We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breaky & staff & Real coffee”
Review of Big Bang Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Bang Patagonia
Ranked #11 of 51 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Best staff ever ! The staff were super awesome , so helpfull and friendly, they made u feel at home right away. Special thanks to Julie, no matter what the time was she was always happy and helpful . Even 6am ! Breaky was excellent with real coffee .. What more could u want ? The single room was small and it was located next to the bathrooms so u would hear everytime someone went to toilet :(. The rooms were really clean as well as the bathrooms. No wifi in the rooms tho (or bad reception)' but the common area was nice and cosy. What made my stay really nice was the 2 cats of the house , helped with missing my own cats. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for more personal athmosphere, great breaky and good location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We made a reservation with ER2 several months before visiting Puerto Natales. We confirmed our reservation by email and thought nothing of it. When we arrived there with backpacks in tow we were told we had no reservation and all rooms were full. It turns out that someone had recorded our reservation for the wrong day despite the confirmation email (which we'd printed and brought with us on the trip). Whoops.

I still give them 3-stars because the man at the desk was very apologetic and called other nearby hostels until he found us a place with room. The down side was that we had to pay a significant amount more for our room than we had planned. Travel with a credit card!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tempo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Erratic Rock 2 is a small hotel or more hostel. We stayed here the night before and the night after our trek in Torres del Paine. The second night we were roughly disturbed in our sleep by partying neighbors…. The simple rooms are spacious and clean but noisy. The breakfast is great, including scrambled eggs. Wifi works only in/near the ‘lobby’ (entrance). They do have a computer in the lobby area you can use for free. Nice and helpful staff, especially the Spanish guy who does the night-shift. He is also the only one that speaks (really good) English.
If you don't need much luxury: recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Be careful if following a recommendation for Erratic Rock in Puerto Natales - one is lively place attached to the Base Camp bar where daily talks take place to guide you through hiking the W. Erratic Rock 2 is the other one - more like a motel, more expensive than ER1 and apparently targeted at couples. We ended up staying at this place after asking a previous host to book us in by phone - they called the wrong E.R. and when we turned up at Erratic Rock 1 they had no booking and quickly suggested how the mix-up had occurred.

Overal it's nice enough - clean and pleasant. But why couldn't they give it an individual name to save confusion?

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We only spent one night here on our way to El Calafate.
The rooms are big and the bathroom as well, with great hot water and a very good breakfast.
Ok, the wifi does not work in the rooms, but it is not a big deal. The common area is very pleasent and nice where you can seat and use the wifi. The location is quite not excellent as you have to walk a few blocks to the main area or the waterfront.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Small, clean, friendly, good breakfast, very helpful. Kept a good "e-mail" attitude when
I kept changing the days of my stay. A good base if you want a private room/more privacy than provided at Erratic Rock. All good.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BobfromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Me and my family stayed here for 3 night. We had the room 1 y 2 for ourself and they have everything we were expecting: Bath for ourself, breakfast and nice beds.

They have everything you need if you want to visit Torres del Paine, the glaciars, etc. The price it's right, the even have a storage so you can trek lightweight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
3.4 mi away
Bories House Hotel
Bories House Hotel
#9 of 26 in Puerto Natales
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquaterra
Aquaterra
#13 of 26 in Puerto Natales
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 51 in Puerto Natales
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#2 of 108 in Puerto Natales
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaluve Patagonia
Kaluve Patagonia
#5 of 51 in Puerto Natales
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#7 of 51 in Puerto Natales
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bang Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bang Patagonia

Address: Benjamin Zamora 732, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £52 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Bang Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock 2 Hotel Puerto Natales
Big Bang Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing