We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little restaurant with great food and the best pisco sours”
Review of La Marmita

La Marmita
Ranked #5 of 175 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Chilean, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quirky little restaurant with great food and the best pisco sours”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Marmita was recommended by our hostal owner as his favourite and having eaten at a few other places in Punta Arenas I understand why. It's a very cosy and welcoming place with friendly professional staff and great food. The dishes are quite innovative for Chilean cuisine and include some wonderful seafood dishes and vegetarian options as well as meat dishes etc. The pisco sours were the best I've had so far. Gets a very big tick from me!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayG_020454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    279
    85
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Didn't wow us but still good”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Maybe our expectations were too high based on all the reviews. We liked the place but it didn't wow either my girlfriend or myself. We liked the restaurant itself ( a funky type of look with a homey feel ). Best comparison I can give it looks wise is Jaques Imo's in New Orleans. Staff is nice and we got in without reservations. We had appetizers of ceviche and king crab. Ceviche was good. King crab was ok but for the price I wouldn't get it again. Min courses were some sort of lamb stew and the fish on the top right hand corner of the menu. Problem was they completely forgot the ceviche and brought out our main courses when we definitely wanted the ceviche first. After we got the ceviche and they brought out our main courses again the fish was pretty good. I thought the lamb was overcooked. Overall it was still a good place but if I were in Punta Arenas again for a day I'd probably try La Luna or Remezon

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a great find - I had read reveiws and was hoping the place would live up to expectations - far surpassed them - one of the best meals I have had in a long time - the waiter I had was a vegetarian too so that helped. My friends loved their non-veggie meals too. They even made my pisco sour vegetarian !!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janehkb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice&cosy atmosphere, good food&cocktails”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Came recommended from our lovely Hotel Ilaia.
Charming little place with good food. Friendly waitress who didn't speak English but was very smiley and helpful.
Very nice Ceviche and King crab!
Good Pisco Sours.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cute decor, fun menu”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Bright green restaurant in the heart of town - you can't miss it. The menu has options for seafood lovers, meat lovers and vegetarians, alike. In fact, the menu featured a whole page of vegetarian options. The restaurant offers a great drink menu, as well - margaritas, mojitos, caipirinhas, etc. The decor is funky and fun, inspired by world travels. Wait staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, a high recommendation.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Marmita also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to La Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing