We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast”

Hospedaje Magallanes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Magallanes
Ranked #10 of 29 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The breakfast really makes this place, homemade bread, homemade yoghurt, fresh jams and scrambled eggs. We stayed in a twin room which was spacious, the bathrooms are clean and the showers hot.
The location is great, less than ten minutes from the bus stop to Ushuaia and Puerto Natales and there's a huge supermarket round the corner.
The reason this hostel doesn't get five stars is that whilst the two large heaters keep the common areas warm, the bedrooms have no heating and are bone-chillingly cold. Slept in thermals both nights.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weetruffle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    28
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
42
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

As the heading says a very nice breakfast with fresh bread and eggs. staff and owners were friendly and very helpful. Location also quite central. I pity that the room was a let down, very small with no window next to bathroom with little soud proofing in between.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schrodters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here on either side of a trekking trip to Torres del Paine in the spring of 2013. It can sometimes be difficult to get up to date travel information in parts of South America, but Sebastian, the multi lingual owner, ensured this was not the case in Chilean Patogonia. He very kindly reserved bus tickets for us to Puerto Natales and also booked us a day tour to the king penguin colony on Tierra del Fuego. Such a service was a real bonus for independent international travellers such as ourselves.
Past visitors have complained about the rooms being small and cold and lacking certain facilities and Sebastian and his wife being offish at times. Yes, the rooms are quite small, spartan and cramped and can be a bit on the chilly side and the breakfast is somewhat unimaginative, but it is plentiful. However, I would challenge the complainers to find a better place for this price in Punta Arenas, especially one that offers the level of personal effort put in by Sebastian to make your stay as hassle free and memorable as possible. He promptly answered numerous queries by internet before we even left home and stored our luggage free of charge while we were away trekking. The hostel is quiet, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Moreover, Sebastian always seemed to be on hand at the hostel to answer all manner of queries.
My only criticism does not really relate to the accommodation at all: I would have liked a comprehensive itinerary for the day tour to the king penguin colony on Tierra del Fuego from Sebastian who is booking this tour for his clients. We went the whole day without a decent meal when we could easily have taken a packed lunch with us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hospedaje was a very good value in Punta Arenas. Nice interior spaces, comfortable beds, very helpful staff. We had a double room, and our adult son slept in the 6 bed dorm. They helped us arrange our trip to Isla Magdalena which we loved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Could not rate this hostel highly enough - lovely hosts Sebastian and marisol made me feel right at home both times I stayed a few nights. Breakfast is wonderful (fresh brown bread, oatmeal, tea/coffee and always a treat such as eggs, Crepes, waffles or fresh fruit) and it is very clean. They also have 2 dogs that love a pat! 5 stars for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgri5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

At the end of December, we stayed with my wife in one of the rooms with two beds and this was the disappointment of our stay in Chile. When we arrived, we were hardly greeted at the reception, the lady was too busy working on her computer, and it was the same over the two days we stayed there... Yes the room and the bathroom were absolutely clean but I am surprised to hear about the "great breakfast" reviews. It was the bare minimum, with really bad coffee and juice. But it was mostly the atmosphere which was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed just one night, but could feel this place is nice not only to be relaxed, but also to get information. The owners are so helpful and speak very good English. I stayed at 6 beds dormitory with bathroom and it was perfectly clean and the bed was so comfortable and warm. And you can book all the tours through this hostel. It's located just 5 min from the center and at walking distance from all the touristic places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizard505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
#3 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal del Estrecho
Hostal del Estrecho
#17 of 25 in Punta Arenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Entre Vientos
Entre Vientos
#2 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Keoken
Hostel Keoken
#1 of 70 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Aventura Austral
Hostal Aventura Austral
#3 of 29 in Punta Arenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Magallanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Magallanes

Property: Hospedaje Magallanes
Address: Hernando de Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas 6212807, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by travelers, we offer 4 quiet double rooms with 2 shared bathrooms.Our provide great German-Chilean home-made breakfast with real coffee and real German bread.Centrally located, we are 4 blocks from the Plaza, close to bus stops, restaurants etc. In our full-on in-house travel agency, we provide first hand information and can arrange pretty much everything in Patagonia.We often get together around the campfire or for a Patagonian-style BBQ in our backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Magallanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing