We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marmita

La Marmita
Ranked #5 of 167 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: Latin, Chilean, South American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We ate at La Marmita the evening we left Chile! It was a wonderful send off. Great atmosphere and the staff was very friendly. It was great to get traditional Chilean cuisine on our way out of town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    273
    84
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I went here at lunchtime and tried the fettuccine a la puttanesca, of the 5000 CLP menu, accompanied by a pisco sour. :-) Service was quick and friendly. My food was good, but not excepcional, I guess that comes with a fixed price menu. Overall a nice experience in a cosy restaurant, a 10m walk distant from the main square.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvleminc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We loved this restaurant so much that we ate here four times in two days! My husband and I are both crab lovers and La Marmita has a crab dish that is to die for. They are incredibly generous with the portion of crab that is served, it is enough for two people to share. We had dinner here on our fifth wedding anniversary. We sat in a cozy corner of the restaurant and were waited on by the owner's charming daughter Amanda. She was attentive and allowed us our space. That evening we shared the crab and each had the caldo de congrio, which is a conger eel soup with potatoes and vegetables. A tasty dish not to be missed. We both loved La Marmita and suggest you pop in for some amazing food if you're in Punta Arenas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun design, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

You can't miss La Marmita because its colorful character and design draws you in. Once inside they have very nice artsy design, a fun bar and excellent food. Try the calafate sour and it will set you on a culinary trip you'll hardly forget.
If you can, make reservations because it can get crowded and, believe me, you don't want to miss a meal here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCHerPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in patagonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am glad we had a meal here because it was delicious! Everything from the entree to the main to the dessert was fantastic, we were licking our plates clean (not literally of course!). The service was also great, and just the whole feel of the place was warm and inviting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bullcat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Marmita also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to La Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing