We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and individual style, located 10 minutes outside of town”
Review of Altiplanico Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altiplanico Sur
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2010

With a setting looking out over the sound, Altiplanico is a stylish and individual hotel located just outside Puerto Natales, and offers a very comfortable and relaxed base for both a visit to Puerto Natales as a base for day trips up to Torres del Paine. By comparison with the inflated prices and limited value of the hotels in Torres del Paine itself, the hotel offers excellent value and is well staffed by a young, friendly team. Guests seemed to be comprised of a combination of individual travelers and small up market groups of 6-10 people - more affluent, established travelers than a backpackers sort of place. Rooms and facilities were well sized and equipped.

Puerto Natales is a funky, low key place which majors as a stop off/base for heading on to Torres del Paine. It has a bustling main street and a number of interesting restaurants and shops for those willing to take the time to explore the surrounding streets.

The restaurant is good and offers an easy option for those not wanting to make the 10 minute ride into town itself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

Puerto Natales is a very small town at the entrance of Torres del Paine national park. Altiplanico is a simple but nice hotel, located 5km away from the town. Rooms are very clean, but no comfort available. No TV or frigobar. Internet connection is available only in the lobby and there is a tv in a common area with comfortable sofas.
As the hotel is located outside town, in front of the canal, it has wonderful views of the Patagonian landscape.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Altiplanico Sur. It's built into a hill, which is very cool, and it was exciting every time we walked down the hallway that led from the lobby to the rooms basically headed underground. It's a bit pricey for South America (as is Chile generally), but worth it and cheap in comparison to similar places in Torres del Paine. Heated bathroom floor tiles, a very comfortable bed, plush towels, coffee and tea for free available at any time, etc.

The breakfast in the morning was great -- the best hotel breakfast that we had on our trip. Eggs, meat, cheeses, fruit, etc. We never ate at the restaurant -- they only do one main dish per night and so if it doesn't sound good you'll have to head elsewhere. We at at a fabulous pizza joint in town called La Mesita Grande. Highly recommended.

If you speak Spanish, it helps -- the staff was a bit cold-slash-distracted at first but warmed up when my wife chatted with them in Spanish. Staff was still not great -- they didn't seem to know too much about the area and didn't go out of their way to be helpful. My wife got an in-room massage which she said was excellent for about US $60.

The free Internet access on two lobby computers was great, as was the book exchange -- we borrowed then returned a Fodors 2009 Patagonia guide and had fun looking at a little penguin book. You'll likely be going to Torres del Paine if you're staying here -- it's a drive, but definitely doable as a day trip. From what we read, the value for what you pay was much higher staying here than staying in the park. And definitely don't stay in Cerro Castillo -- not much closer and the only option there that we could find was overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uscreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Fascinating hotel. My wife and I and her mother spent 3 days in this hotel. The hotel is built into a hillside and has sod stacked up against the outside walls as part of the building. The inside is elegantly simple. The walls and ceiling of our room were concrete that had been formed in a plywood molds. You could see the impressions left by the wood grain, knots and other features of the plywood. The beds were the most comfortable I slept in during our 5 week trip. Every room has the same beautiful view of the water and mountains.

The meals are superb. There is no menu. The chef decides each afternoon what will be served. Seafood was fantastic. Breakfast was a buffet and was excellent. Meals were pricey, however, the service, view and atmosphere was excellent.

The wine list was extensive and there were wines for every price range. I found that the least expensive wines could be outstanding. Red wines using the Carmenare' grape were smooth and superb. This grape is a specialty in Chile. It was imported during the 19th century and rediscovered as a grape thought to have been killed off in France by a disease called Philoxira prior to 1900. The disease never made it to Chile.

The free internet was slow, however, it was nice not to struggle with access codes that required help to get on line or worse, you just give up. I was very happy with the free internet service.

If you want to go into Puerto Natales it takes about 45 minutes to walk each way. The staff told us it takes about 20 minutes. Obviously they do not walk to work. The location is great because of the view, not as being conveniently located from the bus station or port. If you do not like walking, get a cab.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I spend 3 days on january at Altiplanico Sur and I loved it. I had never been in a place like this. The roof is cover with grass, so if you look outside you don't see the nothing but green and blue. The rooms are beautiful and simple, with just the necesary stuff. You can´t find Tv or Mini bar like most hotels in the zone I think, no luxury.
From the outside you almost cant see the hotel because it´s like inserted on the earth. Inside, is a totally diferent place (modern and chic design) very minimalistic. The restaurant is good, with excellent food but limited menu.
Something I specially like was an outside jacuzzi looking to the lake, where you can bath and relax and realy feel like you are in the Patagonia.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlmcavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

In October, 2007 I stayed at the Altiplanico Sur for 3 days. The situation of the hotel with its absolutely marvellous views of mountains and water, both from the bedroom and dining room - I could just sit and watch for hours!!! The dinner at night was wonderful - each course was a delight to eat. The staff were very friendly, and although I couldn't speak Spanish and they weren't very good at English, we managed to communicate quite well. I'd go back there tomorrow. I still think of my time there every day with the incredibleTorres del Paine excursion.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmelia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I really enjoyed this hotel, its decoration and design is an equilibrated and beautiful mix of modern and native elements - it definetely has "good vibes". The dormitory and bathroom were simple but had all the elements I needed for a very pleasant stay. The reception and restaurant staff were very fiendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. Nevertheless some people could find this hotel too minimalistic so more conventional travelers should look for other option. One also has to take into account the hotel is 5 min out of town so visiting Puerto Natales need a short taxi ride. I did not care about this since I prefer more far-from-civilization places.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.7 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
549 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
688 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Remota
Remota
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#6 of 26 in Puerto Natales
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Simple Patagonia Hotel
Simple Patagonia Hotel
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altiplanico Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplanico Sur

Address: Huerto Familiar 282, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £129 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altiplanico Sur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging into the hillside overlooking the Ultima Esperanza Gulf and the Baquedano Glacier, Altiplanico Sur offers an experience that combines the awe-inspiring nature and the interior charm of the Altiplanico style. The hotel features 22 uniquely designed rooms with the stunning Patagonian landscape as your guest, sheltering you from the powerful climate and inviting you to relax in a hot tub overlooking the cold waters of this southern latitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Altiplanico Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altiplanico Sur Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing