We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the towels feel like you're drying yourself with a baby lambs wool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Ranked #4 of 47 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the towels feel like you're drying yourself with a baby lambs wool”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The smell of nice warm fireplace, coffee and pie surround this hostel/coffee shop. The beds are nice and warm and the towels feel like you're drying yourself with a baby lambs wool. After a long trek this feels gooooood.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnaudvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    96
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
47
154
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I are trekking through Chile for 3 weeks and this has been the best Hostal we have encountered. The staff is nice and helpful with finding things, the breakfast is good, the rooms are cozy (the matrimonial room is excellent), the wifi works great all over, the fireplaces and heaters are great, and the sweet treats and coffee served in the cafe are delicious. I do not have anything bad to say for this Hostal and even though it costs a little more than some I wish they were all like this in Chile.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jywindowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I usually avoid anything that says "shared bathroom" but Amerindia Patagonia is the exception. The rooms are simple but tasteful. Neutral tones and wonderful textures decorate the walls. The cafe is excellent and serves up the best breakfast we had on our travels through Chile - with homemade breads and biscuits. (Coffee was instant, but you can order an espresso). The staff is kind and accommodating, with electrical adaptors (which we always forget) and travel schedules on hand. Aldea (will review separately) is across the street, so an easy jaunt to an excellent dinner spot with original, local food prepared with an attention to detail and genuine care.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed here before and after a Torres del Paine hike, leaving our excess baggage in their luggage room. Our first room was interior and small, without windows (but with a skylight), and warm enough that we did not need to use the heater, while the second one was more spacious and had windows onto the (residential) street. Beds were OK and everything was clean. Shared shower had plenty of hot water and was kept clean. The public areas and café are really inviting and comfortable, staff friendly, and the wifi works well (e.g. Skype video). Breakfast was above average for this type of accommodation in Chile - bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, cake/muffins, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, teabags, instant coffee. The main shopping streets are five minutes walk away (Pto. Natales is not big), as is the water. Our overall experience was very positive, and it was good to look forward to having several nights in the hostal after our hike.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow9runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I spent four days at this hostel and found the hostel warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and every room individual and tastefully decorated. I had an accident climbing and this was a nice place to be able to come home to while regrouping.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeena26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hostal is well located near all the shopping and restaurants in town.
The common areas - the reception area and sitting areas are very cosy and nicely decorated.
Paula, the owner is very nice.
There is Wifi in the rooms.
They provide a basic breakfast without juice or fruit.

The room was really bad (number 14). It had no windows, no heating (just a ridiculous small electrical thing that was not appropriated to heat the room). It was really freezing by morning.
On the first night they came and asked me to change for that night because other guests needed a twin beds room, so I agreed and found out that the other room (with double bed) was much better (really the opposit of the one they had for me and where I stayed the other nights when they changed me again).

Later, back at home, I sent them an email concerning my sunglasses (optical) that I lefty behind, and received no reply at all...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank MariaNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night before doing the W walk and have just stayed another night on our return to Puerto Natales.

Amerindia is a really characterfull and homely little hostel and cafe with a delicious range of cakes available - perfect for the hungry W treker! Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is tasty. The owner is absolutely charming, we really enjoyed both of our stays and thoroughly recommend.

'Ciao pescau (?!)'

Alastair and Rachel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_Cornah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
0.9 mi away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costaustralis
Hotel Costaustralis
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin Gusinde
Hotel Martin Gusinde
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
Natalino Hotel Patagonia
#14 of 26 in Puerto Natales
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kau Patagonia
Kau Patagonia
#9 of 47 in Puerto Natales
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Singing Lamb
The Singing Lamb
#1 of 47 in Puerto Natales
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amerindia Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amerindia Patagonia

Property: Hostal Amerindia Patagonia
Address: Barros Arana 135 | Barros Arana 135, Puerto Natales, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Amerindia Patagonia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel was created over time by our family, is characterized by the family atmosphere and the effort we put every day to our guests to have a pleasant experience in Patagonia, the idea is that in Amerindian can find everything you need , we have a cafe with sweet and savory c shop with domestic products, car and all the information you need to know the Chilean patagonia and Argentina. We want to be your friends on their journey and Amerindian give everything that we need to have the best experiences of their lives. Hi and see you soon...Paula - monica - sebastian - patricio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Amerindia Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
Hostal Amerindia Patagonia Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing