We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, well located with friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Big Bang Patagonia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Natales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bang Patagonia
Ranked #12 of 47 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, well located with friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We ended up staying here for about 4 days after our plans to camp in TDP were washed out. We were upgraded to a double with private bathroom for free (usually 50% more expensive) so we could be away from children that were staying, without us asking. Breakfast was included and good and there is free tea and coffee all day. They have a nice sitting area with gas fire and TV if like us you get washed out. The location is pretty good - ten minutes from most things. Marcela who runs it was an angel - she helped us out loads with plans and even brought us some DVDs from her house when we were having a night in. Was sad when it was time to leave. NB the wifi doesn't reach to the rooms out the back but they are fixing that for the 13/14 season.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    55
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
94
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here twice coming and going from El Calafate, Argentina. Comfortable rooms but a bit noisy the first night. Walls are thin so take some ear plugs. Breakfast is very good, large kitchen available to guests which was great, easy walk to plaza and bus stations. Staff very nice and helpful. Met several guests like us who stayed a night, then returned a week later. Reservation wasn't on the books upon arrival the first night which was concerning since I had confirmed several times. But, they had a room so it worked out. WiFi was weak in the rooms, computer in the lobby slow as well.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room to avoid hearing guests overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Best staff ever ! The staff were super awesome , so helpfull and friendly, they made u feel at home right away. Special thanks to Julie, no matter what the time was she was always happy and helpful . Even 6am ! Breaky was excellent with real coffee .. What more could u want ? The single room was small and it was located next to the bathrooms so u would hear everytime someone went to toilet :(. The rooms were really clean as well as the bathrooms. No wifi in the rooms tho (or bad reception)' but the common area was nice and cosy. What made my stay really nice was the 2 cats of the house , helped with missing my own cats. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for more personal athmosphere, great breaky and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We made a reservation with ER2 several months before visiting Puerto Natales. We confirmed our reservation by email and thought nothing of it. When we arrived there with backpacks in tow we were told we had no reservation and all rooms were full. It turns out that someone had recorded our reservation for the wrong day despite the confirmation email (which we'd printed and brought with us on the trip). Whoops.

I still give them 3-stars because the man at the desk was very apologetic and called other nearby hostels until he found us a place with room. The down side was that we had to pay a significant amount more for our room than we had planned. Travel with a credit card!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tempo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Erratic Rock 2 is a small hotel or more hostel. We stayed here the night before and the night after our trek in Torres del Paine. The second night we were roughly disturbed in our sleep by partying neighbors…. The simple rooms are spacious and clean but noisy. The breakfast is great, including scrambled eggs. Wifi works only in/near the ‘lobby’ (entrance). They do have a computer in the lobby area you can use for free. Nice and helpful staff, especially the Spanish guy who does the night-shift. He is also the only one that speaks (really good) English.
If you don't need much luxury: recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Be careful if following a recommendation for Erratic Rock in Puerto Natales - one is lively place attached to the Base Camp bar where daily talks take place to guide you through hiking the W. Erratic Rock 2 is the other one - more like a motel, more expensive than ER1 and apparently targeted at couples. We ended up staying at this place after asking a previous host to book us in by phone - they called the wrong E.R. and when we turned up at Erratic Rock 1 they had no booking and quickly suggested how the mix-up had occurred.

Overal it's nice enough - clean and pleasant. But why couldn't they give it an individual name to save confusion?

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We only spent one night here on our way to El Calafate.
The rooms are big and the bathroom as well, with great hot water and a very good breakfast.
Ok, the wifi does not work in the rooms, but it is not a big deal. The common area is very pleasent and nice where you can seat and use the wifi. The location is quite not excellent as you have to walk a few blocks to the main area or the waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.2 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaluve Patagonia
Kaluve Patagonia
#6 of 47 in Puerto Natales
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pire Mapu Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
#4 of 47 in Puerto Natales
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 47 in Puerto Natales
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bang Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bang Patagonia

Property: Big Bang Patagonia
Address: Benjamin Zamora 732, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock 2 Hotel Puerto Natales
Big Bang Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing