We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay in Puerto Natales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Ranked #6 of 53 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We decided to see what staying in a hostal would be like, we usually stay in hotels.

We stayed here the first week in September for two nights. Being off season, the hostal was totally empty so it was very quiet and peaceful. I think we were the first guests of the spring season.

We stayed on the second floor in Room 5, with a nice view of the mountains and the bay. The room was very small, but very light/sunny because of the large windows on two sides. The queen size bed was very comfortable. The room was a bit chilly because it was still winter, but a thick comforter provided a good nights sleep. The ensuite bathroom had a tub/shower combo, lots of hot water, and very clean. There was a problem with the hot water faucets running, both needed washers, and the sink had to be turned off at the shut offs by the floor. The hostal did not provide shampo or a hair dryer(we did not ask for either so we don't know if it was just an over site, or they just don't provide them). There are no TVs which was fine. They have a small library in the common area.

They provide a basic but adequate breakfast, toast, butter, cereal and milk, hot water, tea bags and coffee powder, ham, cheese and scrambled eggs. No juice or fruit. One day we had apple sauce, the next day we had yogurt.

They have two computers for guests to use and free wifi.

The common area is very comfortable. In general the hostal is well kept and clean. The coffee shop was not yet open for the season.

The best thing about the hostal is the owner Paula. She went out of her way to help us with our bus tickets twice. The second time was because Chile changed to daylight savings time, and no one told us, so we missed the bus.

The hostal is well located near all the shopping and restuarants in town.

I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a nice view and a private in room bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We arrived in the hostel late at night (22.30) and were probably put in their last and least comfortable room possible (number 14). It had no windows, a rather small bathroom with a broken ventilationsystem and thin walls. We could here other guests walking by and in the early morning (05.45) we could hear the ladies in the kitchen chit-chatting and preparing breakfast. We had booked this hostel for 3 nights before a trekking in Torres del Paine so we thought it better to try and get a less noisy room to start our trek less tired. The staff was very considerate and helped change rooms. This made us wander if this happens more often. Our second room here was much better (number 1). It had a window on the streetside and the bathroom was bigger and had a ventilationsystem that worked. But here we couldn’t turn on the heating ourself. We made sure the staff put it on for us before they left at 23.00 o’clock. It got very hot in the room and the cleaning lady decided next morning to leave our window (at street level) open all day. Fortunately we had taken all our valuables with us.
After our trekking we had to stay here for another night and we were put in a room with a private bathroom across the hall. That gave us a real hostel feeling we didn’t really apreciate. We could not lock the bathroom from outside so we took all of our stuff back and forth. The shower wasn’t installed properly but functioned. This room had two windows; one on the side of a hallway, the other on the side of the storage room. At 6 in the morning someone needed something from the storageroom so again a normal night sleep wasn’t really possible.
Staff was a bit akward too. Sometimes they noticed you right away and were helpfull but our trekking guide for instance came by twice when we were out and asked them to inform us and they just didn’t.
So what explains the hight rating?? We did like the breakfast, though without the fresh fruits mentioned in the Lonely Planet (2010), and the reception area and sitting areas are very cosy and nicely decorated. Wifi worked in our rooms. May be if you have more luck on the rooms your opion will be better. We would try to find a nicer, more comfortable place to stay next time. Also because the price is not really at hostal level.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalamerindia, Owner at Hostal Amerindia Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

We are sorry about your experience with the hostel, may be if you tall us about your feeling we can made change, may be we don't know you dont like it. Be sure that if we knoe it we help you and try to change all the things the are bad.
please my apoligies for this
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

On arrival Veronica was very helpful and friendly. She helped us book buses and trips and gave us lots of local advice.
The hostal is a lot more than the name suggests...it is a coffee shop/hotel/hostel. The decor is just lovely...all wood, log burners and chilled music.
The room was very nice, bed the most comfortable we have had yet in south America and the breakfast excellent...with fresh eggs.
Price was very good and the location excellent...close to everything-including the beautiful lake.
Would stay again and definately recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loricase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location, nice environment and friendly host. Very nice breakfast and nice desserts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fracord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We weren't expecting the Hotel Crillon or the Ritz: what we got was a small but clean room with a view of the sound and mountains in the distance. Curious that the negative reviews are German: not all wrong, granted, because the building does feel a bit rickety, but that's the only negative point. Very warm welcome, nicely furnished, good breakfast. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhc-ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at this hostal before and after completing the Torres del Paine circuit trek. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, with plenty of hot water and all the heating and quilts you could need to keep you toasty warm way down in icy Puerto Natales. It has a nice little lounge area with lots of interesting books on the area and the hosts were welcoming and full of information. They kindly let us leave our excess luggage at the hostal while we were trekking. One tip - the hostal reception is not manned all day and sometimes no-one answers the door. But the hosts live across the road. So, if you keep knocking and ringing the door bell eventually someone will come! The hostal is a short walk from everything in Puerto Natales, which is a pleasant little town with lovely places to eat. We much preferred it to Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loui-fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

It is real like that: it feels like home. Also when we arrived late we got all the information we needed to get to "P.N. Las Torres". We could also book our bus there. Breakfast was very good! Beatiful place.

Only if you have the room beside the kitchen it is a bit noisy...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.9 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquaterra
Aquaterra
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#2 of 53 in Puerto Natales
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Lili-Patagonico
Hostal Lili-Patagonico
#3 of 53 in Puerto Natales
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Camino de Santiago
Hostal Camino de Santiago
#2 of 115 in Puerto Natales
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yaganhouse
Yaganhouse
#3 of 115 in Puerto Natales
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amerindia Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amerindia Patagonia

Address: Barros Arana 135 | Barros Arana 135, Puerto Natales 6161103, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range: £56 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Amerindia Patagonia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel was created over time by our family, is characterized by the family atmosphere and the effort we put every day to our guests to have a pleasant experience in Patagonia, the idea is that in Amerindian can find everything you need , we have a cafe with sweet and savory c shop with domestic products, car and all the information you need to know the Chilean patagonia and Argentina. We want to be your friends on their journey and Amerindian give everything that we need to have the best experiences of their lives. Hi and see you soon...Paula - monica - sebastian - patricio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Amerindia Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing