We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly hotel, close to town with great views”
Review of Altiplanico Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altiplanico Sur
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel was of a type unique to us, constructed of natural materials (adobe-like) and at the same time modern. The hotel is spread out allowing for privacy, and integrates well with the surrounding terrain. The rooms are quite large and comfortable, and the location is close enough to the small town of Puerto Natales to walk. Our stay was in December, 2012.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

We came to Puerto Natales at the very end of the season, in fact it was last two days before the hotel was going to close for winter. It felt the whole place was just for us as there was just one other couple staying in the hotel. We did get great service and the food in the restaurant was amazing! And I can only say the same thing as other reviewers - the design of the hotel and the views from it are simply amazing!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aplamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel is very charming, it's architecture reminiscent of a hobbit house. Inside, it is slightly confused industrial meets rustic decor with a lot of painstaking detail, which feels a bit overworked, but charming nonetheless. Rooms are decent size, huge bathroom, the star is by far the view of the bay with Ibis hanging right outside of the window all afternoon.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk to town along the bay with plenty of bird spotting, we generally walked to town but took a taxi back after dinner. The hot tubs are a perfect way to watch a sunset,
The staff was pleasant and accommodating. It did not feel like a chain hotel, but rather a small family-like operation, which made it feel even more quaint and remote and we quite enjoyed.

If I could change one thing I would suggest the owners loose the African masks - it is just too random and takes away from the otherwise minimalist beauty of the interior.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Altiplanico Sur is one of four/five Altiplanico hotels in wonderful places of the world. Puerto Natales may not be one of the top destinations, yet it is a wonderful and peaceful place on the inner fiord of the Chilean Patagonia coast. The structure is built so as to influence the outside environment as low as possible. The structure consists of two storeys just built inside a slope that slightly goes to the sea. The hotel is characterized by an ethnic style. Rooms are spacious and attention has been paid to any detail. All rooms face the wonderful bay of Puerto Natales with a big window. Bathroom is spacious as well, and again any item or furniture has been thought to harmonize with the rest of the features. There is no TV but I wonder who would need it when gaze is captured by a continuous spectacular view of the bay. Wi-Fi is also available (for free), though the strength of the signal decreases in rooms at the edge of the structure, which have basically no in-room wi-fi. The hotel has to improve the quality and the coverage of the connection.
Reception and breakfast/lunch/dinner area, as well as living area, all face the bay, with wide windows that allow to enjoy the beautiful panorama. The hotel is located at about 5 min by car from the town border. It is not in Puerto Natales (it would not have that view).
I am rather surprised by other reviews complaining about the staff. We stayed two nights and could not have a better staff, who beside the standard services, helped a lot in booking and travel accommodations for the rest of our trip, though it was not required to. We did not eat, so we cannot rate the restaurant. Breakfast is nice. The hotel has also two outside whirlpools which can also be booked, where you can again enjoy the beautiful bay while standing in hot water.
It is true that the hotel staff did not help to carry the luggage. It doesn't seem to be a large staff. I understand this can be a downside for people who cannot carry bags, but I am sure the staff would help if requested and in any case whoever reaches Puerto Natales, which is a place not on standard tourist routes, should certainly be strong enough.
The hotel has also a nice boutique with local handicrafts.
We got room No. 2, two nights, booked through booking.com, for around 170 Euros.

Room Tip: Since for the moment it looks like the wi-fi signal can vary, rooms at the edge of each floor have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stekl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in Puerto Natales for 3 nights. The room is really nice and well decorated. However, the staff are not friendly at all and you can expect zero service from these people. The breakfast was ok but nothing special about it.

Stay away from this hotel. It's not worth paying for!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This hotel is just distinguishing itself from all the others. The design of concrete, wood and stone all hidden in the uphill landscape of Puerto Natales is beyond standard design. Our complements to the designer and the concept owner. On top of this the rooms are very spacious with superb views on the bay and we slept with the curtains open to enjoy every moment when you opened your eyes. Staff was very helpfull with special thanks to Claudia !! Restaurant was also good with nice coctails and a good kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Branko_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is great. Staff in a front desk was really helpfull, girls organized for us everything we wanted. Design of the hotel is awesome, you feel yourself like a part of the nature. All rooms have A front view of lagoon and mountains. Warm floor was also good!! I'll recommend this hotel for everybody who wants to enjoy nature, silence and just relax a lot!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeronikaVynkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.7 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
549 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
688 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Remota
Remota
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altiplanico Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplanico Sur

Address: Huerto Familiar 282, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £129 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altiplanico Sur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging into the hillside overlooking the Ultima Esperanza Gulf and the Baquedano Glacier, Altiplanico Sur offers an experience that combines the awe-inspiring nature and the interior charm of the Altiplanico style. The hotel features 22 uniquely designed rooms with the stunning Patagonian landscape as your guest, sheltering you from the powerful climate and inviting you to relax in a hot tub overlooking the cold waters of this southern latitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Altiplanico Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altiplanico Sur Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing