was really thoughtful to all the people that were there whose ages ranged from 11 to 50, (there were 7 of us in the group. At the end we picknicked on a vast rock with the most amazing views.

The food was good and I was happy that there was not a vast menu but a well chosen one. Thanks Micky and Alecia for great food and service and a good laugh Gordita.

The rooms were fab and enormous.

Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghada10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.5 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#5 of 26 in Puerto Natales
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £141 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing